Musings From A Bookmammal

C is for COLLECTING–The April A to Z Challenge/Day 3

17 Comments

CWelcome to Day #3 of the April A to Z Challenge, where participants are challenged to create a post every day (except Sundays) corresponding to the appropriate letter of the alphabet. If you’d like to learn more, hit the badge on my sidebar.

I’ll be posting about bookish topics each day of the challenge. Here’s today’s post about COLLECTING books:

 

I own about 1,000 books in a lot of different genres covering a ton of different topics. But there’s really only one category of my books that I consider to be a true collection, and that’s my collection of alphabet books.

animaliaI’m not sure how I came up with the idea to start this collection, but I do remember the first ABC book I acquired as an adult. Animalia by Graeme Base is a gorgeous picture book that’s definitely not just for kids. The page spreads for each letter are exquisite, and the reader is challenged to find as many objects as possible in each picture that start with the corresponding letter. Every time I look at this book I see something new, and the illustrations are beautiful enough to frame and hang on your wall.

After I realized how much I loved Animalia, I started looking for more alphabet books—ones that went beyond the simple “A is for apple” format. They can be challenging to find, but I soon realized that there are some wonderfully inventive and beautiful ABC books out there!

I’ve been actively collecting alphabet books for about 25 years now, and I’ve accumulated about 60 of them—all of them living on one shelf on my favorite bookcase. My favorite is the ABC book given to my dad when he was a toddler—over 70 years ago!

How about you? Do you have any bookish collections? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

17 thoughts on “C is for COLLECTING–The April A to Z Challenge/Day 3

  1. I have seen some gorgeous ABC books and have even encouraged students to make their own about different topics when I was student teaching. I had an 11th grade class and they had so much fun with the assignment. I would love to take a peek through your collection of ABC books. 🙂

  2. I don’t think I collect a certain type of book. If I truly love a series, like Outlander by Diana Gabaldon, I tend to own that series in numerous formats. Hardcover, trade, softcover, ebook and audiobook. I don’t know why I do that? I love them all matching on my shelf I suppose.

    Cheers, Michelle
    http://anotherlookbookreviews.blogspot.ca/

  3. A collection of ABC books sound fascinating!

    Paula at /Smidgen,Snippets,&Bits

  4. Animalia will make a gorgeous gift for my soon-to-be-born great-nephew’s jungle themed bedroom! (phew, that’s a mouthful!)

  5. What a brilliant idea for a collection. The Animalia looks stunning!

  6. Your alphabet book collection looks wonderful.

    I am trying to collect the books by my favorite novelist, Tsuji Kunio. If only I had more room for books…

  7. I’ve been collecting books that my mother read aloud to me as a kid. Tolkein, Narnia, Little house on the Prarie. She had some GORGEOUS editions of The Secret Garden and The Princess and the Goblin and fairy tales. I WANT THEM ALL!!!

  8. you have got an awesome collection out there 🙂

  9. What a wonderful collection idea! I don’t have anything nearly as inventive, but I do hope to one day complete my Terry Pratchett Discworld and Neil Gaiman Sandman series.

  10. I’ve weeded out many books over the years due to lack of space and moving often, but the ones that remain are those about Paris, I guess because that’s where I live!

    • Weeding out books is a tough but necessary job from time to time–I think it’s interesting how different people make decisions about what to keep and what to remove–that could be another post someday!

Leave a Reply

