Musings From A Bookmammal

H is for Reading HABITAT–The April A-Z Challenge/Day 8

11 Comments

HWelcome to Day #8 of the April A to Z Challenge, where participants are challenged to create a post every day (except Sundays) corresponding to the appropriate letter of the alphabet. If you’d like to learn more, hit the badge on my sidebar.

I’ll be posting about bookish topics each day of the challenge. Here’s today’s post about my favorite reading spot:

I’ll read just about anywhere, but I do have a favorite reading spot in my home. I have a loft on the second floor where I have my desk and a set of beautiful, tall bookcases–and it’s my very favorite place to relax with a book.

Here are the things in this room that make it my favorite reading habitat:

 1. My most comfortable chair. In the corner of my loft is a big blue overstuffed armchair with a matching ottoman. It was one of the first pieces of furniture I purchased when I moved into my house nearly 15 years ago. When I bought it, the saleswoman called it a “Hug Me Chair” and it’s the perfect name—the back curves forward slightly at the sides and when I settle into it I almost feel enveloped, but not in a trapped way—it’s all good! I love reading in this chair—the only bad thing is that it’s very easy to drift off into a nap there, too!

2. Good floor lamp. This sits in the corner just behind me. Reading in low light is not relaxing!

3. Throw. Or I guess some people would call it a light blanket. I often feel chilly, even in the summer, and I usually want a light throw covering at least my legs. In the winter, I’m bundled up all the way to my chin!

4. Pets. I have two cats.  When I’m in the “Hug Me” chair, Miss Maggie usually comes running and gets comfortable on my lap. Dickens is usually curled up on the ottoman, or sitting in the window, which brings us to . . .

5. Window. I have a very large double window to the side of my chair that looks out on the backyards and a sidestreet of my neighborhood. When it’s open I usually get a really nice, light breeze. I especially like to read by this window when it’s raining or snowing really hard. The window sills are low and just the right size for a cat (or two) to lounge.

6. Snacks. No reading session is complete without a snack and/or beverage handy. Something chocolate is best!

7. Tissues. For possible colds, allergies, or an especially sad chapter. No one wants to have to get up in the middle of a good book to find a tissue!

8. Notepad and pen. No matter how good my book is, sometimes my mind does wander to other things. If I can jot those things down, then I can get right back to my book. I am a multi-tasker at heart, I guess!

9. Very quiet music. Nothing distracting, but I do sometimes listen to some very soft music while I read.

10. Another book! If I’m getting close to the end of what I’m reading, I like to have a new book nearby just in case I’m not quite ready to quit reading. It’s best to be prepared!

How about you? What’s found in your favorite reading habitat? Please share!

 

 

 

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

11 thoughts on “H is for Reading HABITAT–The April A-Z Challenge/Day 8

  1. I seriously read anywhere. The car, at work, at school whatever haha. I wish I had a specific reading spot though. It would make things so much better!

  2. It sounds lovely. I prefer to read outside in the garden (unless it’s raining) because a) it’s generally warmer than inside b) I can see the sea – which relaxes me, and c) because indoors my dogs always want to sit on my lap, which makes reading difficult! Leaving home without a book in tow is just plain crazy – I mean., doesn’t everyone? 🙂

    • I do like to read outside but unfortunately I get really distracted when I do so–I’m much more aware of sounds, things moving around me, etc.
      I’ve also been challenged by trying to read while holding a pet–one of my cats makes a bee-line for my lap whenever she sees me with a book. I’ve learned to adapt . . . 🙂

  3. Your reading spot sounds heavenly. I do most of my reading before I fall asleep, right in bed.

  4. I read in my bed in the sleeping position. The pillow should be a lil’ high…..and that’s all I need to enjoy a book! 🙂

  5. Your house sounds so cozy. Haha. My favourite place to read would be in the living room sofa, there’s good lighting there and I have a couple of large soft toys nearby to cuddle while I read 🙂 I’m still a student, living with my parents, so I couldn’t “create” a secret hideout for myself while I read, but I’d love to have one in my future home someday!

Leave a Reply

