Musings From A Bookmammal

Friday Finds–9/19/14

5 Comments

FRIDAY FINDS is a weekly meme hosted by MizB for sharing the books you ‘found’ and added to your TBR list this week (they don’t necessarily need to be books you purchased)…whether you found them online,  in a bookstore,  in the library — wherever! Click the icon above to join in!

I’m limiting myself to the new books that have actually entered my home this week–-bought new, bought used, and/or borrowed from the library. I’m not listing books that I simply added to by TBR list–that could take days! This week it’s just two books from the library–no book purchases this week. Ready? Here they are:

ff 9.19.14

I love novels made up of letters, and I love novels that take place in academic settings—so when I heard about Dear Committee Members by Julie Schumacher, I knew this was a book that had ME written all over it! This novel was just released earlier this month and consists of a series of letters of recommendation written by a (fictional) professor of creative writing and literature at a small college in the Midwestern US. I picked this book up from the library earlier this week and when I peeked at the first few pages I could immediately tell that the author and I share the same dry, understated sense of humor. I think I’m going to love this book!

I work in educational publishing, so I’m always interested in books that provide behind-the-scenes information about writing, publishing, and the book business. Wild Things: Acts of Mischief in Children’s Literature by Betsy Bird, Julie Danielson, and Peter Sieruta is a nonfiction book about the “untold stories” behind many well-known children’s books and authors, as well as touching on censorship, GLBT literature, celebrity authors, and ghostwriting. This is a book that I’ll probably buy after I have to return it to the library—I’m already pretty sure that I’ll want to add it to my collection of “books about books”.

How about you? Have you read either of these? What books did you discover this week? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

5 thoughts on “Friday Finds–9/19/14

  1. I am heavy into college recommendation writing season here at the high school. I think I should pick up that book! 😉

  2. So good to hear you have found a book that is just what you love – those finds are always special. Here are mine for this week http://cleopatralovesbooks.wordpress.com/2014/09/19/friday-finds-september-19/

  3. Ooh – the book about books sounds very interesting! I love hearing the behind the scenes scoop on books, tv shows, etc. The “how did this get made” type stories…

Leave a Reply

