Musings From A Bookmammal

E is for EBOOKS–The April A to Z Challenge/Day 5

19 Comments

EWelcome to Day #5 of the April A to Z Challenge, where participants are challenged to create a post every day (except Sundays) corresponding to the appropriate letter of the alphabet. If you’d like to learn more, hit the badge on my sidebar.

I’ll be posting about bookish topics each day of the challenge. Here’s today’s post:

 

 

kindle with booksI came really late to the eBook party. I resisted buying a kindle because I’ve always loved the sight of the books on my many bookshelves and the feel of a book in my hands. The sight of my books is comforting to me, and they truly help to make my house my home.

I finally bought a kindle because I liked the idea of being able to borrow library books (and, more importantly, return them on time!) without leaving the house, and I thought it might be handy to be able to buy a book immediately if I ever just had to start reading something RIGHT NOW.

So I’m now a kindle person, and I do read via my kindle pretty regularly–and I don’t hate it. I love being able to have many reading choices at my fingertips when I’m away from home. I borrow quite a few eBooks from the library, but I’ve bought a few every year, too.

But here’s the thing–if I purchase an eBook for my kindle and really enjoy it, I don’t even think twice about it–I buy that same book “for real.” It doesn’t even feel like it’s a choice–if I made a connection with the book, I don’t really feel as though I OWN it until the physical book is sitting on one of my bookshelves.

What about you–do you feel the need to possess the physical version of a book you enjoyed digitally? Or is the eBook version sufficient for you? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

19 thoughts on “E is for EBOOKS–The April A to Z Challenge/Day 5

  1. I love eBooks, but they just aren’t the same as the physical copies. I buy the Kindle edition of certain books because I can’t find them in Mumbai. And if the book is really really amazing, I buy the physical copy. Order it from Amazon or somewhere else.

  2. I haven’t bought an e-reader yet. I am thinking about it, but honestly what stops me every time is how much money a kindle costs. I always think that I could just buy 5-6 real books instead! Lol! I don’t know… I can understand that it would come in handy, but I still love owning physical copies and I don’t want to just buy the physical copy and then read it as an e-book. I’m still confused…

    • I think all of that means that an ereader just isn’t right for you right now–and that’s OK! I don’t think it matters HOW you read, as long as you’re reading!

      • I also don’t think I’d really like to have an e-reader. The only thing that’s bothering me is access to NetGalley and Edelweiss. Those sites seem really great, but without an e-reader it’s quite hard to read e-books…

  3. I still haven’t brought an e-reader. However, it’s encouraging how often I hear of avid readers who own an e-reader but also love their print books. Maybe one day…. 🙂

    • Honestly, the only reason I bought mine is because of the ease of borrowing–and returning–ebooks from the library. The other perks have been a bonus, but if I had to give up my kindle for some reason I don’t think I’d miss it all that much. On the other hand, if I had to give up reading physical books for some reason and could only use an ereader, that would be a different story!

  4. I love my Kindle, as I read a lot while traveling, and it’s so much nicer to travel with an e-reader than a bunch of books! I’ve done a few different things though when it comes to owning the physical copy versus the e-book.

    For one, I have bought a physical copy of a number of books that I’ve read in Kindle – especially any books I might want to loan to others. For instance, we have loaned our copies of Game of Thrones to a lot of people, but have also read them on Kindle ourselves. Have to keep up buying them in paperback to loan out!

    However, I have also found that Kindle books are great for gifting – not having to worry about shipping or them arriving on time, you can set them up to be delivered right on time on a birthday or holiday. So I’ve gifted a number of Kindle books, ones that I own physically or bought on Kindle as well!

    And then there’s some that I’ve done the opposite with than you talk about – some of my favorite books I have bought on Kindle, to go with already owning them in a physical copy. I like the thought that I could have them with me wherever I go – so I can pull them up for a quote, or if I just want to pick them up and start reading them again.

    So in other words, I love my e-books, but they have by no means replaced books for me either! And thanks for pointing out we did the same topic for the A to Z Challenge – was fun to read your take on this too! http://dbcii.com/2014/04/05/e-e-book/

    • Now that I think about it, I’ve also put a few much-loved favorite books onto my kindle that are already on my bookshelves–because I’m a big re-reader and it’s always nice to have a book that I know I’ll love with me at all times. Hadn’t really realized that I’d done that before I read your comment!

  5. I love ebooks and print books, but I have such a tiny apartment that I rarely let a print book into my house anymore because I know I won’t ever want to get rid of it!

    Side note, I found your blog after your comment on my blog post about book covers. You asked about the difference between American covers and the same cover abroad – well stay tuned to my blog this Wednesday where I compare French and American covers! It’s like you read my mind 🙂

    Now off to check out the rest of the stuff on your blog…

    • Lack of space is definitely a factor–luckily I have enough room so I can still purchase physical books without worrying too much about where they will go.

      I’ll be sure to check your French/American book cover post later in the week!

  6. I, too, am not an e-reader as yet…..I am contemplating the thought to get a kindle or not but then every time I see a nicely arranged stack of books, I keep my decision pending. Lets see till when this goes on! 🙂

  7. I’ve been reading exclusively on my Nook for a couple of years now. Holding a physical book seems like such a chore when an ereader is so light.

    The big drawback for me is that I can’t pass on books I love to my friends and family. So when I rave about a book and someone asks to borrow it, I have to say no, essentially. 😦

  8. I’m more of a traditional paperback kind of person because I love the feel of an actual book, also because Kindle and e-books aren’t really a big thing in my country, so there aren’t such things as borrowing e-books and stuff like that. Maybe in the future though 🙂

Leave a Reply

