Musings From A Bookmammal

Monday Musings–A Bookish Destination

21 Comments

Click here to play along!

Click here to play along!

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB that asks you to muse about one of several “bookish” questions… or, you can just ramble on about anything you like that pertains to books! You can join in by clicking the graphic above. Go ahead–it’s fun!

Here’s my musing for this week–

The Sylvia Beach Hotel--click to visit the official website.

The Sylvia Beach Hotel–click to visit the official website.

I love looking for bookish destinations (check my post here about the Library Hotel in NYC!) and I recently found another wonderful one online—the Sylvia Beach Hotel in Nye Beach, Oregon. Billed as “truly a hotel for book lovers”, this unique inn features guest rooms in three categories—“Classics” featuring the best views, “Bestsellers”, which are the most plentiful, mid-priced accomodations, and “Novels”, which are the least expensive rooms. Each room’s décor is based on an author, such as Agatha Christie, Dr. Seuss, Ernest Hemingway, Amy Tan, JK Rowling, and more!

The 27-year-old hotel also features a library/reading room (if you’re the last one to leave at night, please turn off the lights!), a restaurant called Tables of Content, and even a hotel cat! There are no phones, TVs or radios in the rooms, but there are plenty of books! The hotel overlooks the water (most rooms have a beach view) and it seems like a wonderful place to spend time either alone or with a loved one–as well as a fabulous spot to get lost in a book. . . or two. . . or more!

I really have no plans to go to Oregon anytime soon, but if I ever do, the Sylvia Beach Hotel seems like a perfect haven for this booklover!

How about you? Have you traveled to any bookish destinations? Please share!

(Disclaimer–I have no affiliation with this hotel–it just seems really cool!)

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

21 thoughts on “Monday Musings–A Bookish Destination

  1. That sounds amazing! I checked out your other post on the NYC hotel and I really want to go there!!! Here’s my musing http://hollykerr.ca/impatiently-reading/

  2. This hotel looks amazing! It’s definitely on my places to go list! I want to stay in the Agatha Christie room though the Dr. Seuss room just looks fun. I’ll have to go check out your other bookish location. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Well, now I have a new place to put on the “must go here” list! Thanks! 🙂

    My Monday Musings… http://www.owlcatmountain.com/2014/07/14/monday-musings-july-14/

  4. Ooh what an amazing find, it sounds amazing!

  5. I want to go!!!

  6. That sounds amazing! I don’t know how you find these places but they’re always amazing. Massive book blogger party, anyone?

    My musing: http://wp.me/p42heP-ea

  7. Oh my gosh! That is soooo cooooool! I love it. I think I need to plan a trip, haha.
    Hmm, I don’t I’ve been anywhere “specifically bookish”, but I was in a club once where the all the walls were covered in bookshelves with books, haha.

  8. Sounds awesome to me. I haven’t been to a bookish destination … yet . Here’s my MM: http://daystarz.wordpress.com/2014/07/14/musing-mondays-19/

  9. Pingback: Sunday Post (July 20) | Girl of 1000 Wonders

  10. I recently went on a bookish tour of Iowa City, which is designated as a UNESCO City of Literature. It’s kind of nice to have a bit of culture out in the middle of nowhere.

    • I wasn’t aware of this aspect of UNESCO until now (just googled it after reading your comment)–I think it’s fascinating that Iowa City is the only US city on the list!

      • Yup, and a city most people probably haven’t heard of, or wouldn’t give much thought to if they have… take that, New York and Chicago!

  11. That is so interesting! I had no idea such hotels even existed… I would love to stay there! I live in Paris and there are a lot of bookish landmarks here, such as Hemingway’s apartment or the cafes where famous writers used to meet. It’s amazing to think of all of the history at each of these places…

  12. Wow, this hotel looks amazing! ❤ I love that it has a restaurant called "Tables of Content", how brilliant is that?

Leave a Reply

