Musings From A Bookmammal

Friday Finds–2/28/14

10 Comments

fridayfinds5

FRIDAY FINDS is a weekly meme hosted by MizB to share the books you ‘found’ and added to your TBR list this week (they don’t necessarily need to be books you purchased)… whether you found them online,  in a bookstore,  in the library — wherever! Click the icon above to join in!

I’m limiting myself to the new books that have actually entered my home–-bought new, bought used, and/or borrowed from the library. I’m not listing books that I simply added to by TBR list–that could take days! This week it’s 3 books from the library–no books purchased this week.  Ready? Here we go!

ZZ

Humans Of New York by Brandon Stanton

If you’re not already subscribing to the blog feed for Humans Of New York—or the matching Facebook page or Tumblr account– you’re missing out on a great treat.  Brandon Stanton photographs everyday people that he finds in New York City and also asks each person a series of open-ended questions about themselves. The result–after nearly four years–is thousands of photos and quotes from everyday people of all ages, races, and perspectives. This book is a collection of 400 of these photos.

I absolutely LOVE the Humans Of New York blog feed—every day it delivers several little slices of life to my in-box. Each post is like a little short story (and incidently, many would make EXCELLENT writing prompts!). Some of them are humorous. Some are so moving that they bring me to tears. Some of them have caused me to think about the people in the photos for days. All are pieces of real humanity in a time when, too often, we’re too busy, afraid, or indifferent to even look at the faces of the people we pass on the street. I simply can’t wait to sit down and immerse myself in this book!

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

I think I’m just about the only person on the planet who hasn’t read any of Jojo Moyes’ books.  I’d actually borrowed this one from the library a couple of months ago, but had to return it before I got to it. I resolve to read it this time!

Still Life With Bread Crumbs by Anna Quindlen

I adore Anna Quindlen’s essays and columns–I often feel as though she’s speaking directly to me. Her novels are a bit hit-and-miss for me, although her latest -Every Last One- is one of the best books I’ve read in ages. This is her latest work of fiction. The Goodreads blurb reads: “Still Life with Bread Crumbs begins with an imagined gunshot and ends with a new tin roof. Between the two is a wry and knowing portrait of Rebecca Winter, a photographer whose work made her an unlikely heroine for many women. Her career is now descendent, her bank balance shaky, and she has fled the city for the middle of nowhere. There she discovers, in a tree stand with a roofer named Jim Bates, that what she sees through a camera lens is not all there is to life.”

How about you? Have you read any of these? If so, what did you think? What are you reading this week? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

10 thoughts on “Friday Finds–2/28/14

  1. I haven’t read any Jojo Moyes’ books either, so you are not alone! Enjoy!

  2. Brandon Stanton came to my school last night, and he was absolutely amazing! He said that his next book will feature little kids (like the today in micro-fashion posts) and also his second book will focus more on portraits of quiet people out on the streets, rather than the ones that stood out.

    • Lucky you to get to hear him speak–it sounds like he has such a great story. I’m glad to hear he has plans for another book–I’m about 1/3 way through this one and it’s slow going because so many of the portraits are just mesmerizing.

  3. Have you read Still Life With Bread Crumbs? It just came on to my radar today. I too am a fan of Anna Quindlen. I think I’ll order it from the library and be No. 579 on the waiting list! I’ve just finished reading today Elizabeth Gilbert’s The Signature of All Things. I’m not sure I know what to say about it. I’ll get back to you!

    • Haven’t gotten to Quindlen’s book yet–I just picked these up from the library yesterday. Luckily the loan period is 3 weeks so I have some time! I’ve heard really mixed feelings about the Gilbert book–let me know what you think when you figure it out! 🙂

  4. Well you know I love Jojo Moyes despite her being about as far removed from my love of crime as is possible. I enjoyed Me Before You so I do hope you do too!

  5. Me Before You is a touching story. I enjoyed it more than I initially thought I would.

Leave a Reply

