Musings From A Bookmammal

S is for SHORT STORIES–The April A-Z Challenge/Day 19

6 Comments

SWelcome to Day #19 of the April A to Z Challenge, where participants are challenged to create a post every day (except Sundays) corresponding to the appropriate letter of the alphabet. If you’d like to learn more, hit the badge on my sidebar.

I’ll be posting about bookish topics each day of the challenge. Here’s today’s post:

Short stories are great for little pockets of reading time. I don’t read them all that often, but sometimes I like to immerse myself in a bunch of shorter works by a particular author. Here are some of my favorite classic authors of this genre:

roald dahlRoald Dahl—Dahl is well loved for his children’s books, but he’s also the author of some of the most deliciously creepy short stories for adults that I’ve ever read. I believe his story “Lamb To The Slaughter” was made into a Twilight Zone episode (or a similar show) long ago. A couple of my favorites are “Taste” and “Dip In The Pool.”’

shirley jacksonShirley Jackson—“The Lottery” is a staple of high school English classes, but Shirley Jackson wrote dozens of lesser known short stories. She was a master at ending her stories with a punch that you never see coming. Many of her stories are in the paranormal genre, which usually isn’t to my taste, but she manages to write them in such a way that I stick with her. She also dips into horror, fantasy, suspense, and humor. What a talented lady she was! I especially like “Indians Live In Tents” (laugh-out-loud funny!) and “The Possibility Of Evil” (chilling!).

dorothy parkerDorothy Parker—I love Dorothy Parker. She’s the type of woman I’d love to be sitting next to at a party and talk with her about what we really think about the other guests. However, I wouldn’t want to get on her bad side! Her short stories range from funny to biting to satire to ironic to heartbreaking. I’ve probably read some of them ten times or more over the years. Some favorites include ”New York To Detroit” and “The Game”.

snows kilimanjaroErnest Hemingway—I was introduced to Hemingway in high school when I had to read “The Sun Also Rises” for an English class. That book started me on a Hemingway obsession that lasted for years. I love the way he completely takes control of the language in his writings, and that talent is so evident in his short stories. I haven’t read any of them in quite awhile, but I may need to revisit a few soon. I can still remember the impact that “The Snows of Kilimanjaro” had on me when I read it for the first time. I also loved the Nick Adams stories.

How about you? Are you a short story fan? Who are some of your favorite short story authors? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

6 thoughts on “S is for SHORT STORIES–The April A-Z Challenge/Day 19

  1. I didn’t know Roald Dahl had written any adult stories.

  2. I enjoy Stephen King short stories/novellas, like the basis of Shawshank Redemption and Stand By Me.

  3. I don’t have a favorite short story author, but O. Henry was the one who got me to appreciate the beauty of them.
    The View from the Top of the Ladder

Leave a Reply

