Musings From A Bookmammal

WWW Wednesday–6/4/14

19 Comments

Click to play along!

Click to play along!

To join this weekly meme hosted by MizB, just answer these three questions:

WHAT DID YOU RECENTLY FINISH READING?

18453249If you like novels featuring contemporary families,  alternating viewpoints,  family secrets, and multiple generations, this may be the book you’re looking for! The Blessings by Elise Juska is one of the best books I’ve read this year. Taking place over the span of about twenty years, the book covers the lives of a large, extended family living near Philadelphia. Each chapter focuses on a different family member, so as you read you’re getting numerous viewpoints about pivotal events. I was hooked on this novel from the very first chapter, and I’m anxious to read more by the author.

WHAT ARE YOU CURRENTLY READING?

art of fieldingThere was a lot of buzz about The Art of Fielding by Chad Harbach when it came out a couple of years ago, but I have the feeling that a lot of people didn’t pick it up because they thought it was a  novel about baseball. Yes, baseball does play a  role in this book, but it’s actually just a backdrop for a great story about five people affiliated with the fictional Westish College. It’s hard to summarize the plot of this book because there’s a lot going on, and at a bit over 500 pages it’s definitely not a quick read–but I’m about halfway through and am really enjoying it so far. If you like novels set in schools–especially colleges–I’d suggest giving this book a try even if you’re not a big baseball fan!

 

Storied LifeI’ve been hearing about The Storied Life Of A. J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin for months—it’s billed as a book for book lovers, and I’ve read a lot of great reviews about it on many blogs. I just started it a couple of days ago and I’m only a couple of chapters in so far, but I can already tell that I’m going to love it. And really, what’s not to like here? There’s a bookseller with tragedy in his past, a missing book, a mysterious package, an abandoned child, a somewhat eccentric publisher’s sales rep, “insider” talk about books and the book business— if you like books and reading (and of course you do!) I think you owe it to yourself to pick up this book!

WHAT DO YOU THINK YOU’LL READ NEXT?

As usual, I have absolutely no idea! I’ve got a stack of recently purchased used books sitting on the floor by my bed and I’ve got several holds waiting for me at the library. The only thing I’m sure of is that whatever mood I’m in, I’ve got a book here somewhere that I’ll want to dive into!

How about you? Have you read any of these? What have you been reading lately? Please share!

 

 

 

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

19 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday–6/4/14

  1. The Blessings looks really good! I like the sound of it!

  2. The Art of Fielding would be perfect for my baseball-loving hubby. Thanks for the Father’s Day idea! I’ve got a copy of the Storied Life of AJ Fikry just waiting for me to finish my library books. I can’t wait to start it. Here’s my WWW list http://hollykerr.ca/www-wednesday-reading/
    Enjoy!

  3. I couldn’t get through The Art of Fielding, but I know a few people who really liked it! My post: http://lipsyy.wordpress.com/2014/06/04/www-wednesday-03-06-2014/

    • Art of Fielding is a big undertaking at 500+ pages, but I think I’m just in the perfect mood for that type of book right now. Plus, the baseball parts are a bonus!

  4. I’ve been avoiding Art of Fielding because I thought it was too much baseball, but now I”ll pick it up! So many good ones this week. I htink I might suggest Storied Life to my book group. 😉

  5. I like the sound of The Blessing. Art of Fielding sounds good but I haven’t had good luck with chunks the past few weeks so I may have to put it off to the fall when things calm down a bit! Hope you continue to enjoy A.J. Fikry!

  6. The Storied Life…. sounds interesting. I’m gonna have to check that one out!
    Here’s mine https://gorgeousbooks.wordpress.com/2014/06/04/www-wednesday/

  7. Oh dear, I’m not supposed to be acquiring any new books and yet you have two on this list that I know I want! The Blessings because I really enjoy books with multiple viewpoints and The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry which although I’ve seen on a few blogs didn’t realise until your synopsis how much it would appeal to me. A classic don’t judge a book by its cover moment 😉

    • I think you’d like The Blessings–not only are there multiple viewpoints, but the time that goes by between each chapter varies–so you’re constantly getting the viewpoints of other characters, but you’re also seeing how time can affect the perception of events. I thought the author did a great job with the book!

  8. I look forward to your thoughts on The Art of Fielding when you finish it, it’s one I’ve thought about reading but I’m not 100% sure.

  9. I have not read any of those books. The Blessings looks like an interesting read though. Thank you for visiting my WoW 🙂 Happy reading!

  10. Pingback: Friday Finds (June 13) | Cleopatra Loves Books

Leave a Reply

