Musings From A Bookmammal

J is for JUNK FOOD FOR THE BRAIN–The April A-Z Challenge/Day 10

10 Comments

JWelcome to Day #10 of the April A to Z Challenge, where participants are challenged to create a post every day (except Sundays) corresponding to the appropriate letter of the alphabet. If you’d like to learn more, hit the badge on my sidebar.

I’ll be posting about bookish topics each day of the challenge. Here’s today’s post:

I read a lot of different types of books for a lot of different reasons—for pleasure, to escape, to learn, and to connect with others, to list just a few. But sometimes all I want to do is to give my brain a break. When I’m in that kind of mood, I crave books that fit into what I call the “junk food” category.

It’s similar to my feelings about food and cooking. I usually enjoy preparing and eating meals that are wonderfully delicious, nutritious, and that look pretty on the plate. But every once in awhile I get a huge craving for a big, greasy cheeseburger!

Junk food books are the ones that aren’t going to make me think too hard. I’m probably not going to be announcing to anyone that I’m reading them. They probably aren’t going to show up on too many “Best of . . .” lists. I’m most likely not going to remember much about them after I finish the last page. And I’ve come to the realization that all of that is completely OK!

How about you? Do you ever crave “junk food books”?  Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

10 thoughts on “J is for JUNK FOOD FOR THE BRAIN–The April A-Z Challenge/Day 10

  1. My guilty pleasure ….aka ‘junk food books’ are nonsense rhymes and tonguetwisters. I love the challenge of reading them out loud – whilst trying not to laugh. I always feel like my brain has been de-junked afterwards and am then ready for a good story 🙂

  2. I’m going to borrow this prompt for a Ten Things Tuesday post. My favorite “junk food books/authors.”

  3. If I’ve been reading really serious books then I definitely crave “junk food” books. They’re often good books to get me out of a reading slump too!

  4. My “junk food” books are those that are humorous. Sometimes there’s nothing like just plain silliness to make the brain feel better.

  5. My “junk food” books are the popular books everyone is reading: Hunger Games, Divergent, etc. I love Young Adult books in general, but those “popular” books are usually a pretty relaxing read and enjoyable as well. It’s also just good to have an idea what all the buzz is about!

    My theme is Harry Potter for the A to Z challenge, and while I wouldn’t call it “junk food”, the books are refreshing to read after a string of nonfiction or reading classics.

    Michelle @ In Media Res

Leave a Reply

