Musings From A Bookmammal

Musing Mondays–All Nonfiction, All The Time (at least for now!)

20 Comments

Click here to play along!

Click here to play along!

 

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB that asks you to muse about one of several “bookish” questions… or, you can just ramble on about anything you like that pertains to books! You can join in by clicking the graphic above. Go ahead–it’s fun!

Here’s my musing for this week–

I’ve always been a big nonfiction fan, and I’m in a serious nonfiction reading phase right now. I’m coming off of a very relaxed, lazy, long holiday weekend where just about the most strenuous thing I did was bring a stack of library books in the house, and I did a ton of reading over the last few days. Every book I’ve picked up this weekend has been nonfiction. In fact, five out of the last six books I’ve read are nonfiction and both of the books I’m currently reading are nonfiction.

These  books span a big range of topics, but I don’t think that any of them are your typical “beach bag” reads:

18144099  i work in library  salinger year  hold fast to dreams  tiger  Hidden History  news sorority

  • a restaurant/food/cooking memoir
  • a humorous book about things experienced by librarians
  • a publishing/bookish memoir
  • a narrative about inner-city high school students getting into/getting through college
  • a collection of sports columns
  • an account of a little-known event in American history
  • a biography of three renowned female newscasters

I’ve got several novels sitting here in my TBR pile, but right now I just can’t get enough of nonfiction!

How about you? Does your reading go in phases? Are you a fellow nonfiction fan? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

20 thoughts on “Musing Mondays–All Nonfiction, All The Time (at least for now!)

  1. I’ve made it a goal this year to read a little more non-fiction. I’ve read a lot of memoirs, but not as much NF as I had hoped. My Salinger Year is definitely on the list, but next up for me will be Brain on Fire.

    • I really liked My Salinger Year–I’ll be posting about it later this week. I read Brain On Fire about a year ago and thought it was a very brave, interesting account of a really frightening, difficult time in the author’s life. Hard to say that I enjoyed such a book, but I found it very compelling.

  2. I don’t read a lot of non-fiction and I think I’m missing out!! I’ll have to put some on my TBR pile! Here’s my musings this week…http://hollykerr.ca/monday-musings-invasion-american-girl/

    • I’ve always loved nonfiction–I think my reading choices are split pretty evenly between F/NF. Some nonfiction books read as though they were novels!

  3. I really enjoy nonfiction, too, (especially on audio) and seem to go in streaks like you. Some of my favorite titles this year have been Five Days at Memorial, Orange is the New Black, The Boys in the Boat, This is the Story of a Happy Marriage, and Empty Mansions.

    • I read an excerpt of Five Days At Memorial and decided I just couldn’t read the whole thing-I knew I’d get too upset. I LOVED the last 3 books you mentioned!
      And, I agree with you–most NF does seem particularly well suited to audiobooks. I recently listened to Bill Bryson’s One Summer and was pretty riveted through the whole thing!

  4. I very seldom read non-fiction. I do go on binges with certain types of fiction and I never know when I will get tired for one area and start on another.

  5. My reading varies. However, I am noticing I tend toward non-fiction.

  6. I’m the opposite right now! While I enjoy nonfiction as a rule in summer my brain craves fun light bubbly fiction. I did LOVE Delancey and I want to read the public library and the White House books on your list. Both sounds really interesting.

    • That’s how I usually am in the summer, too–I’m not sure what’s going on with my reading life right now! 🙂
      “I Work At A Public Library” will be released at the end of this month–it’s a fun, very light read-you can easily read it in one sitting. “Hidden White House” was so fascinating to me! I’ll be posting more about both of these later this week.

  7. Okay, now I want to read the one about librarians. I used to work in a library when I was high school, and I loved it. 🙂 I go in non-fiction bursts as well–mostly historical accounts and travel narratives. Thanks for sharing!

    Here’s my Monday Musings… http://www.owlcatmountain.com/2014/07/07/monday-musings-july-7/

    • I was always jealous of the kids who had jobs at the public library–until I realized that they weren’t just sitting around the library reading all day!

  8. I go through phases of non-fiction, too. Right now I’m reading novels about novels (Shadow in the Wind and The Storied Life of AJ Fickry).

  9. I read non-fiction exclusively for years. It wasn’t until I started blogging that I started reading fiction again. I don’t have a lot of phases right now because most of my reading is based upon my review schedule. Hopefully that will change one day.

    Hope you’ll visit http://thebookconnectionccm.blogspot.com/2014/07/musing-mondays-july-7.html

  10. Ooh, these definitely sound interesting! I don’t usually read a lot of non-fictions but when I do read them they’re usually biographies, or food-related books. I might have to take a look at I Work at a Public Library, it sounds like a fun read! Thanks for sharing!

  11. Occassionally I buy or borrow NF .. but to be honest I usually just skim them – or they are still unread on my ereader. I much prefer fiction. My MM: http://daystarz.wordpress.com/2014/07/08/musing-mondays-18/

Leave a Reply

