Musings From A Bookmammal

Q is for QUOTES About Books And Reading–The April A-Z Challenge/Day 17

12 Comments

QWelcome to Day #17 of the April A to Z Challenge, where participants are challenged to create a post every day (except Sundays) corresponding to the appropriate letter of the alphabet. If you’d like to learn more, hit the badge on my sidebar.

I’ll be posting about bookish topics each day of the challenge. Today I’m sharing ten of my favorite quotes about books and reading–with a bonus (!) of also including some of my favorite pieces of artwork featuring people and their books.

 

“If you only read the books that everyone else is reading, you can only think what everyone else is thinking.” Haruki Murakami

credit Karin Jurek

credit Karin Jurek

 “We shouldn’t teach great books—we should teach a love of reading.” B.F. Skinner

credit Carol Marine

credit Carol Marine

“Part of the beauty of all literature is that you discover your longings are universal longings, that you’re not lonely or isolated from anyone. You belong!” F. Scott Fitzgerald

credit John Singer Sargent

credit John Singer Sargent

“Reading is a discount ticket to everywhere.” Mary Schmich

credit David Hettinger

credit David Hettinger

“I would be most content if my children grew up to be the kind of people who think decorating consists mostly of building enough bookshelves.” Anna Quindlen

credit Michele Del Campo

credit Michele Del Campo

“To read without reflecting is like eating without digesting.” Edmund Burke

credit John Lidzey

credit John Lidzey

“What really knocks me out is a book that, when you’re all done reading it, you wish the author that wrote it was a terrific friend of yours and you could call him up on the phone whenever you felt like it.” J.D. Salinger, The Catcher in the Rye

credit Monica Castanys

credit Monica Castanys

“Any book that helps a child to form a habit of reading, to make reading one of his deepest and continuing needs, is good for him.” Maya Angelou

credit Jon Anderson

credit Jon Anderson

“One of the best things about reading is that you’ll always have something to think about when you’re not reading.” James Patterson

credit Andre Kohn

credit Andre Kohn

“There is no such thing as a child who hates to read; there are only children who have not yet found the right book.” Frank Serafini

credit Molly Poole

credit Molly Poole

How about you? What are your favorite quotes about books and reading? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

12 thoughts on “Q is for QUOTES About Books And Reading–The April A-Z Challenge/Day 17

  1. What fantastic and fun quotes!!!

  2. Great quotes! Love this one: “What really knocks me out is a book that, when you’re all done reading it, you wish the author that wrote it was a terrific friend of yours and you could call him up on the phone whenever you felt like it.”

  3. I love this post. It made me happy. Book quotes- purr purr. (Yes, I just turned into a kitty. That’s a whole new level of pleasure right there. LOL.)

    Stopping by from the #atozchallenge !
    @JLenniDorner

  4. Love your reading quotes. I’m doing quites, too, this year–quirky ones for every letter of the alphabet. My R quotes are on Reality. Please visit. http://www.widowsphere.blogspot.com

  5. Among all, this is my favourite 🙂

    “Part of the beauty of all literature is that you discover your longings are universal longings, that you’re not lonely or isolated from anyone. You belong!” F. Scott Fitzgerald

  6. lovely quotes…..I loved each one of them 🙂

  7. One quote I really like is by Dr. Seuss: “You’re never too old, too wacky, too wild, to pick up a book and read to a child.” Reading to children is the best way to get them interested in books, and once they’re hooked, they’re set for life.

Leave a Reply

