Musings From A Bookmammal

Booking Through Thursday–Reading Again and Again . . .

16 Comments

Click here to play along!

Click here to play along!

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme that asks questions about books and reading habits. This week’s questions are:

Have your rereading habits changed? Did you, for example, reread more as a child and your access to new books was limited by how often you could convince your mother to take you to the library? Has the economy affected your access so that you’re forced to reread more often now? Have you grown to look at old books as old friends so that you’re happy to spend time with them rather than rushing the next new thing?

books in pileI’ve always been a big rereader. When I was a kid I reread favorite books over and over again. I still have my original paperback copy of Charlotte’s Web—it’s still in one piece, but it does look very well loved—which it is! And even if I didn’t own my own copy of a favorite book, I had no problem with checking it out from the library over and over again.

Lately, however, I’ve found that I’m not rereading books nearly as often. The variety of online resources make it so easy nowadays to keep finding new books to add to my never ending TBR list— I’m also lucky to have access to a great public library system, and I find that I’m motivated more to keep up with the books I’ve borrowed rather than to take time to reread something that I’ve already enjoyed.

I do continue to enjoy rereading favorite books from time to time—it’s one of the main reasons that I want to own copies of books that I’ve already read. I also find that the urge to reread often hits me when I’m feeling stressed, overtired, or ill. At those times, the act of reading comforts me, but I usually don’t want any shocks—I want to read, but I also want something predictable that I know I’ll enjoy. In fact, I guess I mainly view the rereading of a favorite book as being similar to having lunch with an old friend—there probably won’t be anything happening to surprise you, but you know you’re still going to have a good time!

How about you? Are you a rereader? Have your rereading habits changed over time? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

16 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday–Reading Again and Again . . .

  1. As a young reader, I was compelled to re-read books. As an adult, I have no time to re-read a book! There are too many books to read and I have to read them all! : )

  2. “the urge to reread often hits me when I’m feeling stressed” – I totally agree, that’s my experience too! 🙂

  3. I think that being a book blogger really limits the amount of books I have time to re-read. I love revisiting books from childhood, my teenage years, or even adulthood that I enjoyed, I just wish that there was more time to do so.

    • SO TRUE–I definitely don’t have time to reread as much since I’ve started blogging. Too many great recommendations from my blogging buddies–but what an excellent problem to have, right?

  4. Great post, I was a serial re-reader as a child and would check the same book out of the library. When I was a young(ish) adult with a family I relied totally on the library for my reads and would search charity shops for my favourites to own. Once I had more disposable income I would buy new books and by this time I would share with my daughter and a couple of friends so each book usually had at least 3 different (careful) readers. Now I rarely re-read although I have managed to hang onto plenty of old favourites, like you I enjoy having books to re-read in times of illness, stress etc. when I want something comforting.

    • Even if I don’t have the time to reread, I still like to have my own copies of my favorites nearby. You just never know when you’ll want–or need–to revisit a favorite book!

  5. I do miss rereading old favorites…I like your analogy. It is like having lunch with an old friend. Enjoy! And thanks for visiting my blog.

  6. When I was a kid I reread my favorites over and over and over again. (I even kept tally marks inside my Harry Potter books — I got up to 17 or 18 on the first four.) These days there are too many books that I have yet to read even once! But I do occasionally go back to my old favorites when I feel it’s been too long since I visited them.

    • I love the idea of keeping track with tally marks inside your very favorite books! I’m not sure I’ve ever read a book as many as 17-18 times, though–you must have those books memorized by now!

  7. I read continually as a kid, from the time I was about three, and my favorite treat was to go with my Dad on Sundays to pick up the paper and a new Golden Book. I used to devour them, reread them. over and over. I still reread (grownup) favorites, and i’d rather own than borrow, since I often buy a book but don’t read it right away.
    My choices these days are authors’ series, like Terry Pratchett, Robert Parker, and Lawrence Block. And of course all the others, alongside.
    Always, a book in the purse. Lunches alone in a restaurant are hideous without one. Lol.

    • Totally agree with you about the purse–never buy a bag that isn’t large enough for at least one book! 🙂 I also almost always eat while reading, especially in public, but at home as well since I live by myself.
      What a nice memory you have of your Dad taking you to buy a book each week!

  8. I used to read my favourite books over and over as a child. I have recently bought a couple of these books again and revisited them. I always used to read the set novels in literature courses at university at least twice. Normally, though, I never read a book again, because there are just too many I want to get to.

  9. I used to reread a lot when I was younger, but now I tend to read new books.

  10. i tend to be suspicious of “best sellers” which are often more hype than quality. Now and then I find one like “A River Runs Through it” or “Messages from my Father” by Calvin Trillin, and fall in all over. Im a great rereader, but im also aware that one does not have to finish a poorly written book (life is too short. read what pleases you) just because the author worked so hard on it. this is the equivalent of eating all your brussell sprouts so the starving armenians (or russians or pakistanis) won’t go hungry… and a really good way to fill out a must-read list is to find a good booksale (libraries are perfect) and bring a friend.

Leave a Reply

