Musings From A Bookmammal

WWW Wednesday–6/18/14

24 Comments

Click to play along!

Click to play along!

To join this weekly meme hosted by MizB, just answer these three questions:

WHAT DID YOU RECENTLY FINISH READING?

book of unknown americansI absolutely LOVED The Book Of Unknown Americans by Cristina Henriquez. It’s a novel about immigration, assimilation, staying true to your roots, family, unconditional love, friendship, and what we will endure to benefit those we care for. The story is told through multiple viewpoints, which is always a selling point for me, and I thought Henriquez did a great job of capturing the different voices of the characters throughout the book. This novel was just published on June 3, and I’m not sure why it isn’t getting more press—but this is one of those books that I want to hand out to total strangers on street corners. I’m pretty sure that this book will end up on my Top 10 list at the end of the year.

sous chefNonfiction featuring food and cooking is one of my favorite genres, and I’m so glad I discovered the newly released Sous Chef by Michael Gibney! Based on the author’s experiences, this book covers 24 hours in the life of a New York City sous chef, and it’s made all the more real through the use of the second person narration throughout the book. I really enjoyed this book and I learned a lot about what really goes into running a restaurant kitchen-enough to know that although I love to cook, I’d never want to do it for a living! (Bonus story—I bought a brand new, pristine condition, hardcover copy of this book at my local Goodwill store for $1.89—I went in looking for some kitchen stoneware, and left with two books and a blouse. Go figure!)

we were liarsOK—I’m pretty sure I’m going to be in the minority on this one. I didn’t like We Were Liars by E. Lockhart. I didn’t like it at all. I finished listening to it on my daily commute yesterday, and I wanted to throw something through my windshield when I got to the end. I don’t feel that I can say too much about why I disliked it so much, as it’s hard to do without including spoilers—but I just do not get all the hype that’s happening around this book. Maybe that was part of the problem for me–too much hype, too many expectations. So far this is the only book I’ve given a single-star rating to on Goodreads this year—and I hope it’s the last!

 

WHAT ARE YOU CURRENTLY READING?

18404251I’m just about finished with Cutting Teeth, the debut novel by Julia Fierro—and I’ll be glad when I finish it. It’s about several New York City parents and their young children who go away together for a long weekend at a family beach house. I had really high hopes for this book, but unfortunately I’m finding all of the characters to be very unlikeable, and I really don’t care about what happens to any of them. I only have about 100 pages left so I’m going to finish it, but this book has been a disappointment to me.

 

WHAT DO YOU THINK YOU’LL READ NEXT?

As usual, I have absolutely no idea! I have a huge stack of TBRs on the floor of my bedroom, and I’ll be picking up some library holds later this week. I just hope that the next book I choose turns out to be something I really enjoy!

How about you? Have you read any of these? What did you think? What are you reading these days? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

24 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday–6/18/14

  1. The Book Of Unknown Americans sounds really interesting. It’s new to me!

    • I won an ARC of Unknown Americans from Goodreads–otherwise I’m not sure I would have heard of it either. I wish more people knew about it-it’s wonderful!

  2. This is the second review of The Book of Unknown Americans I’ve seen this morning and it sounds absolutely fabulous! I’d never heard of it an hour ago…

  3. You are the first person I’ve seen who hates We Were Liars…I have it on order so I’m hoping I’ll like it. Also very eager to read Unknown Americans. That’s on order too. My three this week http://alenaslife.wordpress.com/2014/06/18/w-w-w-wednesday-15/

    • Hey, I KNOW I’m completely in the minority on We Were Liars–to each his/her own, right? 🙂
      I’m glad to hear someone else is planning on reading Unknown Americans!

  4. I have to say The Book of Unknown Americans looks so good.

  5. The Unknown Americans sounds interesting and I’ve been wanting to read Sous Chef. I love food books and it sounds like I definitely need to pick this one up. That’s too bad about Cutting Teeth. The premise sounds interesting but it also sounds like one where you need sympathetic characters. I’m in line for We Are Liars at the library so I’ll probably read it but I’ll keep my expectations a little lower. I had that experience with The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry which I enjoyed but didn’t LOVE like everyone else seemed too.

  6. Very interesting books! 🙂 I’ll have to add to my TBR/Queue.

  7. I might have to add The Book Of Unknown Americans to my to read list! I’ve seen it in Barnes & Noble and mentioned a few places, but I never really looked to see what it was about. Whoops…

    “Maybe that was part of the problem for me–too much hype, too many expectations.”
    That’s the second reason why I read it the day it was released. The first was to avoid spoilers.

  8. The Book Of Unknown Americans sounds great, I will be adding it to my TBR list. I haven’t read We Were Liars yet, and I’m afraid the same thing will happen to me when I do; too many expectations and not enjoying it.
    Here’s my WWW Wednesday.

  9. I am definitely going to have to check out The Book of Unknown Americans, thanks! Hope you get a good read for your next book 🙂
    Here’s my link for the week http://wp.me/p32hC2-JT

  10. I love how you want to give out copies of The Book of Unknown Americans on street corners… it sounds like a great read. I had been debating whether or not to read We Were Liars but I think I’ll leave it off the list now. Thanks for visiting my WWW earlier 🙂

  11. The Book Of Unknown Americans sounds inspiring; I’d read this 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    Sparrow’s WWW Wednesday

  12. The Book Of Unknown Americans seems like a good read. here’s my WWW: http://natashazwords.blogspot.in/2014/06/www-wednesday-12-18th-june-2014.html

  13. I completely agree with your thoughts on The Book of Unknown Americans!! I loved it so much and I can’t imagine it not being on my top ten for 2014. And the characters in Cutting Teeth were obnoxious. I’m glad none of them were ever in my playgroups when my children were toddlers.

  14. Nearly finished The Alchemist’s Daughter. Came across it in a cupboard when I was having a clear out. Set in 16th c. Britain. Excellent read!

Leave a Reply

