Musings From A Bookmammal

WWW Wednesday–8/20/14

17 Comments

Click to play along!

Click to play along!

To participate in this weekly meme hosted by MizB, simply answer the following questions:

WHAT HAVE YOU RECENTLY FINISHED READING?

still life with breadcrumbsEarlier this week I posted about how much I loved Still Life With Breadcrumbs by Anna Quindlen—in fact, I’m pretty sure it’ll end up on my Top 10 list at the end of the year. If you’d like to know why I enjoyed this novel so much, you can find my post here.

 

 

other people we marriedOther People We Married is a backlist short story collection by Emma Straub, the author of The Vacationers—one of this summer’s hot reads. I liked The Vacationers a lot, so I was excited to sample her writing in the short story genre, and she didn’t disappoint me! The twelve stories in this book were all very engaging and I enjoyed “meeting” each of the characters. (Bonus surprise–the characters from The Vacationers make appearances in a few of these previously written stories!) Straub does have a habit of ending her stories rather abruptly, but this wasn’t off-putting to me at all—in fact, it caused me to think about the characters and try to figure out for myself what would happen next. I’m really glad that I discovered Emma Straub and I’m anxious to find out what else she has in store for her readers!

WHAT ARE YOU CURRENTLY READING?

husband's secretI’ve been reading about Liane Moriarty on lots of blogs but I’ve never read any of her books—until now. I finally made it to the top of the library list for The Husband’s Secret and I’ve hardly been able to put it down. It’s a novel about three women whose lives intersect when a long-buried secret is discovered, and the underlying theme is how well we really know the ones we love, and what we’re willing to do to protect them. I’m about two-thirds of the way through this book and I really have no idea how any of this is going to be resolved! I think I’m going to be sorry when I do finally get to the end. (I’m also on the hold list for Moriarty’s latest novel Big Little Lies which was just released last month, and I can’t wait to dig into that one!)

WHAT DO YOU THINK YOU’LL READ NEXT?

 As usual, I don’t have a clue! It’ll all depend on what I’m in the mood for, but I’m sure I’ll be able to find something!

How about you? Have you read any of these? What are you reading this week? Please share!

 

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

17 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday–8/20/14

  1. These are 3 authors that I’ve been wanting to read. I’m glad you’ve been enjoying their books! I think I’m most look forward to Still Life with Breadcrumbs!

  2. I’m on the library hold list for both of those Liane Moriarty novels, but think Big Little Lies will come in first. Can’t wait!

    Anna Quindlen is a favorite, too, especially her nonfiction.

  3. I haven’t heard of the books you have here. I hope you’re enjoying them though, and the rest of your week! 🙂

    Here’s my Wednesday post.

  4. I dare The Husband’s Secret. An amazing book!

  5. I’m so glad you are enjoying The Husband’s Secret, in some ways I loved Little Lies even more – What Alice Forgot, another of her books is also a great read. I’m determined to find time to go through Liane Moriarty’s back catalogue. Happy reading 🙂

  6. My aunt’s been telling me to read Anna Quindlen, so I’ve been thinking about this one. I also read The Husband’s Secret awhile back and wasn’t a huge fan. Mainly because Cecilia kind of drove me crazy 😦

  7. I read a couple of Liane Moriarty’s and enjoyed them and just got Big Little Lies, which so many bloggers loved. I usually auto-buy Ms. Quindlen but for some reason didn’t buy or borrow this one yet. Then I read a few unflattering reviews of it and weren’t sure. I shouldn’t listen to others if I have the urge to read something. I should pick it up at the library, so that on the chance I don’t enjoy it, no harm. Thanks for a great review.

Leave a Reply

