Musings From A Bookmammal

Stacking the Shelves: 4/25/15

5 Comments

Click to join the fun!

Click to join the fun!

I’m trying out a new meme this week–Stacking The Shelves is hosted at Tynga’s Reviews and is all about sharing the books we’re adding our shelves–books we’ve bought in physical stores or online, books we’ve borrowed from friends or the library, review books, gifts and ebooks!

This week I have six new books to share and all are borrowed from the library–no book purchases this week. Ready? Here we go!

4.18.15

Alone in the Kitchen With an Eggplant: Confessions of Cooking for One and Dining Alone edited by Jenni Ferrari-Adler

This is one of those backlist titles that I’ve been meaning to read forever. I love to cook, I love reading about food and cooking, and I usually eat alone—this collection has ME written all over it!

The Residence: Inside the Private World of the White House by Kate Andersen Browne

I really enjoy behind-the scenes nonfiction, and I’ve also read a lot of books about the Presidency, First Families, etc—so I’ve been looking forward to this new release for quite awhile. I’m about 2/3 of the way through (note the bookmark!) and it’s a good read—just enough gossip to make it interesting but not enough to make it seem tabloidish.

In Some Other World, Maybe by Shari Goldhagen

This novel covers the lives of three teens who meet at the movies in the early 1990s and whose lives continue to intersect over the next twenty years. It’s billed as a “six degrees of separation” novel and that concept has always intrigued me.

Nantucket Sisters by Nancy Thayer

Nancy Thayer is one of my automatic authors—I’ll read anything she writes and have loved her books for over 25 years. This novel was released last year and looks like a great read about female friendship.

Small Mercies by Eddie Joyce

I love novels told through multiple viewpoints, so I’m looking forward to digging into this novel about a family who is still working through their grief over the death of an adult son during 9/11. The story takes place ten years after this loss and spans one week in the life of an Italian Irish American family living on Staten Island. This is a debut novel and I think it’s going to be my next read.

Ghettoside: A True Story of Murder in America by Jill Levoy

This is a new narrative nonfiction work about a “typical” murder investigation in Los Angeles and the larger issues of urban crime. Not exactly light reading, but I’m in the middle of a big nonfiction reading phase right now and I’ve heard good things about this book.

How about you? Have you read any of these? Which books did you discover this week? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

5 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves: 4/25/15

  1. Nancy Thayer is an author I really want to check out. I loved The Residence! I definitely agree that it was just the right amount of gossip. Enjoy your new books. Sounds like a great stack!

    • Some of my favorite Nancy Thayer novels are Nell (my all-time favorite-unfortunately I think it’s out of print), Between Husbands and Friends, and Morning. I hope you get a chance to try some of her books–there are lots of them!

  2. I might have to start doing this!

  3. Great haul! I’ve not heard of any of these until now but I do hope you enjoy them all! Happy reading! 🙂
    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

Leave a comment