Musings From A Bookmammal

The August Happiness Challenge–Day 1

8 Comments

vonnegut happy

We interrupt our usual bookish posts to bring you the following:

Welcome to Day #1 of the AUGUST HAPPINESS CHALLENGE–where participants post each day in August about something that makes them HAPPY! The goal–to slow down and take time to appreciate the good things in life. Feel free to join in the fun!

I took a vacation day today—I like to spread out vacation time into 3- or 4-day weekends throughout the summer. Today I got up (fairly) early, made a list, got all my weekend errands and chores out of the way by early afternoon, and have been spending the rest of the day reading and relaxing—and I can look forward to more of the same for the rest of the weekend! It was such a hectic week at work, and it feels wonderful to know that I have no real demands on my time for the next two days–and that makes me really happy!

How about you? What’s making you happy today? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

8 thoughts on “The August Happiness Challenge–Day 1

  1. Love this comment. We should all be in the moment at least once in awhile. Notice when things are good. I love it.

  2. Conscious resting always makes for happiness in my book.

    Got here by way of the August Happiness Challenge too. 🙂

  3. What a happy way to spend the day. 😉

  4. Welcome to the Happiness Challenge and congratulations on a happy day off. Here’s my bookish, official start to my month of happy:
    http://onegalsmusings.blogspot.com/2014/08/august-happiness-challenge-day-1.html

Leave a Reply

