Musings From A Bookmammal

Z is for ZEALOUS Book Bloggers–The April A-Z Challenge/Day 26

14 Comments

ZWelcome to Day #26 of the April A to Z Challenge, where participants are challenged to create a post every day (except Sundays) corresponding to the appropriate letter of the alphabet. **TODAY MARKS THE LAST DAY OF THE CHALLENGE–WE MADE IT!**

I decided to post about bookish topics each day of the challenge. Here’s my last A-Z post!

Today is the final day of the April A-Z Challenge! My goal was to post about bookish topics for all 26 days, and it’s hard to believe that the month is over! I’m feeling a combination of relief that it’s finished (around letter “O” I thought that the alphabet was never going to end!), and excitement that I actually made it through all 26 posts.

My blog is only about 8 months old, and I hadn’t participated in any blogging challenges before this one. Joining this challenge really encouraged me to stretch my creative muscles (some letters definitely took a lot more work than others!) but the best part for me was “meeting” so many other great book bloggers who are so ZEALOUS about their love of books and reading! It was so much fun to see what different bloggers chose as word prompts for each letter–sometimes I found bloggers who’d chosen the same topics as I did, and other times my reaction was “How on earth did they think of that–and why didn’t I think of that???”

There are so many different types of book blogs and book bloggers, but the one thing we all share is our passion for books and reading–and that definitely came through this month! We don’t always enjoy the same books, authors, or genres, but we all share our zeal for the printed word—whether we prefer to find it in physical books or on digital devices, the important thing is that we’re all READING!

I’ve discovered so many wonderful blogs over the past month that I’ll continue to follow, and my TBR list has exploded! I’ve also been very fortunate to have gained a lot of new followers and commenters who have added so much to the discussions on this blog.

So now I’m planning on taking a day or two off–then I’ll be back to posting about bookish topics during the week, and also getting back to regularly participating in the non-bookish weekend memes that I enjoy. If you were participating in the challenge, I hope you had as much fun as I did!

How about you? Were you participating in the April A-Z Challenge? Have you participated in other monthly challenges? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

14 thoughts on “Z is for ZEALOUS Book Bloggers–The April A-Z Challenge/Day 26

  1. As a faithful reader, it certainly didn’t seem as though any letters were difficult for you! Entertaining and insightful posts. And more books added to my TBR. Congratulations on completing your first blog challenge! 🙂

    • Thank you! It was a lot of fun, but I’m definitely going to be taking a couple of weekdays off now that it’s over! I’m glad you enjoyed my posts, and I always enjoy your comments!

  2. I loved your posts throughout the challenge….well done! 🙂

  3. Great post today! I agree-it’s been an amazing ride this month! I met some lovely new bloggers, and have started building friendships with them 🙂 Enjoy your break-can’t wait to keep following your blog!

  4. Congrats on completing the challenge and that too successfully if I may add 🙂
    I couldn’t join this year but I am looking forward to April 2015 !

  5. oh I know! It took me a while to figure out what I wanted my blog to look like.

  6. It is so fun finding others passionate about the same thing you are–even if they come at it a different way– I love that about book blogging. I follow all kinds and am always amazed at the things everyone comes up with 🙂

    ~Anna
    herding cats & burning soup.

    • So true–it’s my favorite part of book blogging, and it was part of what made the A-Z Challenge so much fun. I loved reading everyone’s take on the different letters each day, especially when the same word was chosen by different bloggers.

  7. I am glad you made it through the challenge. I would have never known that you were new to blogging.

    http://smidgensbitsandsnippets.blogspot.com/

  8. Well done for completing the challenge and finding lots of new blogs. I agree that it’s really interesting to find people who have chosen similar topics to yourself to see how they’ve done things differently (or the same) as you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

