Musings From A Bookmammal

Top Ten Tuesday–Take A Peek At My TBR List!

24 Comments

Click here to play along!

Click here to play along!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week a new question or theme is presented. This week’s prompt is:

The Top Ten Books I Really Want To Read But Don’t Own Yet

To answer this prompt I went through my TBR list on Goodreads and pulled ten titles that have already been released this year, but that I either haven’t purchased yet or that I’m still waiting on at the library. Ready? Here we go–in no particular order:

178301231. We Are Not Ourselves by Mathew Thomas     This is a 600+ page multi-generational Irish-American  family saga that I can’t wait to dive into!

 

 

194864122. Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty     I just finished Moriarty’s The Husband’s Secret a few days ago and really liked it, so I’m anxious to get my hands on her latest. The setting is an elementary school, and I usually enjoy reading novels taking place in any kind of academic setting, so I’m looking forward to getting my hands on this one.

 

 

192882593. Dear Committee Members by Julie Schumacher        This is another novel set in academia—this time a university. Plus, the narrative is told through letters which is a technique that I usually love!

 

 

214815424. The First Family Detail by Ronald Kessler     I love reading about American presidents and their families, so I’ve really been looking forward to this book about the Secret Service. I’ve read some of Kessler’s previous books and they do tend to be on the “gossipy” side, so I’m not expecting anything especially hard-hitting here, but I think this will at least be an entertaining read.

 

 

180599805. What Follows After by Dan Walsh   This is a novel about a fractured family, the steps taken by the children to mend their parents’ marriage, and the aftermath of their actions.

 

 

180797606. Remedy: Robert Koch, Arthur Conan Doyle, and the Quest to Cure Tuberculosis     I read a lot of narrative nonfiction, and I especially enjoy medical and popular science topics. This book tells the story of how the cause of TB was discovered and the controversy surrounding this discovery. Call me a geek, but this sounds intriguing to me!

 

 

186562237. Home Leave by Brittani Sonnenberg    This novel is about a modern American family that is constantly on the move—both across the US and also across other continents. The plot explores how different people in the same family deal with loss, and what we mean when we talk about “home”.

 

 

187754428. The Skeleton Crew: How Amateur Sleuths Are Solving America’s Coldest Cases by Deborah Halber     I used to read a lot of true crime, and I’m not quite sure why I stopped—but this book about “regular people” who help detectives solve missing person cases caught my interest.

 

 

186937529. Burnt Toast Makes You Sing Good: A Memoir of Food and Love From an American Midwest Family by Kathleen Flinn     This is a food/family memoir by the author of The Sharper The Knife, The Less You Cry—a cooking memoir that I liked a lot.

 

 

1757129110. What We’ve Lost Is Nothing by Rachel Louise Snyder     I’m especially interested in this novel because the setting is local for me–it takes place in Oak Park, a Chicago suburb. It’s about a series of home invasions that test the trust of the people within the community and bring hidden prejudices to the surface.

 

How about you? Have you read any of these? What are some titles that you want to read, but still haven’t bought or borrowed yet? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

24 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday–Take A Peek At My TBR List!

  1. What a great list! I nearly put Dear Committee Members on my list too because I love the idea of everything being written in letters.

  2. I loved Big Little Lies. I really like Liane Moriarty’s writing!

  3. That’s a great list! I am not doing this meme this week as I would have just way too many books to add on there :), but if I did one, the Liane Moriarty books and The Skeleton Crew would be on mine.

  4. I haven’t heard of any of these but it’s probably because it’s not what I would normally read. Some of them do sound pretty good like The Skeleton Crew. Sounds like someone I would watch on the crime channel, so why not in book form!
    Thanks for stopping by my TTT 🙂

  5. Great list! I loved #1, am at the top of the library hold list for #2, and have just recently added #9 to my wish list.

  6. Skeleton crew sounds interesting and I haven’t read much true crime at all so its going to my TBR 🙂 Here is my TTT
    http://theresurgentbookworm.wordpress.com/2014/08/26/top-ten-books-i-want-to-read-but-dont-own-yet/

  7. Great List! The one about the first family sound really good! my TTT 🙂

  8. I loved the Husband’s Secret and just got Big Little Lies on audio! Can’t wait to start it.

  9. I’m going to check out several of the titles. Actually, two are on my wishlist already. I read Big Little Lies. It did not disappoint!

  10. I do hope you get to read Big Little Lies soon. I want to read We Are Not Ourselves and I’m also quite interested in The Skeleton Crew too 🙂

  11. I LOVED Burnt Toast! I haven’t read any of her other books (though I own them) but I had heard great things but I didn’t expect to love it as much as I did. Don’t read the last 1/4 in public though. The amateur sleuth book looks interesting. I haven’t heard of it but I’m going to have to look for that one. Great list!

  12. I read part of the Kessler book at the store (I was awaiting a book signing for a cookbook — a gift for my niece — and since I’m not remotely domestic I had nothing in common with others in line) and yes, it was gossipy but the parts I read made some rather important points about presidents and security. I learned quite a bit.

  13. Visiting from the Spread the Love link-up. Stop reading right now and grab Dear Committee Members! I read after reading three dystopian novels in a row and it brought me back to laugh. You will laugh out loud. I gave it 5 stars, which I seldom do, but it was so perfectly executed- smart and funny.

Leave a Reply

