Musings From A Bookmammal

Saturday Nine–As Time Goes By

19 Comments

Click to play along!

Click to play along!

1) This is the theme song of Casablanca, generally acknowledged as one the screen’s great love stories. In honor of Valentine’s Day weekend, what’s your favorite movie romance? My favorite romantic movie is Somewhere In Time with Christopher Reeve and Jane Seymour.

2) Even though he was only 5’8 and had a receding hairline, Humphrey Bogart was a popular leading man. What movie or TV actor or actress makes your heart skip a beat? Jimmy Smits. I’ve loved him and lusted after him from afar ever since his L.A. Law and NYPD Blue days.  He is a mighty fine looking man!

3) Sweethearts are those little heart-shaped candies that are printed with messages like, “Be Mine” and “Kiss Me.” Do you like how they taste?  Not really—they taste like chalk to me.

4) Valentine’s Day is a big day for florists. When is the last time a floral arrangement adorned your table or desk? Hmm. . . I’m not sure. It’s been awhile!

5) Do you think an e-card means as much as a conventional card in an envelope? No—with a “real” card, you have to go to some effort to purchase it at a store, address it, find a stamp, and mail it. E-cards can literally be sent in seconds–plus, you can send the exact same card and message to multiple people at the same time! No thanks . . .

6) Despite what you see on Valentines, the human heart isn’t bright red. It’s really a brownish shade of red, like a brick. Now it’s your turn. Share some trivia that’s been rattling around in your head. (It does have to be about Valentines or the human heart. It can be any random fact at all.) Gene Hackman was the first choice to play Mike on the Brady Bunch. That’s pretty random.

7) When is the last time you thought your heart would break? I had to euthanize one of my cats about six years ago. I knew it was time, but it felt as though my heart was collapsing. I dearly love the two cats that now share my home, but I still miss Max and I think about him often.

8) What is the most recent thing to lift your heart? As long as we’re talking about cats . . . I read this article the other day about kids reading aloud to shelter cats. It calms the cats, it helps the kids gain confidence in their reading skills . . . what’s not to like about that? (If you click on the link, be sure to scroll down for many heart-warming photos!)

9) Who is the most “hard hearted” person you know? The woman who runs the center where I work is often considered to be very hard hearted—but I guess she has to be. Many business decisions need to be made without bringing feelings into the equation. I’m glad that I don’t have her job or responsibilities.

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

19 thoughts on “Saturday Nine–As Time Goes By

  1. I loved that article about kids reading to cats. How sweet!

  2. That really is cool about the kids! I had NO clue that Gene Hackman was first choice. I think that show would have been totally different with him in it. Mmmmmmm Jimmy Smits. And as for your #1 answer? I loved that movie – and one of the things on my list was to go where they filmed it one day. Funny how it’s in Michigan – and now that’s where I live! I have been to Mackinac Island, but not inside the hotel – but I’m definitely going back and will visit the hotel. There are rules about what you can wear there and when (oooh! that’s my random trivia!!)..

  3. Can you imagine the Brady kids getting disciplined by Buck Barrow from Bonnie & Clyde or Popeye Doyle from The French Connection? I guarantee Bobby and Peter would never play ball in the house again!

    That was so sweet about the kids and the cats. Thanks for sharing.

  4. I cried at the end of Somewhere In Time and the story about the cats what a simple idea but with rich rewards.

  5. Wow, Gene Hackman? I guess he would’ve been okay but I only know him as Lex Luthor, so thinking of that being the father to the Brady kids! haha!

    And I LOVE that story about kids reading to the shelter animals. I wonder if we could get something like that started up! My kids could use the practice and confidence-building for their reading skills!

  6. I love the idea of the children reading to the cats. I can see that working for the children as well as the cats! I often moan that I need to borrow a child to read to, maybe I should widen my criteria to cover cats? P.S I think the loveheart sweets taste like chalk too 😉

  7. That is such a beautiful program in your link. I’m going to see if the Humane Society has a similar one for kids and cats. Sending big hugs for #7. You really do miss them, always, when they go. Cats get very close to you, even though they have the reputation of being aloof. Not true.

  8. It’s so hard to put pets down. That’s why I have more than one- to get me through it all.

  9. Can’t imagine Hackman as Mike Brady, but that’s a terrific random fact. I think it is good – sort of – when libraries include animals but then again, with so many kids have allergies these days I worry about it. I know cat and dog hairs cause my asthma to act up, and I don’t visit the local libraries that have animals frequently.

Leave a Reply

