Musings From A Bookmammal

Friday Finds–8/29/14

11 Comments

fridayfinds5

FRIDAY FINDS is a weekly meme hosted by MizB for sharing the books you ‘found’ and added to your TBR list this week (they don’t necessarily need to be books you purchased)… whether you found them online,  in a bookstore,  in the library — wherever! Click the icon above to join in!

I’m limiting myself to the new books that have actually entered my home this week–-bought new, bought used, and/or borrowed from the library. I’m not listing books that I simply added to by TBR list–that could take days! This week it’s just two books–both bought used and both nonfiction. Here they are:

FFSouthern Sin: True Stories of the Sultry South & Women Behaving Badly edited by Lee Gutkind and Beth Ann Fennelly      I  thought this was a book of short stories at first, but it’s actually an anthology of nonfiction. I’m intrigued by the premise!

The Man Who Loved Books Too Much: The True Story of a Thief, a Detective, and a World of Literary Obsession by Allison Hoover Bartlett     I do love a good book about books . . . and I found a “like new” hardcover copy of this one at Goodwill for only $1.79! How on earth could I possibly resist? It’s the true story of a man who travels around the US stealing rare books, but he doesn’t do it for the money—he does it because he loves books. It’s also the story of the book dealer/amateur detective who will go to any lengths to stop him. I ask you–what’s not to like about this?!?

How about you? Have you read either of these? What did you add to your TBR list this week? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

11 thoughts on “Friday Finds–8/29/14

  1. Oh, The Man Who Loved Books sounds wonderful — I will have to get my hands on a copy!

  2. I love books about books too!! And under $2 is a total win!! Awesome finds! Hope you enjoy it!!

  3. They both sound like great finds and you’re right the cover on Southern Sin is very similar to Ruffian on the Stair!

  4. I’ve got the Man Who Loved books in my queue. I can’t recall where I heard about it, but it’s been awhile… working its way to the top!

  5. Both sound intriguing! I’ve just added The Queen of the Tearling, Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore, and The Queen’s Rider’s (a collection of essays on Tamora Pierce’s Tortall world) to my tbr pile.

  6. I send books to a young reader with tastes very different from my own. This week I bought him Johnny Tremain and thought I should read it before I send it next week. Finished it a couple of days ago. It’s great! I don’t remember it being this great!

    • I remember reading Johnny Tremain in either middle school or high school–I remember that everyone couldn’t wait to get to the part where he burns his hand with the molten silver! Quite the thrill back then . . . 🙂

Leave a Reply

