Musings From A Bookmammal

Musing Mondays–Have Your Reading Habits Changed?

24 Comments

Click here to play along!

Click here to play along!

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB that asks you to muse about one of several “bookish” questions… or, you can just ramble on about anything you like that pertains to books! You can join in by clicking the graphic above. Go ahead–it’s fun!

Here’s my musing for this week–

laptop books 2Have your reading habits changed since you began blogging about books?

I started my blog on a total whim about ten months ago, and I really didn’t have too many expectations other than wanting to share my views about books and literacy (and the occasional side trip into random memes!) with anyone who might care to read them. What I didn’t expect was the effect my blog would have on my reading life! Here are the main changes that have occurred since blogging about books became a part of my everyday routine:

 I’ve become much more conscious of WHY I like or dislike a particular book. I’ve always had strong opinions about the kinds of books I like, but it’s a whole different ballgame when you need to articulate WHY you like or dislike a particular book! Since I’ve started blogging about books I’ve become much more thoughtful about what I’m reading while I’m reading it. I’m also a bit more contemplative about a book after I finish it—I’m deciding if I want to post about it, and, if so, what I’ll say. I know that when I read posts about books I want to know more than a simple “Loved it!’ or “Hated it!”—so I try to back up my opinions with some meaningful comments when I do choose to write a post about a book I’ve read.

 

I’m more systematic now that I’ve joined Goodreads. I can’t believe I waited so long to become active on Goodreads. I’d opened an account a couple of years ago, but I never really used it. Once I started book blogging, it became very apparent that I needed a better way to keep track of what I wanted to read as well as what I’ve read. Plus, at the end of the year so many book bloggers were posting these great lists of what they’d read over the past year, and I knew that there was no way I’d ever be able to join in without a concrete way to keep track of my reading life. Now I can’t imagine not having a Goodreads account. And—I’ve even been lucky enough to win some free books!

My TBR list has exploded! I thought I was pretty tuned in to the book world before I started blogging, but I had absolutely NO IDEA how many great recommendations I would get once I began posting about books and actively reading other book blogs. And this brings us to . . .

Branching out into other genres, authors and topics. My TBR list has not only exploded, but it has expanded into areas that I probably wouldn’t have been eager to explore before I started posting about books. I’ve always read pretty widely, but I’m digging into even more genres now—I’ve started reading more YA, I’ve read my first graphic novel (with plans to read more!) and I’ve been introduced to some new authors that I’m certain I wouldn’t have discovered on my own.

How about you? Has blogging about books changed anything about your own reading habits? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

24 thoughts on “Musing Mondays–Have Your Reading Habits Changed?

  1. I have really started using Goodreads too – more like it is made for – although I don’t record my thoughts as I’m reading. I really just use it as a record of my reading and TBR, and of course for all of those amazing lists! More books! 🙂

    I have also noticed that since starting my blog I am branching out in my reading. In fact, that will be a topic I discuss next week on G1000W!

    • It sounds like we use Goodreads in similar ways–I don’t write reviews on Goodreads but I do give a star ranking to everything I read–and it’s a MUCH more efficient way to keep up with my TBR list! I used to have lists of books on little scraps of paper all over the place–now everything is in one spot!

  2. TBR list exploding is so true ! You warned me about it though 😀 But I started the blog after I decided to diversify my reading so that hasn’t exactly changed. I haven’t yet got the hang of Goodreads fully though – need some more time !

    • HA–Yes, I did warn you!
      I know I don’t take advantage of all of the Goodreads bells and whistles, but I’m just thrilled to have a place to keep track of what I’ve read and my TBRs in one spot!

  3. Book blogging has absolutely had an influence on how and what I read. Your blogging story sound so similar to mine, I basically started to talk about books and hopefully find a few people who wanted to discuss them with me.
    I had no idea my TBR list would become a bottomless well of awesomeness or that I would start becoming more particular about the books I choose to read. Blogging had absolutely taught me more about myself as a reader (what I value in a book and what I could live without). But the book blogging culture has also heightened my respect for authors and fellow readers.
    Overall it has been a really wonderful experience!

    • Can I just say–I LOVE the phrase “bottomless well of awesomeness”!!
      I completely agree–I’ve “met” so many book bloggers whose opinions I’ve come to value and respect–it’s a perk I never even thought of when I started blogging, but it’s definitely one of the best benefits!

  4. I’m a lot more picky when it comes to my favourites. I take books off my favourite shelf all the time now. And my TBR pile is also huge at the moment. I wish I has more time!

  5. I have the same experience with Goodreads- I didn’t use it much until I started blogging. And my TBR has also exploded! Also, I started reading more YA books since I began blogging. Before, I read mostly middle grade and adult books. Only a smattering of YA. And most of the ARCs on my ARC shelf are also adult books. Some day I’ll start focusing on reading mostly YA, after I’ve finished these ARCs. (That may take several years. I have over 50 to finish.)
    Here’s my musing: http://www.awesomebookassessment.com/2014/06/musing-mondays-18-separationdivorce.html

    • WOW–that’s a lot of ARCs! I don’t receive many of those unless I win one in a Goodreads giveaway since I don’t write formal reviews here–I don’t want the pressure of having to read specific books by a certain time. But when I do receive them, it’s definitely fun to get a sneak peek at what’s coming!

  6. A brilliant post! Despite having written reviews for quite a while I feel that those I write for my blog are more personal and so I think even more about what’s good and what doesn’t work for me. I’ve also found a mountain of books I’d love to read that I know I’d never have discovered before – I mainly used the Amazon recommendations from my reviews but this meant that you get bogged down in one or two genres. Some great bloggers have recommended books to me based on comments I’ve made and to date these have been spot on, but I wouldn’t have picked them up without the explanation on why I’d enjoy them.
    I do love looking at my Goodreads account too, seeing what books I’ve added to my TBR gets a bit scary though 😉

    • Thank you! That’s the part I’ve enjoyed most about blogging–the interaction that results in great book recommendations in areas or by authors that I never would have discovered otherwise!

  7. I don’t really review books on my blog, I kind of ramble about them a little bit to keep track of what I’ve read.

  8. I am much the same since I began my blog. I’m more conscious of what I like and don’t like in a book and I take notes! Now, I have a small notebook with me whenever I’m reading and when I really like/dislike something, I jot it down so I can mention it in a review if I do one. Also, I can definitely say my TBR pile exploded as well!

    • I sometimes do the same thing, except instead of taking notes I’ll jot down page numbers that have a quote I especially like that I may want to mention in a post.
      Lots of exploding TBR piles around here! 🙂

  9. The big change is my TBR pile. Netgalley and Edelweiss are both part of my downfall. I am trying to scale back because I am not getting to other books I would love to read. My Post at Mixed Book Bag

    • That’s one of the reason why I don’t usually request ARCs–I don’t want the pressure of needing to read and review them at the expense of other books I want to read.

  10. Since I started blogging my to-read list on Goodreads has grown to over 100 books. I get to read about so many great books, and people are always recommending even more. So I’m spending way more money on books but I do not care in the slightest 🙂

  11. Loved your post! 🙂 And I am with you on the exploding TBR :/

  12. Yes to Goodreads (though more the past couple months especially, as I’ve now added so many shelves), the exploding TBR, and branching out. I don’t know that I’ve gotten all that much better at figuring out exactly what I like/dislike about books because sometimes it’s still so difficult to pinpoint exactly what made me rate the book one rating over another. I’m also going to a LOT more bookish events. Before blogging I didn’t really keep up with author appearances, book festivals, etc.

    Great post!

  13. Pingback: Sunday Post #8 | Girl of 1000 Wonders

Leave a Reply

