Musings From A Bookmammal

Musing Mondays–Book Balm

11 Comments

Click here to play along!

Click here to play along!

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by MizB that asks you to muse about one of several “bookish” questions… or, you can just ramble on about anything you like that pertains to books! You can join in by clicking the graphic above. Go ahead–it’s fun!

Here’s my musing for this week–

credit Deborah DeWit

credit Deborah DeWit

I had a rough week at work last week. Lots of reorganization going on, lots of jockeying for position, and lots of rumors. I love my job and I’d like to spend my energy doing it—instead, last week I found myself having to deal with a lot of nonsense.

All this is to say that when Friday finally came around, I was spent. I wanted nothing more than to spend the weekend relaxing and thinking about anything but my job. That’s exactly what I did—and that involved A LOT of reading.

This weekend really reminded me that reading is indeed an escape-hatch when I need it.  I was able to completely immerse myself in worlds—and problems—other than my own. I was able to clear my head and get ready to handle whatever this new week will bring. I was able to focus on something other than myself.

Everyone has their own way to relax and decompress during stressful events or hard times. I’m so glad that reading is one of my go-to methods! (Cooking is another, but that’s a topic for a different post!) I’m not sure what this week is going to bring, but I feel a lot more ready to face it after spending a weekend lost in my books.

How about you? Does reading help you to de-stress, or do you have other tried and true methods? Are there any types of books you tend to read when you need an escape? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

11 thoughts on “Musing Mondays–Book Balm

  1. Sorry you had challenges at work this week. Hope the situation improves soon.

    Yes, reading is definitely a way to de-stress for me. I read each night in the tub to help get me ready for bed. I can’t say I choose one genre over another, but I often reach for something inspirational when I’m feeling low.

    Hope you’ll visit me at http://thebookconnectionccm.blogspot.com/2014/03/musing-mondays-march-3.html

    • I used to love reading in the tub–but in recent years I’ve become more of a shower person–and reading in the shower would be a bit much, even for me! 🙂

  2. When I feel as though I’m spending too much time by myself, I like to listen to audiobooks. Especially memoirs read by their writers. It’s like escaping into an hours-long coffee talk.

    I like to read before I go to sleep. It wipes my mind clear of the day.

    • I love your phrase “coffee talk”! I haven’t listened to any audiobooks yet that have been read by the author, but I can see how it would feel very intimate.

  3. Sorry you had such a rough week. Reading is an escape from real life some of the time.

    Just as we have “Comfort Food” I also have what I call my “Comfort Food Reading.” Usually when I need some “Comfort Food Reading” I turn to Debbie Macomber, or Amanda Grange. Nothing deep, just some fluffy cotton candy reading. It always does the trick…

  4. I’m glad you were able to switch off and immerse yourself in books over the weekend. I don’t tend to choose books by my mood but I am much more likely to read sentimental books if I feel ill! I also have old favourites which I will re-read if I want something familiar 🙂

  5. I hope you week goes better. Reading is my escape too. Here is my post: Mixed Book Bag

  6. Reading is a big escape for me too. Good luck with work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

