Musings From A Bookmammal

P is for PERIODICALS–The April A-Z Challenge/Day 16

2 Comments

PWelcome to Day #16 of the April A to Z Challenge, where participants are challenged to create a post every day (except Sundays) corresponding to the appropriate letter of the alphabet. If you’d like to learn more, hit the badge on my sidebar.

I’ll be posting about bookish topics each day of the challenge. Here’s today’s post:

 

Does anyone besides me subscribe to actual printed copies of periodicals/magazines anymore? I’ve just never been able to get the hang of reading them online—somehow it just feels like a completely different experience to me. I like flipping the actual pages, I like the feel of the paper, I like the glossy photos. My fondness for magazines started when I was a kid–I can still remember my excitement when my very own copy of Ranger Rick magazine would arrive in the mail!

Here are the magazines that are showing up in my mailbox these days:

smithsonianThe thing I love most about Smithsonian is that the issues never go out of date. You can pick up a copy from over a year ago and still find articles of interest. History, science, biography, medicine, nature. . . it’s all here! Plus, the photos are awesome. This is the magazine that I keep in my car in case I have an unexpected wait somewhere. (OK–who am I kidding? I also have at least one book in my purse at all times . . .)

cooks illustratedI love, love, love everything about Cook’s Illustrated. The wonderful illustrations, the no-nonsense directions, the way the editors will make 58 different versions of a dish before letting you in on what they’ve learned, the fact that there are NO ADS, the way the articles answer questions about food and cooking that I didn’t even know I had, the pictures of food on the back covers (I even have some of these framed in my kitchen), the recipes themselves. . . I even love the paper stock.

vanity fairVanity Fair combines celebrity gossip with deep dives into current events and pop culture. It regularly includes pre-publication book excerpts of nonfiction titles that intrigue me enough to either buy the book or at least borrow it from the library. It’s always kind of a project to read this magazine because it’s usually huge (although there are often tons of pages of fashion ads at the beginning featuring clothes that no real person would ever wear!) and packed with interesting articles.

horn bookThe Horn Book is my go-to source for in-depth reviews and articles on books/authors for kids and young adults. I just re-subscribed after taking some time away, and I’d forgotten how much I enjoy it. I only wish it was a monthly publication instead of bi-monthly!

 

timeTime is my weekly news fix. ‘Nuff said.

 

 

 

How about you? Do you subscribe to any magazines? Do you read magazines online? Which ones do you like? Please share!

 

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

2 thoughts on “P is for PERIODICALS–The April A-Z Challenge/Day 16

  1. The only magazine that I get a digital copy of is O, the Oprah magazine–she has video messages and other enhanced features (so I guess I get two subscriptions because I get the print copy as a yearly gift from my sister). Other than that, I like print copies of magazines, too!

Leave a Reply

