Musings From A Bookmammal

Friday Finds–9/5/14

13 Comments

FRIDAY FINDS is a weekly meme hosted by MizB for sharing the books you ‘found’ and added to your TBR list this week (they don’t necessarily need to be books you purchased)…whether you found them online,  in a bookstore,  in the library — wherever! Click the icon above to join in!

I’m limiting myself to the new books that have actually entered my home this week–-bought new, bought used, and/or borrowed from the library. I’m not listing books that I simply added to by TBR list–that could take days! This week it’s seven books–three from the library and four used book purchases. Ready? Here they are:

9.5.14

Blackboard: A Personal History of the Classroom by Lewis Buzbee     As a former teacher I love reading both fiction and nonfiction about education. This new book by the author of The Yellow-Lighted Bookshop is a memoir/history lesson about educational practices and ideas as well as the expectations placed on today’s students. The geek in me cannot wait to read this book!

The Saucier’s Apprentice: One Long Strange Trip Through the Great Cooking Schools of Europe by Bob Spitz     Books about food and cooking are another favorite genre of mine, so I was excited to find this memoir of one man’s journey through Europe’s cooking school circuit. This author has previously written several books about the entertainment industry, so I’m curious to find out how he tackles a completely new subject.

Reading Like A Writer: A Guide For People Who Love Books And For Those Who Want To Write Them by Francine Post     I’m also a big fan of books about books! In this one, the author helps us understand why it’s important to slow down when reading in order to notice, appreciate, and learn from examples of wonderful writing.

The Twelve Tribes Of Hattie by Ayana Mathis     This novel got a lot of press when it came out in 2012 but for some reason I never picked it up. It’s the story of a young girl who leaves Georgia for Philadelphia during the Great Migration in the early 1920s—her story is told through chapters devoted to each of her nine children. I’m interested in this novel because I LOVED the book The Warmth Of Other Suns by Isabel Wilkerson which was a nonfiction account of the Great Migration, and I’m thinking that this book will be an interesting fictional pairing.

Admission by Jean Hanff Korelitz     This is a backlist novel about a college admissions officer. As I mentioned above, I enjoy reading both fiction and nonfiction about education—so I’m looking forward to this novel about the Ivy League admissions process.

We Are Not Ourselves by Matthew Thomas     This is a 600+ page Irish-American family saga—I’m only a few dozen pages in (If you look closely at the picture above you can see my bookmark!) but I’m already pretty invested in the characters. This is one of the hot books of the year and I’m hoping it lives up to all the hype!

Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty     I really enjoyed The Husband’s Secret and I’ve been anxiously waiting to get to the top of the library hold list for Moriarty’s latest. I just picked it up yesterday and I’m hoping to start reading it later today. Everyone is talking about this book so I’m eager to join the conversation!

How about you? Have you read any of these? What are you reading these days? Please share!

A side note–I’m getting ready to leave town for a business trip. I’ll still be visiting blogs, but my comments will be limited and I won’t be writing any new posts while I’m away. I’ll see you back here in about a week! (What books to take with me? Real books or kindle books or both? So many decisions!)

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

13 thoughts on “Friday Finds–9/5/14

  1. I found myself pretty invested in We Are Not Ourselves early on, too. Hope this turns out to be a winner for you. My ebook hold for Big Little Lies finally came in… hope I can read it before it disappears! My library doesn’t have Blackboard yet, but I loved The Yellow-Lighted Bookshop and am hoping they get it soon.

    • I’ve been so busy this week that I haven’t had much time to really dig into We Are Not Ourselves–but luckily my library lets us keep books for 3 weeks. I’m liking it so far, even though I’m just getting to know Eileen–she just met Ed.

  2. I’ve got the Twelve Tribes but haven’t read it yet. I keep adding to my TBR and other books get pushed down the list!

  3. Those all look very interesting. I have the Reading Like A Writer book, but I still have to get around to reading it. I hope you like it! Here’s my FF: http://darcysbookblog.wordpress.com/2014/09/05/friday-finds-sept-5/

  4. I hope your trip goes well! Make sure you pack Little Lies as it is brilliant and I’m sure you’ll enjoy it! 🙂

    • It’s a toss-up between Big Little Lies and We Are Not Ourselves–they’re both pretty big books so I only want to take one of them (plus what I have loaded on my kindle of course!). I think Big LIttle Lies will probably win . . .

  5. What a great bunch of books. I’m very interested in “We Are Not Ourselves”. I love character-heavy fiction. Low action is not a problem for me. I adored “The Signature of All Things” for that reason.

    P.S. I’m loving “Burnt Toast Makes You Sing Good.” Being a Midwest girl, you might too.

  6. Admission sounds like a good one. 😀

  7. I never heard of Reading Like a Writer until just now. I’m adding that one to my wishlist!

  8. That’s a nice haul! We Are Not Ourselves was a really gripping read for me, although I thought the book had some flaws. I’ve been meaning to read the !2 Tribes of Hattie, so I’ll look forward to hearing what you think.

Leave a Reply

