Musings From A Bookmammal

Musing Monday–That’s My Kind Of Party!

16 Comments

Click here to play along!

Click here to play along!

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB that asks you to muse about one of several “bookish” questions . . . or, you can just ramble on about anything you like that pertains to books! You can join in by clicking the graphic above. Go ahead–it’s fun!

Here’s my musing for this week:

book party

I saw this on Pinterest the other day and loved it! I would RSVP in a second if I was invited to such a gathering! It would be easy to host this kind of party–you’d just need the following supplies:

1. Snacks, probably simple finger foods. Nothing that would drip or splash, and foods that could preferably be eaten with one hand in order to leave the other hand free to hold the book and turn the pages.

2. Comfy chairs and cushions, but not too comfy–you don’t want your guests to fall asleep while reading!

3. Tissues, for particularly sad chapters.

4. Bookmarks, for guests to hold their places when getting up to stretch their legs or to take a bathroom break.

5. Good lighting. You don’t want your party-goers to get headaches from having to squint at the pages!

6. Extra chargers for guests who choose to read via kindle–what could be worse than having your battery run down right in the middle of an exciting plot point?

7. Decorations. No, wait– decorations won’t be needed. Everyone would be focused on their books!

OK–who’s with me? Any volunteers to host? 🙂

 

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

16 thoughts on “Musing Monday–That’s My Kind Of Party!

  1. Can I come? I’ll bring my fluffy slippers and blanket. I think hot cocoa might also be nice at this party.

  2. I will join you…..!! I will get some finger foods!

    My musings are about a very interesting book of poetry

  3. Have Nook, will travel!

  4. Books! Books! Books! 🙂
    Stopping by to wish you a lot of fun for the A to Z opening tomorrow! 🙂
    Your friendly neighborhood A to Z minion,
    @TarkabarkaHolgy
    #TeamDamyanti

  5. That sounds like a brilliant idea! I like the idea of the snacks although I do find it difficult to choose what is safe to read and eat, can’t be greasy, chocolaty (shame) or as you say liable to drip! I think it should include being able to browse the host’s bookshelf too or like a bring and buy sale where if you bring a book, you can take another in its place?

  6. I would love to join too 🙂 But then food & drinks – I hardly need them when I am engrossed 😛

  7. That is an amazing idea. I think it’d be super interesting to stop occasionally and have everyone chat about their books – what’s happening, how are they feeling etc. Maybe this is when you could eat to save getting the precious books dirty.

Leave a Reply

