Musings From A Bookmammal

Top Ten Tuesday–The Top Ten Books On My TBR List This Fall

23 Comments

 

Click here to play along!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week a new question or theme is presented. This week’s prompt is:

The Top Ten Books On My TBR List This Fall

Like all of you, I’m looking forward to A LOT of books this fall, but I narrowed my list to ten–five fiction and five nonfiction–and I limited myself to new books that are being released from September-October. Ready? Here we go!

FICTION

  9.16.14 9.30.14 9.30.14 C  10.7.14  10.14.14

Sept. 16The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters     I’ve never read anything by Sarah Waters before but this new title is getting a ton of buzz. Most of the reviews I’ve read say that it’s best to go into this one without any preconceived  notions about the plot, so all I really know is that it takes place in London in the early 1920s and it’s a psychological drama.

Sept. 30Us by David Nicholls     I liked One Day by Nicholls, so I’m hoping I’ll enjoy his new novel as well. It’s about a man whose wife decides to leave him after their son goes away to college, and his attempts to save their relationship.

Sept. 30Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley     This YA novel takes place in Virginia in 1959 and deals with integration as well as LGBT issues. I don’t think this will be an easy read, but I’ve read many reviews that indicate that it will be one of the important YA books this year.

Oct. 7Some Luck by Jane Smiley    Jane Smiley’s latest is the first book in a trilogy covering several decades in the life of an American farming family.

Oct. 14Leaving Time by Jodi Picoult     I LOVE Jodi Picoult’s early novels, but her last few have been a bit hit-and-miss for me. I am really hoping that I love this book about a daughter searching for her missing mother.

NONFICTION

   9.22.14  9.30.14 B  10.2.14 10.13.14  10.28.14

Sept. 22An Age of License: A Travelogue by Luch Knisley     I adored Knisley’s food memoir Relish, so I’m excited to read her latest book written in graphic format about her travels to Europe during a  recent book tour.

Sept. 30The News Sorority by Sheila Weller     I enjoy reading “behind the scenes” nonfiction, and I’m also interested in journalism, so this biography of three noted TV journalists (Katie Couric, Diane Sawyer and Christiane Amanpour) is right up my alley.

Oct. 2Hand To Mouth: Living In Bootstrap America by Linda Tirado     This is a memoir of a woman’s experience with going from middle-class America to poverty. I’ve heard this book compared to Barbara Ehrenreich’s Nickel and Dimed and to me, that’s a big plus.

Oct. 13The Birth of the Pill: How Four Crusaders Reinvented Sex and Launched a Revolution by Jonathan Eig     On the surface this book covers how the Pill was developed, but it also deals with feminism, medicine, politics, and changing social attitudes. I’ve heard that this nonfiction book reads more like a novel, and that’s my favorite type of nonfiction!

Oct. 28Yes Please by Amy Poehler    Amy Poehler is one of my favorite comedic actresses—right up there with Tina Fey and Mindy Kaling. I really liked both of their memoirs, so I’m hoping to enjoy Poehler’s just as much.

How about you? Are any of these on your TBR list? Which books are you anxiously waiting to get your hands on this season? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

23 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday–The Top Ten Books On My TBR List This Fall

  1. The Paying Guests is on my TBR list. Like you, I haven’t read any Sarah Waters books, this sounds like a good one to start with.

  2. those are some very interesting titles. Enjoy your fall reading. kelley—the road goes ever ever on

  3. I’ve really loved some of Sarah Waters’ book so I look forward to The Paying Guests as well!

  4. I’ve read Leaving Time and have US on my reading shelf. A lot of the others are new to me though.

  5. I definitely want to read The Paying Guests and all the nonfiction you listed sounds wonderful! Hadn’t heard about most of them… very excited Lucy Knisley has a new book and The Birth of the Pill sounds great, too.

  6. US made my list as well – I loved One Day! And I’ve heard good things about The Lies We Tell Ourselves.

  7. The Sarah Waters book is on my radar too. I haven’t read her either, though I do own a copy of her book Fingersmith, which is gathering dust on my bookshelf! I’m trying to read more non-fiction and you had some interesting selections! I’ll definitely be adding a few to my TBR list.

  8. I haven’t read a Jane Smiley novel for years. And I just couldn’t get into “Moo.” Do you generally enjoy her work?

    • I haven’t read anything by Smiley in ages, but was intrigued by the thought of a multi-volume family generational saga–so I figured I’d give it a try. I’ve got a copy of Moo sitting on my TBR pile but haven’t gotten to it yet. I did really enjoy A Thousand Acres many years ago.

  9. Here’s my list! I have the Paying Guests on my list too! And I want to read Us, but it didn’t make the cut on the Top Ten!
    http://hollykerr.ca/top-ten-tuesday-10-book-tbr-list-fall/

  10. Two of your non fiction choices are on my list, I’m going to add the others right now! I’ve seen Lies We a Tell Ourselves on quite a few lists today – looks like a good one.

  11. So many good choices here! I definitely want to read the Amy Poehler book as I really enjoyed both Mindy Kaling and Tina Fey’s books plus Amy’s just funny. I’m very curious about Paying Guests as I’ve seen some great reviews for the author. I really want to try Relish. I read French Milk and didn’t get it but I’ve read reviews from people who had a similar reaction to French Milk who loved Relish. Hoping An Age of License is as good!

  12. I’ve already got the Paying Guests on my TBR, now I’m adding Lies We Tell Ourselves. 😉

  13. Good list! I’m anxious for Some Luck and Us as well. Just finished The Paying Guests, and enjoyed it immensely.

  14. I really want to read The Zig Zag Girl by Elly Griffiths and I have a copy of The Summer Guests which I won and I know I’m going to love.

  15. Sorry – too tired that should read The Paying Guests.

  16. Great books! I just picked up The Paying Guests from the library (it is HUGE), and I have The News Sorority and Bith of the Pill on my list too.

    • I just picked The Paying Guests up from the library today and I was so surprised at how fat it is! I’m going to have to figure out when I’ll have the time to really dig into this one.

  17. I am SO PSYCHED about that Amy Pohler book! Also, I have a feeling that ‘The Birth of The Pill’ is going to be a ‘must read’ for me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

