Musings From A Bookmammal

Top Ten Tuesday: My Top Ten Favorite Books About . . .

7 Comments

Click here to play along!

Click here to play along!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week a new question or theme is presented.  This week’s prompt is:

 List Your Top Ten All Time Favorite Books in X Genre (you pick the genre!)

I’ve actually created several lists like this over the past few months, so I’m going to cheat a bit and provide those links below. These lists cover several genres that are my particular favorites, and it was quite difficult to narrow my picks down to ten or so for each. Ready? Here are the links:

  1. My favorite BOOKS ABOUT BOOKS. This list was SO MUCH FUN to compile! I should probably do an updated list soon, as I’ve read several other great books that feature books since then–all suggested to me by fellow bloggers!
  2. Wonderfully DELICIOUS BOOKS ABOUT FOOD AND COOKING.  You may want to grab a snack before checking out this link!
  3. EPISTOLARY NOVELS–otherwise known as novels comprised of fictional letters. I LOVE this genre, and am always looking for more titles to add to this list.
  4. FAMILY AFFAIRS–my favorite novels featuring contemporary family relationships. This is my go-to genre–I’m always up for a book about the drama of everyday family life.
  5. GET SCHOOLED!  As a former teacher, I just had to create a list of my favorite “behind-the-scenes” nonfiction books about schools and teaching.

Please feel free to comment and suggest any titles that I need to add to my ever growing TBR list in any of these categories! And–what are YOUR favorite genres? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: My Top Ten Favorite Books About . . .

  1. Thanks for all of the awesome lists! 🙂

    My Top Ten Tuesday

  2. Good choice to link to previous lists! I don’t really have a favourite genre anymore! I read a lot more widely than I used to.

  3. I;m like Chrissi, now–only my favorite reads tend toward authors rather than individual books–and series, so that I can dig into one author (Terry Pratchett springs to mind, and Lawrence Block) when he or she comes out with a new book with a certain level of trust in their writing. Im always looking for new writers (new to me anyway) who can do that.

    • I do have phases when I just read and read and read everything I can find by one author–it’s fun to be able to dive in that deeply, especially when they’ve written a lot of books!

  4. Yes, I think I could create several lists, too!

    Off now to take a look at your favorites about food. Thank you!

    Here’s my list: Favorite Foodie Narratives!

Leave a Reply

