Musings From A Bookmammal

Friday Finds–9/26/14

15 Comments

FRIDAY FINDS is a weekly meme hosted by MizB for sharing the books you ‘found’ and added to your TBR list this week (they don’t necessarily need to be books you purchased)…whether you found them online,  in a bookstore,  in the library — wherever! Click the icon above to join in!

I’m limiting myself to the new books that have actually entered my home this week–-bought new, bought used, and/or borrowed from the library. I’m not listing books that I simply added to by TBR list–that could take days! This week it’s 4 books from the library and 4 used book purchases. Ready? Here they are:

ff 9.26

The Moment Of Everything by Shelly King     I love a good “book about books” and this novel is billed as a book for book lovers. It’s about a woman who starts working at a used bookstore after she loses her job at a software company. She finds an old copy of Lady Chatterley’s Lover with notes in the margins between two people, and she goes on a search to find out who they were.

Bad Feminist: Essays by Roxane Gay     There’s been a lot of buzz about this book—it’s a collection of the author’s thoughts about race, politics, pop culture, gender, sex, and other topics. I recently heard a radio interview with Roxane Gay and while I didn’t agree with everything she said,  I was certainly intrigued enough to want to learn more about her opinions.

The Skeleton Crew: How Amateur Sleuths Are Solving America’s Coldest Cases by Deborah Halber       I used to read a lot of true crime, so I was really interested to hear about this nonfiction account of everyday people who are obsessed with helping to solve missing persons cases.

The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters     I’ve never read anything by Sarah Waters before, but it seems like everyone is talking about her latest novel! Just about everything I’ve read about this book says that it’s best to go into it without any preconceived notions—so all I really know about the plot is that it takes place in London in the early 1920s, and that it’s a combination of a love story and a psychological thriller. It’s also 500+ pages! This is the kind of book that makes me want to call in sick to work and just stay home and read until my eyes hurt. Unfortunately, that’s just not going to fly with my boss right now, so I’ll need to come up with another plan.

Chop Chop by Simon Wroe     I love to cook, and I love to read about food and cooking, so I’m looking forward to this novel set in a London restaurant.

Fever by Mary Beth Keane     This is historical fiction about the Irish immigrant known as Typhoid Mary.

Acceptance by Susan Coll    I always enjoy fiction taking place in academic settings, so I’m eager to read this novel about high school students trying to get accepted into the Ivy League.

River Of Doubt: Theodore Roosevelt’s Darkest Journey by Candice Millard     I LOVED Millard’s Destiny Of A Republic about President Garfield’s assassination, and I’ve been meaning to read this backlist title for ages. I was able to watch most of Ken Burns’ recent documentary about Theodore, Franklin, and Eleanor Roosevelt and it reminded me of how little I know about the first President Roosevelt. I’m hoping this book will change that!

How about you? Have you read any of these? Which books made it onto your radar this week? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

15 thoughts on “Friday Finds–9/26/14

  1. LOL, I know just what you mean about how long it would take to list the books merely added to the tbr or wish lists. I’ve also heard a lot about The Paying Guests.

    Mine this week is a short story by Truman Capote which is free online: http://wp.me/pZnGI-e8

  2. River of Doubt is on my TBR, too. I also own Theodore Rex which, I think, is part of a trilogy, but I’ve not cracked it. I think he’d make a very interesting subject.

  3. I won my friend, Mary Petrie’s, first book in a giveaway and just started reading it this week. It’s called At The End of Magic and so far I’m loving it!

    http://www.today.com/parents/book-mom-get-amazing-surprise-her-teenage-son-1D80137607

  4. I like Friday Finds because I have to add something on my TBR and I found one here – the River of Doubt….I haven’t really read any of these and going through Friday Finds is my attempt to widen my genre..thanks!

  5. I’m still wondering how I’m going to schedule my The Paying Guests into my life but determined to do it somehow, and soon.

    • I started it this morning and am really liking it so far! I’m about 80 pages in–so still have about 500 to go, but I think it’s going to be quite good. Hope you can find time to start it soon!

  6. I read Susan Coll’s newest book this summer–The Stager. It’s pretty wacky (there’s a talking rabbit), but interesting. I think I’d be too freaked out to read Acceptance at this point in my life, since I have a couple of kids who will be applying to college in the coming years!

    I thoroughly enjoyed The Paying Guests–hope it’s a good read for you! Good for you if you kept yourself from reading too many reviews beforehand.

  7. Fever looks interesting and The Paying Guests is on my TBR. I read and really enjoyed The Moment of Everything. It’s definitely a book for readers and not necessarily just literary readers. Looking forward to seeing what you think of it!

    • I’m pretty immersed in The Paying Guests right now (it’s SO GOOD!), so I’m not sure when I’ll be getting to The Moment of Everything–but I’m glad to hear you liked it! Hopefully I’ll get to it soon!

Leave a Reply

