Musings From A Bookmammal

Musing Mondays–Why We Still Love “REAL BOOKS”

43 Comments

Click here to play along!

Click here to play along!

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB that asks you to muse about one of several “bookish” questions… or, you can just ramble on about anything you like that pertains to books! You can join in by clicking the graphic above. Go ahead–it’s fun!

Here’s my Musing Monday ramble for this week:

If you’ve read my blog for any length of time, you know that although I do own and use a kindle, my first love is still for “real” books. I found the following infographic on Pinterest the other day and thought it offered some interesting responses to the question “Why do some people still prefer physical books over ebooks?” You can click on the image to find the original source.

5.4.14

I’m definitely in the FEELING, SHARING, SEEING, and COLLECTING camps, and most of the other choices aren’t too far behind. However, I have to admit that I’ve never really been a person who is addicted to the smell of books, so that response is the only one that doesn’t fit me at all.

How about you? If you’re a “real book” lover, which of the responses would you choose? If you’re heavily into ebooks, do any of the reasons listed above still resonate with you—even just a little bit? Please share!

 

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

43 thoughts on “Musing Mondays–Why We Still Love “REAL BOOKS”

  1. Very nice share BMM! 🙂
    I am in the FEELING, SHARING, SEEING, GIVING, SHOPPING, SMELLING camps. 🙂
    BTW I am sharing this infographic too 🙂

  2. Great post. I love physical books for that undefinable ‘feeling’ but most of all I love to share my books and having friends browse my bookshelves.

  3. im not one for marking up books, in general; but yes to the physicality, the smell, the aura of books..

    I think im a frustrated librarian, frankly. I see someone else’s books lying about and I want to put them in order! In fact i did that once, for friend whose huge book collection had gotten hopelessly muddled. Took me two weeks but I had a wonderful time, tracking down what goes where, and discovering old friends of my own buried in the stacks.

    Theres a connect that goes on when you see books you’ve read also sitting on someone else’s book shelves.

    I simply cannot see taking a Kindle into the bathtub with me, or to the beach.

    I love to see other people in ‘eat and read ‘ mode in a restaurant. Sometimes we wave our books at one another.

    And the pleasure of rereading beloved books, especially series books. There is always something there I missed the last time I read them.

    • “There’s a connect that goes on when you see books you’ve read also sitting on someone else’s book shelves.”–YES!!! I love it when I find a common book with someone–it’s like making an instant friend!

  4. Pingback: Why do you love it? | dreamzandclouds

  5. I’m definitely a collector. I like seeing my bookshelf full!

  6. Its Feeling, Sharing and Collecting for me ! The description for “Posing” is quite hilarious 🙂

    • I don’t really care if people see what I’m reading, but I do love to peek at what others are reading–and you just can’t do that when they’re reading an eBook!

  7. I love this! I must admit, prior to getting my Kindle, I was adamant that I would hate e-readers. Now, I love them. It’s just so easy and can hold so many books and it’s really lightweight…

    HOWEVER, I do still buy “proper” books too. They have some indescribable pull over me! I love the feel of a book. I admit it, I’m a book sniffer…

  8. I was wishing for an ebook last night when I kept dropping my heavy hardback when trying to read in bed! My favorite is a nice small worn paperback with a broken spine!

  9. Great post! And I love the infographic as well. I am more of a physical book kind of girl. I love seeing my books stacked up and scattered all over my house just waiting for me to pick one up and dive in.

  10. I love the physicality. Everything except the smell, really. Maybe because I buy lots of used books so there’s often a faint whiff of mildew? I also don’t own a dedicated e-reader (though as I get into self-publishing, I’m going to have to get one), and I find reading on screens really hurts my eyes after a while. I spend enough time on the computer, I don’t want to read on it as well! And my little tablet I bought when I was travelling last year was not an adequate substitution.

    One other thing about books for me, which is related to but not covered in the infographic: I buy books as souvenirs of places I go. I always look for bookstores, especially used ones, and get something — local, old, something I’ve been looking for for years, something random and new, whatever — as my souvenir for myself. I can’t see how that would work with ebooks at all. It doesn’t even work when I buy things over the internet. (Much as I like! I just got a book in the mail today, and that’s such a treat.) I look at my shelves and think: that’s the book I bought when I was in Toronto defending my thesis, that’s the book I bought at that bookstore-cum-restaurant-cum-winery in Australia (an introductory guide to Assyrian, because of course I lugged that home from Australia with me), that’s the book I got hanging out with friends on that visit … You can tell I’m not a minimalist!

    Also, a third one related to seeing, I guess: I like how they look as aesthetic features of my place. Shelves full of multi-coloured books, of all different sizes, all different authors, all different sorts … it’s both design and (I admit) a bit show-offy. But I find it homely, too.

    • That’s one of the reasons why it’s hard for me to weed out my bookshelves–so many books have memories attached to them about where I was when I read it, or where I bought it, or who gave it to me and why . . .
      And–I fully agree about the aesthetics of books–to me, nothing decorates a wall more beautifully than shelves full of books that have meaning to their owner.

  11. From Feeling to Shopping, that’s me to a T. I do love my Kindle for the resourcefulness and ease of reading it provides, but I will never give up “real” books. I love having a physical copy of a book I enjoyed – I want to be able to make notes in it, re-read, share it, reference it, re-read it some more, and re-read it again!

    • I completely agree–I actually use my kindle more than I ever thought I would, but I still probably only do about 20% of my reading via eBook. Nothing will ever totally replace a physical book for me! (I’m a big re-reader, too!)

  12. Oooh, such a lovely graphic!

    Let’s see where I fall…

    Feeling, definitely.
    Learning, not really.
    Sharing, yes – though I don’t lend out my books to too many people.
    Seeing, absolutely.
    Re-Selling, eh… I don’t do too much of that.
    Collecting, YES!
    Giving, not really but I want to change that.
    Shopping, oh, absolutely, positively, yes!
    Smelling, I flip back and forth on this one…
    Posing, again not really because while I would like to talk about the books I’m reading with other people, most of the time it happens at a really inopportune time!

    Yep, love my physical books! If I could, I would hug them, but there are too many for that…

    • I think it’s usually hard to select books to give to other people as gifts. . . wait, that gives me an idea for a future post! 🙂

      • It really is. I’m always worried whether or not they’ll read it, if they’ll like it, and if they have it or not. So difficult!

        Yay for future post idea!

  13. Yup. I love real books as well. I do have an e-reader, but it’s not my preferred way of getting my reading fix 🙂

    http://carabosseslibrary.blogspot.com/2014/05/musing-mondays.html

  14. Really, the only reason I miss physical books is the sharing aspect. Otherwise, I’m so glad I made the transition to my Nook.

  15. The feeling, maybe, sometimes. Depends on the book. The reselling, yes, definitely. Seeing is only for the really expensive books, which I admire, but do not have (cheap mass market paperbacks!).

  16. I love the feel of actual books and the smell 😉 I also love the way it looks on my shelves. I loooove collecting books!! Browsing bookstores is one of my favourite pastimes. It’s not the same looking online! I, however, rarely lend books or resell do those points don’t matter to me. I miss out on all of this when I use my e-reader.

    • There’s just not much that’s better than spending some time in a bookstore–not looking for anything special, just waiting to come upon a book that you just have to have! I do shop online a lot, but I still take myself to an actual bookstore as a treat once in awhile!

  17. I’d be in the share, collect, and feel camps for real books, but I do like the kindle for convenience, too. Thanks for the nice welcome! I’m glad we found Musing Mondays. 🙂 ~Jax

  18. Oh I love the feeling, seeing and smelling aspect of a real book. I prefer them over Ebooks any day!! ~ Dani

  19. I just like the feel of a physical book and of course being able to display them makes me happy too 🙂 I also like the smell of books actually, it smells of recycled paper and it just hits home for me, in a weird way. Heh. E-books come in handy when I want to read when I’m out, but it gives me a headache sometimes, when I stare at the screen for too long.

    • I love the way books look on bookshelves–and I love it when I go to someone’s house for the first time and see a big bookcase filled with books! Then of course I go over and check out the titles . . . you can tell a lot about a person by what’s in their bookcase! 🙂

  20. Pingback: Sunday Post #4 | Girl of 1000 Wonders

Leave a Reply

