Musings From A Bookmammal

Top Ten Tuesday–Top 10 Books On My Summer TBR List

41 Comments

Click here to play along!

Click here to play along!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week a new question or theme is presented. This week’s prompt is:

What Are The Top Ten Books On Your Summer TBR List?

Like all booklovers, my TBR list is huge—but there are a few books that have made it to the top of my TBR list that I want to be sure to get to this summer. As always, of course, this plan is subject to change with absolutely no notice! But as of today, these are the top ten books that I’m planning to read by September. Some are new releases, and some are backlisted titles. Ready? Here we go, in no particular order:

8909152        17286707        18594633        18693716        18404251

 

 The Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

I’ve written many times about my love for Eleanor & Park and my near-love for Fangirl. I’m now looking forward to reading this backlist adult novel by Rowell.

The Hidden White House by Robert Klara

I love reading about American history–especially the lives of our Presidents and their families—so I was thrilled to discover this book about the remodeling of the White House during the late 1940s-50s. I am so excited to dig into this book—it looks perfect for nonfiction fans like myself!

Summer House With Swimming Pool by Herman Koch

I read Koch’s The Dinner last year and it was a disturbing and riveting read. Everything I’ve heard about this new novel makes me think that it will be another thought-provoking, unsettling book. Not your typical summer beach read, but I’m very anxious to get to this one!

One Plus One by Jojo Moyes

I finally got around to reading Me Before You several months ago and I quite enjoyed it. I’m eagerly awaiting this latest title which is due to be released in the US in early July.

Cutting Teeth by Julia Fierro

I’m reading this right now and should finish it in the next couple of days. It’s about a group of parents in New York City who go away with their toddlers for a long weekend at a beach house—and, of course, various dramas ensue. Parts of this novel are spot on regarding the relationships between moms, dads, and young children—but I’m having trouble liking or caring about any of the characters. I’m close to the end, though, so I’ll keep on until I finish it.

1938260        18525774        18641982        art of fielding        18144099

Mary by Janis Cooke Newman

I usually like to read one enormous book over the summer, and at 500+ pages, this novel definitely qualifies! This is backlist historical fiction told through the voice of Mary Todd Lincoln, and I really can’t wait to immerse myself in  this one. I’ve read a lot about Abraham Lincoln, but I don’t know much about his wife. I’m hoping this book will change that!

 Nantucket Sisters by Nancy Thayer

I LOVE Nancy Thayer’s earlier novels, but her later books have been a bit hit and miss for me. However, she’s one of my “automatic authors”—I’ll read pretty much anything she publishes. This book is due to be released today, and the cover alone promises that it’ll be a great beach bag read!

The Vacationers by Emma Straub

There’s nothing like a good, juicy story about family drama and secrets—I love to read this type of novel at any time of the year, but especially during the summer months. This book was just released at the end of May and there are a ton of people ahead of me at the library—I’ll just have to be patient, I guess! Hopefully it’ll be worth the wait!

The Art of Fielding by Chad Harbach

I’m in the middle of this 500+ page novel right now and am really enjoying it, but I’m having to take breaks every once in awhile to read some shorter books. I do plan on finishing this “baseball novel that isn’t really just about baseball” book by the end of the summer.

Delancey: A Man, A Woman, A Restaurant, A Marriage by Molly Wizenberg

I love reading food memoirs and am looking forward to reading this new release. I just got to the top of the library hold list for this title and I’ll be picking it up at the end of the week!

How about you? Have you read any of these? What’s on your reading list this summer? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

41 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday–Top 10 Books On My Summer TBR List

  1. I love the look of The Practitioners. I may have to check that out.

  2. I adored both The Hidden White House and Delancey. Hope you enjoy them, too! The Art of Fielding intrigues me–think I’ll look into that one.

  3. I adored Delancey! It wasn’t quite what I expected but it was so good. I also really enjoyed Attachments though it took me a little while to really get into to but I think that was because I was reading several other books at a time. The Vacationers and The Nantucket Sisters are on my wishlist already but I’ll have to add The Art of Fielding. I remember wanting to read it awhile ago but never got to it for some reason and forgot all about it. The Hidden White House sounds so interesting! I’ll have to add that to my wishlist as well! Great list!

  4. Attachments is such a fun book. I think you will really enjoy it!
    Also, I really need to check out Jojo Moyes! Thanks for the reminder ❤

  5. Oooh, need to read a Jojo Moyes book soon. Everyone loves her books. And Attachments too 🙂 Seems like an adorable one. I hope this one works out for you as well seeing as you’ve enjoyed other by Rainbow 🙂

  6. I loved The Art of Fielding! I hope you enjoy the rest of it. I’m intrigued by Herman Koch’s latest, too. I have his last book, The Dinner, sitting around, but it will have to wait until the fall.

    • I’m really liking Art of Fielding, but it’s such an enormous book, and it’s not one that I want to rush through–so I’m having to let it “take turns” with other, shorter books from time to time!

  7. Rainbow Rowell seems to be on everyone’s list…as she should be! I had mixed feelings about Cutting Teeth. I couldn’t relate to the characters at all–they seemed spoiled and over privileged to me. Also, why did they have kids at all if they were going to be so angsty about it? The book has generated a lot of buzz though….

    • I completely agree with you on Cutting Teeth–I just don’t care about ANY of the characters! I’m almost done, so I’m going to finish it, but it definitely won’t make any future Top 10 lists from me!

  8. I really liked Attachments, though not as much as Eleanor and Park. I hope you enjoy it! I’ll have to check out Mary. It sounds fascinating!

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT. 🙂

  9. Thayer’s does look good. I’ve not tried her before but definitely looks like a good summer read 🙂

  10. Attachments!! This is the only Rainbow book I haven’t read yet, I think I’ll end up reading it this summer. I keep seeing The Vacationers around and I’m so intrigued by it. I think that one might sneak on to my summer tbr. Looks like you’ll have some good reads this summer 🙂

  11. Attachments is lots of fun. I haven’t read Fangirl yet, but I’m already looking forward to her new one Landline. The Vacationers almost made my list. I’ve loved everything by Emma Straub so far. Love your blog! This is my first visit.

    • Thanks for stopping by!
      I haven’t read anything by Straub before–Vacationers will be my first. And–I’m also eagerly waiting for Landline to be released–I’m jealous of everyone who got to read ARCs!

  12. Mary and The Hidden White House seem really interesting and right up my alley. I’ll definitely have to check them out. And I’ll also have to read The Attachments at some point.

  13. I’ve read and loved Fangirl and Eleanor & Park but I haven’t gotten around to reading Attachments yet. It is on my TBR list definitely. Jojo Moyes left me a wreck after Me Before You and while I loved that book I am still suffering ^_^ from the aftermath despite having read that last year. I’ll probably be giving her books another try in a year or two. LOL 🙂 Thanks for dropping by my TTT 🙂

  14. We have very similar taste in books – I want to read ALL of these!

  15. All of Rowell’s books are great, so you should enjoy Attachments! Perfect summer read. I don’t know much about your other books, although I hear great things about JoJo Moyes. Have a great summer!

  16. I’m afraid I’m one of those people who reads history books only when required. The closest I got to was when I read Jefferson’s biography.

    Enjoy your books!

    • Maybe you just haven’t found a book about history that inspires you! There are so many great nonfiction books that almost read like novels because the author is so skillful at telling the story!

      • Maybe. The closest I got was Jefferson’s biohraphy (forgot the title but it was published 2012 I think) and even that I dragged myself into finishing. Does Sophie’s World belong in the genre? Though I stopped reading midway so it doesn’t count too.

        Honestly, when I’m reading a blurb for a historical book I think they’re interesting and I want to read one. But then when I start I feel quite in over my head because I don’t know a thing about history.

        Recommend me a good nonfiction that reads like a novel. Maybe I’ll start from there. I’d like to try reading this genre (so I could act like a know it all with my friends! ).

      • Hmmm. . . there’s so much out there! What are some nonfiction topics you think you’d like?

      • Travel I think. I read a lot of stuff about Anastasia and all that back then so maybe history on royalty?

      • I’ve got to admit that these are two areas that I haven’t read a lot about–but if I think of anything that you might like I’ll let you know! Sorry I can’t be more immediately helpful!

  17. I loved Attachments – I hope you do too! And I cannot wait to read One Plus One. I’m excited to tackle a Moyes book that is a bit different from the emotional wreck Me Before You made me. I’ll have to do more research on the rest of these. Happy reading!

  18. I really need to read Rainbow Rowell, I have heard nothing but rave reviews. I am excited to read One Plus One as well and agree with Lauren, Me Before You made me a wreck too. Such a fantastic book. Stopping by from #SpreadtheLove. Have a great reading week.

  19. Summer House w/ Swimming Pool is also pretty disturbing. But good, I liked it a lot. I need to get to Attachments as well. 🙂

  20. I’ve just finished the Herman Koch, the first of his I’ve read. Review coming soon… it was disturbing. Will be intrigued to see what you think of the Chad Fielding when you’ve finished it. 🙂 SD

  21. Nice list. I have a Rainbow Rowell and a JoJo Moyes on my summer list as well!

Leave a Reply

