Musings From A Bookmammal

Friday Finds–3/21/14

4 Comments

fridayfinds5

FRIDAY FINDS is a weekly meme hosted by MizB to share the books you ‘found’ and added to your TBR list this week (they don’t necessarily need to be books you purchased)… whether you found them online,  in a bookstore,  in the library — wherever! Click the icon above to join in!

I’m limiting myself to the new books that have actually entered my home–-bought new, bought used, and/or borrowed from the library. I’m not listing books that I simply added to by TBR list–that could take days! This week it’s my usual mix of fiction and nonfiction–six books from the library and one used book purchase. Ready? Here we go!

3.21.14

Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides

I’m not sure why I’ve never read this book. It came out in 2002, won the Pulitzer, and regularly appears on Best Of lists. I found a nice used copy this week and grabbed it. It’s not going to the top of my TBR list, but I definitely want it on hand so I can dig into it one of these days.

Relish: My Life In The Kitchen by Lucy Knisley

I love to cook, and I adore reading about food and cooking, so this book is right up my alley! It’s written in the graphic novel style and contains the author’s memories of growing up as the daughter of a chef and gourmet, as well as thoughts about how our experiences with food help make us who we are. Plus—there are recipes! I started this book last night and I LOVE IT. I haven’t read many graphic novels and I thought the style might be distracting, but Knisley’s drawings PERFECTLY complement her text, and I simply love her writing voice! I’m  reading a copy from the library, but I already know that I’ll be buying my own copy soon to add to my collection of food writings. I’ll say it one more time—I LOVE THIS BOOK!

No One Could Have Guessed The Weather by Anne-Marie Casey

This is a novel about Lucy, who moves with her husband from London to New York City after they suffer a financial crisis. The story covers her friendship with three NYC women and her growing love for her new home city. I’m in the mood for a good friendship novel, and I’m hoping that this book will meet that need!

Tomorrow-Land: The 1964-65 World’s Fair and the Transformation of America by Joseph Tirella

I’ve never attended a World’s Fair, but I’m intrigued by all that goes into creating them. In fact, my favorite parts of The Devil and the White City were the parts about the World’s Fair instead of the serial killer sections! This book provides an in-depth account of the creation and running of the 1964 World’s Fair held in New York City, and also discusses the rapidly changing landscape of the US during this time period. I like reading narrative history, and I think I’m going to really enjoy this book.

Twisted Sisters by Jen Lancaster

I really liked Lancaster’s first couple of memoirs, but her later books have been a bit too mean-spirited for my taste. However, I’m going to give her one more try with this latest novel.

One Shot At Forever: A Small Town, An Unlikely Coach, and a Magical Baseball Season by Chris Ballard

Baseball season is just weeks away, and it’s the perfect time to get in the baseball mood with a great underdog baseball story! This is the true story of a high school baseball team from a tiny town in Illinois who defied the odds and made a run to the state finals in 1971. I’m probably the least athletic person you’ll ever meet, but I love reading about sports and I’m so looking forward to digging into this book!

HRC: State Secrets and the Rebirth of Hillary Clinton by Jonathan Allen & Aimee Parnes

I think Hillary Clinton is a fascinating woman. This brand new biography focuses on her political life after she withdrew from the 2008 presidential race, and her subsequent experiences as the Secretary of State. I love a good biography, and I’ve got high hopes for this book.

How about you? Have you read any of these? What are you reading these days? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

4 thoughts on “Friday Finds–3/21/14

  1. I’ve not read any of those.

    Here are mine

  2. I think you’ll enjoy Middlesex I read it many years ago… I also like the sound of Twisted Sisters although I haven’t read anything by this author before.

  3. I’m churning through my books at the moment. I don’t know about TBR but I’ve just finished Still Life With Breadcrumbs – excellent read, a little wordy in places but I couldn’t put it down. Now reading a little book written by two neurologists called The Man With the Iron Tattoo – vignettes of their experiences with patients. Fascinating!

    • I had to return Still Life to the library unread–just couldn’t get to it. Now I’m back at the bottom of the hold list! I hate it when real life gets in the way of my reading . . .

Leave a Reply

