Musings From A Bookmammal

Which Reading Species Are YOU???

10 Comments

Image credit: Laura E. Kelly

Image credit: Laura E. Kelly

We’re all READERS—but what species of reader are YOU? This wonderfully creative infographic is Laura E. Kelly’s take on the classic charts of plants and other living things that we all remember from high school. She’s cleverly adapted that theme to the classification of close to 50 (!) reader species—from people who view their books as precious display objects to readers who don’t really like to read!

Where do YOU fit in? You’ll definitely find yourself somewhere! Click on the image to link to the original site and view the chart at full size. If you wish, please leave a comment here to share which reading species matches up to your reading habits. It might be more than one–I think I’m a combo-pack of many! Enjoy!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

10 thoughts on “Which Reading Species Are YOU???

  1. This is brilliant – I am definitely a Compulsive Book Lover – Cherished… I will lend my books but only to people I trust not to crease the spine etc. and I read chronologically (no skipping bits in this house) For situational my favourite reading place is in bed but I am a kindle convert and do read anything including backs of packets if nothing else is available. Sharer Screamer and Complicated Reader finishes the definition. Great fun thanks for sharing!

  2. I’m a combination, too. I’d say I’m mostly Compulsive/Hoarder, but with the advent of Amazon Vine and my opportunity to get free books in exchange for reviews, I’ve gone more heavily into Situational/Book Swagger. And then there’s our summer library book sale, which turns me into a passionate Compulsive/Rescuer.

    I love this because it makes me feel like I’m not alone in my passion. Even though I’m not reading Ulysses or a Bronte, I am always reading.

    • I used to think I “should” be reading the classics. Now I think everybody “should” just read whatever they want to read–as long as they’re reading!
      Those library book sales are dangerous . . .

  3. Pingback: Musing Mondays (September 23) | Cleopatra Loves Books

  4. Pingback: Which Species Do You Belong To? | dreamzandclouds

  5. Thanks for sharing this awesome classification. 🙂 I too did a post on it. Check it out here – http://wp.me/p2Aqoq-dB

  6. Glad you enjoyed my infographic and thanks for reposting it, Bookmammal and Dreamzandclouds! It’s been so fun finding out about other booklovers around the world. We’re all different in how we view/treat books but all the same in our love of reading.

    • Thanks for stopping by–and thanks for this thought-provoking graphic! It’s been a lot of fun sharing our “classifications” with other booklovers–and a great excuse to stop and reflect on our own reading habits. Thanks again!

Leave a comment