Musings From A Bookmammal

W is for WAITING ON . . . The April A-Z Challenge/Day 23

14 Comments

WWelcome to Day #23 of the April A to Z Challenge, where participants are challenged to create a post every day (except Sundays) corresponding to the appropriate letter of the alphabet. If you’d like to learn more, hit the badge on my sidebar.

I’ll be posting about bookish topics each day of the challenge. Here’s today’s post on books that I’m anxiously waiting on:

Some people count down the days until a movie comes out, or until concert tickets go on sale. . . I count down the days until books will be released! Here are five titles that I’m anxiously waiting on:

182107931859463318525774

1808180918816603

May 27: The Tastemakers: Why We’re Crazy for Cupcakes but Fed Up with Fondue by David Sax–I love reading about food and cooking and how the way we cook and eat reflects culture. I can’t wait to dig into this book!

June 3: Summer House With Swimming Pool by Herman Koch–The Dinner was one of the most thought-provoking novels I read last year. I didn’t like any of the characters in it, yet I still find myself thinking about it months later. I’m eager to see what Koch has in store for us with this new title.

June 17: Nantucket Sisters by Nancy Thayer–Nancy Thayer is one of my automatic authors—everytime she publishes a new book I’ll read it. I’ve got to admit that I enjoyed her earlier books a lot more than her more recent titles, but I can still count on her for a good summer beach read. Just looking at the cover of this one puts me in a summer mood!

July 8: Landline by Rainbow Rowell–Eleanor & Park got me hooked back into reading YA, and I also really enjoyed Fangirl. Landline is her latest adult novel. I really can’t wait!

October 14: Leaving Time by Jodi Picoult–I’m a huge Jodi Picoult fan, but her last couple of books have been disappointments for me. I’m really hoping that I love this one-I need a good Jodi Picoult fix!

How about you? What books are you waiting on? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

14 thoughts on “W is for WAITING ON . . . The April A-Z Challenge/Day 23

  1. I think landline is for Rowell is available as an ebook on goodreads? (I went to go add that to my account cuz, duh, is Rowell, and it showed you could read it there? Unless, goodreads is messing with me). Anxiously awaiting Lair of dreams by libba bray.

  2. So many good books coming out soon! I need to read Rainbow Rowell’s other adult novel, Attachments, I love the premise.

    • I haven’t read Attachments yet, either, but I’m planning to do so. There ARE a lot of great-sounding books coming out in the next few months–I could have featured a lot more than 5!

  3. I’m with you on the Herman Koch which has lingered in my mind too… I wonder if this years will be as good?

  4. Yes yes yes to The Tastemakers! I can’t wait for this one to come out too! (But the only bad thing about reading food and cooking books is that I get really hungry while I read them, haha…)

  5. I am not waiting on of these! LOL I would really like Midnight Crossroad by Charlaine Harris, Fairs’ Point by Melissa Scott and Cyador’s Heirs by L E Modesitt.

  6. Great post! This actually reminded me that I want to read The Dinner.

    Also, I just read Fangirl so I’m thinking of reading Attachments next to try the other side of the Rainbow coin, so to speak.

  7. I love Jodi Picoult as well! I liked 19 minutes– couldn’t put it down.

Leave a Reply

