Musings From A Bookmammal

WWW Wednesday–6/25/14

14 Comments

Click to play along!

Click to play along!

To participate in this weekly meme hosted by Miz B, simply answer these three questions:

WHAT HAVE YOU RECENTLY FINISHED READING?

18594633Just about every review I’ve seen about Summer House With Swimming Pool by Herman Koch says that the best way to read it is to have little to no knowledge about the plot—and I completely agree! Koch is a master of creating thoroughly dislikeable and immoral characters and combining them with a riveting plot that makes you want to keep reading—against your better instincts. I read this book in about a day and a half, and it reminded me of a train wreck—I wanted to put the book down and get away from the characters, yet I just had to know what would happen next. It’s tough to say that I enjoyed this book, but it definitely held my interest and made me think. I’d rank this book right up there with The Dinner, which was Koch’s last (and somewhat similar) novel.

 

18144099I’m a big fan of books about food and cooking, and I really enjoyed Delancey: A Man, A Woman, A Restaurant, A Marriage by Molly Wizenberg. It’s a memoir about the author’s experience of starting a restaurant with her husband—and every time I read a book like this one I’m reminded once again that even though I love to cook, I would NEVER want to own my own restaurant!

 

8909152I’m so glad that I finally got around to reading Attachments by Rainbow Rowell! I adored Eleanor & Park, I loved Fangirl almost as much, and I’d put Attachments right between them.This is a great summer read—lots of humor, characters that you care about, and an engrossing plot involving two women who work for a newspaper and the man in the IT department who gets to know them by monitoring their email exchanges. I’m ready for more Rainbow Rowell, and am anxiously awaiting her new novel Landline which will be out next month.

WHAT ARE YOU CURRENTLY READING?

maeveI just received an ARC of Maeve’s Times: In Her Own Words by Maeve Binchy and so far I’m loving it. It’s a collection of columns that the late, beloved author wrote for The Irish Times from the 1960s through the 2000s, and her wonderful writing voice comes through in each one I’ve read so far. Many people compare reading Binchy’s books with sitting down and chatting with an old friend over tea, and that’s just what this book feels like! The only thing that is somewhat tripping me up a bit is the frequent use of unfamiliar Irish terms and phrases, but I’m getting used to it. This book is due to be published in October, and although it’s nonfiction, I hope it finds a wide audience among Binchy’s fans!

WHAT DO YOU THINK YOU’LL READ NEXT?

As usual, I have absolutely no idea! My TBR stack is huge (like everyone else’s!) and I have no idea what I’ll be in the mood to read next.

How about you? Have you read any of these? What are you reading this week? Please share!

 

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

14 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday–6/25/14

  1. I love the look of Summer House with Swimming Pool, awesome title! I posted here: http://lipsyy.wordpress.com/2014/06/25/www-wednesday-24-06-2014/

  2. I can’t wait to read Summer House – am getting close to the top of the library list now. And Delancey sounds wonderful, too. Owning a restaurant has got to be one of the toughest jobs out there!

    • I read Summer house in a marathon session over two days–I really couldn’t put it down. And then immediately read Delancy which was a complete 180 turn in tone and in topic!

  3. I’m glad that you enjoyed Attachments. She’s a great writer!

  4. I’ve read Attachments and Delancey and enjoyed both. I agree with you on never ever wanting to open a restaurant! The Maeve Binchey book looks interesting and I like books that read like a nice chat. I’ll have to look for it in October. Thanks for sharing!

    • One of the things I liked about Delancey was how she traced how her attitude ebbed and flowed about her involvement in her husband’s restaurant dream–and how it illustrated that you can still be supportive of your partner without necessarily completely buying into their dream/vision. Plus–there were recipes! 🙂

  5. You’ve gt to love a brook that simultaneously repels you and draws you in. Not sure I want to get into Koch, but I am curious. My 3 this week http://alenaslife.wordpress.com/2014/06/25/w-w-w-wednesday-16/

  6. I really should read Attachments because I, too, enjoyed Eleanor&Park a lot. I also really need to get my hands on Fangirl 🙂 Happy reading!

    Here’s my www: http://www.bookbunnys.com/2014/06/25/www-wednesday-25-6-2014/

  7. I still have to read The Dinner but I’ve got a copy waiting for me! Hope you enjoy, here’s my link http://wp.me/p32hC2-KG

  8. I’m so glad you enjoyed Attachments, too! I’ve pre-ordered Landline. I like her quirky writing.

Leave a Reply

