Musings From A Bookmammal

Top Ten Tuesday–Nope, I’ve Never Read A Book Written By . . .

47 Comments

toptentuesday

Click here to play along!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week a new question or theme is presented.  This week’s prompt is:

Name the top ten popular authors you’ve never read.

OK–here goes–in no particular order. Don’t judge!

I’ve never read any books by . . .

  1. Jojo Moyes. Disclaimer–As of a couple of days ago, this entry should no longer be on this list—I’m reading Me Before You right now and am really enjoying it. Since I haven’t actually finished it yet, I’ll leave her on this list. I don’t know why it took me so long to read any of her books! I’m sure I’ll be dipping into her other titles soon.
  2. John Green. I think I’m the only person left on earth who hasn’t read The Fault In Our Stars—and by now I’m afraid that there’s just no way that it can live up to all the hype.
  3. Stephen King. This one is only partly true—I’ve read his memoir On Writing, and absolutely LOVED it. I’ve never read any of his fiction, though.
  4. Maya Angelou. This one is really inexcusable. Maya Angelou is the originator of some of my favorite quotes about life, books, and reading. Didn’t everyone (except for me) have to read I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings in high school? I have no idea why I’ve never read any of her books.
  5. David McCullough. As much as I love to read biographies and American history, I’ve never read any of McCullough’s books. His book on Truman is widely considered to be one of the greatest Presidential biographies ever written—why on earth haven’t I read it?
  6. Flannery O’Connor. I have her complete book of short stories sitting on my TBR pile as we speak. She’s considered to be the queen of the southern short story genre. I need to move her off of this list.
  7. Diana Gabaldon. I have a number of friends who adore Gabaldon’s Outlander series. It’s just never appealed to me.
  8. Nicholas Sparks. I’ve never been tempted to pick up any of his books. We’ve all got our own reading tastes, right? And I just don’t think he’s my proverbial cup of tea.
  9. Bill Bryson. Bryson will come off of this list by the end of this week—his nonfiction book One Summer: America 1927 is loaded up on my iPod and will be the next audiobook I listen to on my daily commute.
  10. Jane Austen. I never had to read her in high school or in college, and have never been tempted to pick up any of her books on my own. Remember–don’t judge me!

How about you? Which of these authors have you read? Which of them should I try? Who are some popular authors that everyone has read except for you? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

47 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday–Nope, I’ve Never Read A Book Written By . . .

  1. A fascinating list! I haven’t read any of John Green’s books either and similarly I am a little afraid they won’t live up to the hype. I haven’t read any Gabriel Garcia Marquez although I’ve meant to for years!

  2. I am not a huge fan of John Green if I’m completely honest. I thought his books were okay, but I wasn’t blown away. I think I entered into the hype! I’m SO glad you’re reading Me Before You. It’s one of my favourite books.

  3. Here’s another one who has never read John Green, nor Neil Gaiman. I enjoyed the first book in the Outlander series, but thereafter lost interest. Steven King’s fiction isn’t doing it for me, but he writes so many different genres, maybe I just haven’t found the right one, and I haven’t read any Jane Austen either. Bill Bryson is well worth it, though be warned he tends to swear a lot.

  4. I haven’t read any Nicolas Sparks or Bill Bryson either! Totally failed to put them on my list though.

  5. I haven’t read any Stephen King or Nicholas Sparks either. I tried reading Misery by Stephen King but got bored and Nicholas Sparks sounds too romantic and sappy for my liking. John Green however… HOW HAVE YOU NEVER READ HIS BOOKS?! They’re amazing 🙂 My own personal opinion of course but they really are good, would definitely recommend The Fault in Our Stars 🙂

    • I know . . . I know . . . I should at least give him a try. I didn’t read Eleanor & Park for ages for pretty much the same reason–I figured it couldn’t live up to all the publicity–and it turned out to be one of the best books I read last year. Maybe some day! 🙂

  6. The only one on this list that I know I’ve read is Stephen King. The Stand remains my favorite all time book. If you ever decided to read his fiction, I would suggest this one or The Green Mile because they aren’t as bloody and gory as some of his other work. It just takes a huge commitment to read The Stand since it’s over 1100 pages.

    I read O’Connor in college and own at least one of McCullough’s books; though I’m not sure I’ve read any.

    Hope you’ll visit me at http://thebookconnectionccm.blogspot.com/2014/03/top-ten-tuesday-top-ten-popular-authors.html

  7. I won’t read Peltzer. Abuse is too upsetting! Don’t care for Green. PC Cast, Albom, and Paolini are people I haven’t read.

  8. I haven’t liked anything I’ve read by Stephen King (other than his On Writing memoir) so I wouldn’t worry about adding more of his titles to your TBR list. Unlike most of the commenters I am a big John Green fan, and I would definitely suggest checking out at least one or two of Flannery O’Connors short stories. “A Good Man is Hard to Find” is so well-written and chilling. It is certainly worth a read.

  9. John Green made my list too. Glad I’m not the only one! I really liked Why the Caged Bird Sings–her writing style is amazing–but I didn’t like the way it ended. It just sort of cut off, but no one in school ever reads any of her other books, which was kind of frustrating. Not that I’ve ever picked up anything else from Angelou on my own. :/ And I do love Austen, but in all fairness, her books are kind of hard to get into. 😀 So many authors, so little time. *Sigh* 😀
    My TTT

    • So true–but what a good problem to have, right?!?
      I honestly thought I was just about the only one left who hadn’t read any John Green until I started reading everyone’s posts today!

  10. David McCullough is fantastic if you love non-fiction. I have read 1776 and John Adams and loved both. I also loved King’s book on writing (it was phenomenal) but have yet to like his fiction. Maybe I haven’t read the right one yet.

    • I’m a huge nonfiction fan–that’s why I can’t figure out why I’ve never read any McCullough. 🙂
      King’s “On Writing” was great, wasn’t it?

  11. I have 11/22/63 on my shelf by Stephen King, and its a billion pages long, and I don’t think I will ever get to it. And Nicholas Sparks I will never read because it’s just too romantic and sappy, and not my genre 😛

  12. “I think I’m the only person left on earth who hasn’t read The Fault In Our Stars” No you’re not, I haven’t read it yet either! Though a couple of my friends are trying to convince me to….

    As for the others, I’ve only read Nicholas Sparks’ A Walk to Remember – but that was only after I saw the movie so…. Yeah.

  13. Stephen King is on my list too. You can stay away from Sparks forever though. You won’t be missing out

  14. What a fun list! 🙂 No judgements, although I’m glad you’re enjoying Me Before You as it was one of my favorite books read last year.

  15. I’ve never read anything by Jojo Moyes, although a lot of people have been recommending her books lately.
    In regards to Nicholas Sparks, everyone has their own reading tastes. Why pick up a book if you are fairly sure that you won’t like it? Or if you don’t like the genre. I have read a couple of his books and really wasn’t impressed at all.

    I also haven’t read anything by Jane Austen. I thought I was the only one!

    Have a fabulous day!

  16. I haven’t read John Green or Nicholas Sparks either 😉 In fact, I think I’ve only read two authors on your list, Stephen King and Jane Austen. I LOVED On Writing and would definitely recommend his fiction books. They are amazing!! 🙂 And Jane Austen?? <333

  17. I haven’t read most of those either! I just recently got into Stephen King, especially on audiobook. If you are looking for a really interesting and not horror story, check out Joyland. It was brilliant! 😉

    Thanks for stoppin’ by! Have a great week!

  18. I have read McCullough’s Truman and it was phenomenal. You’re not the only one who hasn’t read TFiOS. I own it and still haven’t yet gotten around to picking it up. I’m wary of the hype too, as I tend to automatically judge hyped books much more harshly.

    While I’ve read Sparks and Austen, I’m just not a fan of either, so I can understand your reluctance on both fronts. I hope you do get the chance to read some of those authors’ books you are curious about, however.

  19. Yay! Someone else who hasn’t read John Green. Can I be completely honest and say that I’m not rushing out to read him either? I need to get to some Maya Angelou as well, I don’t think I was required to read any black female writers in high school and I think Alice Walker (The Color Purple) and Toni Morrison (Beloved) were the only ones I was required to read to get an English BA. :X

    Get yourself to some Stephen King – I have a whole Stephen King primer post somewhere – it was a guest post for The Book Addict’s Guide. I think I’ll use it as a post while I’m on vacation. Glad I could work out my blogging issues here. 😉

    Everyone is right, McCullough is good! Pick your American president and go! I really enjoyed both 1776 and John Adams.

    • I’m so glad I was brave enough to admit to not reading John Green–there are so many more of us around than I’d imagined! 🙂
      I am really going to have to get on reading some McCullough–I’ve been in a big nonfiction mood lately and I think I need to get him off this list!

  20. Great list! I’d forgotten about some of these. I’m a bit concerned that Green won’t live up to the hype as well! I’ve read most of Bryson’s books and really liked A Walk in the Woods and Shakespeare but wasn’t as crazy about some of his others. I am interested in One Summer though!

    • So far I’m really liking One Summer by Bryson–it’s also the first audiobook I’ve listened to that’s read by the author, so that’s a plus as well.

  21. I was never interested in reading Outlander until my book club decided to read it. There is some romance in it, but it is more of a historical fiction novel with a tiny bit of time travel.

  22. Oo, our lists are quite similar indeed! I’m glad you’re enjoying Jojo Moyes – I have two of her books waiting to be read. 🙂 I love Jane Austen’s books but they’re a bit difficult to read at first – or at least it takes a while to get used to the language.

  23. Great list! I wouldn’t feel bad about the Outlander Series, I gave it a shot and wasn’t really into the first book.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂
    Follow the Yellow Book Road

  24. I enjoy John Green’s books but I don’t love them. I just started the Outlander series and I’m quite enjoying it!

  25. Don’t worry, you’re not the only one who hasn’t read John Green yet. I’m with you in that camp and I think the fear that the book won’t live up to the hype has kept me away from it for a bit too 😀

    I have read Nicholas Sparks’ The Notebook but I wasn’t really impressed or moved by it. I feel the movie owed the book for the original idea but everything else was Hollywood rather than Sparks.

    New bloglovin follower 🙂

    Witless Fool @ Obsessive Compulsive Reader

Leave a Reply

