Musings From A Bookmammal

Musing Mondays–Dealing With Critical Mass

26 Comments

Click here to play along!

Click here to play along!

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB that asks you to muse about one of several “bookish” questions… or, you can just ramble on about anything you like that pertains to books! You can join in by clicking the graphic above. Go ahead–it’s fun!

Here’s my musing for this week–

I have eight bookcases of varying sizes throughout my home, but I recently realized that my physical books have once again reached the “critical mass” stage. So I did some book weeding last week (I do this a couple of times each year) and gathered five bags of books to take to my local used book store. This cleared some much needed space, but my bookcases are still quite full. Plus—my TBR corner is becoming a hazardous tower! So, I did the only possible thing left to do. I gave myself a birthday present and ordered two new bookcases!

bookcase 1This one will go at the end of my upstairs hallway, and I’m planning to use it to display some of my favorite hardcover books.

bookcase 2I ordered one of the smaller sizes from this series. It’ll go in my office/library to be used as my TBR shelf–and maybe a spot to keep library books as well. I don’t think I’ll have any trouble filling it up!

I should receive delivery of these in the next few weeks—luckily they’ll arrive already assembled, so I’ll be able to have the fun of loading them up right away!

Unfortunately, in an ironic “one step forward, two steps back” situation, in a complete lack of any sort of self-control I also ordered seven used books online this weekend (I really just had to have them)—so I don’t see this as any sort of permanent solution. And as a card-carrying booklover, I really wouldn’t have it any other way!

How about you? What’s your bookcase situation these days? How do you deal with bookish “critical mass”? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

26 thoughts on “Musing Mondays–Dealing With Critical Mass

  1. Congrats on your new purchase!! This made me laugh because my goal today is to move two of my bookcases into another room! Here’s my Monday musings – that has nothing to do with what I need to do today! http://hollykerr.ca/monday-musings-dont-want/

  2. Love the new bookshelves! I don’t actually own any books (library nerd here!), so I don’t have this issue 🙂 But, let’s not talk about Legos, because those darn things have taken over my entire house ughhh, lol.

  3. I love your solution. Sounds like one I would make. Enjoy your Monday.

  4. Nice looking shelves! And a bonus that they’re already assembled. 😉 I feel guilty when I tell people that I have one book case now. I’ve pared down physical books in favor of ebooks.

    • Thanks!
      I can put furniture together, but with bookshelves you have to get all the angles right and make sure everything is level–it often doesn’t end well for me. 🙂

  5. Oh I like your shelves. I finally got my new bookcase the other week, but I have to confess now I have extra shelves I can’t get the organisation quite right so there are still piles of books left as I work out which ones are going to live where.

  6. Those shelves look fantastic. Especially the second one! 😀

  7. Would love some new bookshelves. I think going already assembled is great we had so much trouble putting ours together lol .. here’s my musing: http://daystarz.wordpress.com/2014/07/28/musing-mondays-20/

  8. EIGHT bookcases!?! … I got the third degree to get just one! I wanna come live with you!

    • This is definitely one of the advantages of living alone–I can furnish my house in what I like to call “Early American Book” and I don’t have to get the OK from anyone! 🙂

  9. I try to only buy books I’m desperate to have, otherwise I’ll check them out from the library to avoid filling up the shelf space I do have. So far I haven’t gone into the bookish critical mass. 😀

    • I definitely give my local library a lot of business. If I couldn’t check books out from the library, I don’t think I’d be able to fit inside my house!

  10. At one point we had eleven floor-to-ceiling bookshelves and still we couldn’t hold all my books on them! A few years ago, I gave away eight bookshelves of books, and got rid of the shelves. Now we have a Book-In-Book-Out policy!

Leave a Reply

