Musings From A Bookmammal

A is for Bookish APPAREL–The A to Z April Challenge/Day 1

19 Comments

AWelcome to Day #1 of the April A to Z Challenge, where participants are challenged to create a post every day (except Sundays) corresponding to the appropriate letter of the alphabet! If you’d like to learn more, hit the badge on my sidebar.

I’ll be posting about bookish topics on each day of the challenge. Here’s my first post!

 

I work in marketing for a large educational publishing company, and since I rarely deal with clients on a face-to-face basis, I’m able to wear jeans and other casual clothing to work on most days. I take every opportunity possible to wear clothing proclaiming my passion for literacy and books, and these are just a few of my favorites! (Further thoughts and links are below the graphic, but please note that I have no affiliation with any of these companies!) bookish apparel The Literacy shirt perfectly sums up my passion for books and education—I truly believe that learning to read changes lives, and that helping a child (or adult!) to find the right book at the right time can make a difference. I like to think that I’m helping to do this every day in the course of my job!

The Author/Rock Star shirt is definitely the one that provokes the most comments—mainly “Where did you get that shirt? I want one!”

The Cat in the Hat is one of the first books I owned as a kid–so how could I pass up this great shirt? I proudly wear it every year on March 2, which is  Dr. Seuss’s birthday—and on many days in between!

The READ shirt is one of my favorites—simple, bold, and to the point. ‘Nuff said, right?

Last but not least, if you’ve read my blog for any length of time, you’re probably familiar with my love for Charlotte’s Web. How could I not purchase this shirt?

How about you? Do you ever display your love for books by wearing anything bookish? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

19 thoughts on “A is for Bookish APPAREL–The A to Z April Challenge/Day 1

  1. I love this post and the read shirt! I don’t have any bookish apparel (which is weird) but I should probably have some!
    Happy A-Z Challenge!

    • Oops! I hadn’t realized I’d mistakenly hit “Publish”–I’m about 6 hours early! Oh well, it’s April 1 somewhere, right? 🙂
      Looking forward to reading your first post of the challenge TOMORROW!

  2. I, too, love the READ shirt. A very good first post!

    Paula at /Smidgen,Snippets,&Bits

  3. I don’t know why, but I can’t see the picture, even after refreshing the page 😦
    Anyway, I think I need more clothing proclaiming my passion for books!

    xx Rachel
    Favorite Book Covers: Apollyon vs Awakening

    • Hmmm . . . not sure why the picture isn’t showing up for you. Just imagine 5 shirts that are really cute and bookish! 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by–good luck with A-Z!

  4. Love the t-shirts! I just bought a book-related tee this morning, actually 🙂 Great first post! Good luck with the rest!

  5. The read shirt is so awesome!!! I don’t own any bookish clothing, but I would really want to! I’ve seen some t-shirts that are really amazing! And I wouldn’t say no to some Harry Potter themed clothes! 😀

  6. I bought my daughter one with BFG on it which she loves although I don’t tend to proclaim my love for books on my clothes I really like the ones you have picked (especially Charlotte’s Web)

  7. Love the shirts, especially the cat in the hat.

  8. I love the Rock Star shirt!! I do have a favourite shirt of mine. It is “Reading is Sexy” and the graphic is of a girl wearing glasses and my teens are convinced it is me. I love book apparel and I am going to check out that rock star one. Cool!

  9. This is an excellent post. I wish I could skip the business casual look at times and really throw on something like you posted. My most bookish clothing pieces are my Sam I Am shirt and quite a few Harry Potter pieces. I love the Read one! Looking forward to seeing your posts for the rest of the month! Have fun!

  10. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I love your theme for the A to Z Challenge. Oh my gosh, these shirts! I want them all. My two much loved t-shirts are my NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) from 2010 and one I bought at a mystery bookstore that has a quote from the author Archie Goodwin. I will return to read more of your posts. Happy blogging!

Leave a Reply

