Musings From A Bookmammal

WWW Wednesday–2/12/14

17 Comments

Click to play along!

Click to play along!

To join this weekly meme hosted by MizB, just answer these three questions:

WHAT DID YOU RECENTLY FINISH READING?

sisterlandI really liked Sisterland–in fact, I liked it a lot more than I thought I would. I’d put off reading this novel because, although I’ve enjoyed other books by author Curtis Sittenfeld in the past, the subject matter of this book initially didn’t appeal to me. It’s billed as the story of two twin sisters who share a psychic ability–the ability to predict the future by listening to their special “senses”. I’m usually not into books dealing with any sort of paranormal activity (I guess I’m a skeptic at heart!) so I wasn’t in any rush to read this book. However, I was looking for a new audiobook to listen to on my daily commute, and this one was available from my local library. I decided to give it a try–and I’m so glad I did! This book is about so much more than psychic ability–it’s about family, loyalty, marriage, parenthood, betrayal, forgiving–and although the “senses” of the twin sisters do play a big role in the story, it wasn’t an overbearing plot point for me. The only downside for me was that I didn’t like the audiobook narrator  at all–I found her voice monotonous, and very irritating when she was  reading dialogue spoken by any of the male characters. Luckily, the plot was riveting enough to keep me listening!

WHAT ARE YOU CURRENTLY READING?

worst hard timeI’m in a bit of a nonfiction mood at the moment, so the two books I’m currently reading are both in that genre. The Worst Hard Time by Timothy Egan is a National Book Award winner, and it’s about the disastrous dust storms in the US during the height of the Depression–and the people who remained in their homes and survived, rather than migrating west to California. I’ve heard so many good things about this book. I know it won’t be a light read, but I’m really looking forward to learning more about this event. I’ll be listening to this book on my daily commute to and from work.

play their hearts outI love reading about sports, and Play Their Hearts Out by George Dohrmann seems like it’s going to be a great read. It’s an investigative account (eight years in the making) about youth amateur basketball–the leagues that are basically training grounds for kids as young as eight or nine years old who hope to play basketball in big-time college programs and later, in the pro leagues. I have some pretty strong feelings about kids, sports, pressure, and the adults who are involved, and I have a feeling that this book is going to make me angry. I just started reading it yesterday, but I’m already hooked.

WHAT DO YOU THINK YOU’LL READ NEXT?

As usual, I have absolutely no idea what I’ll be in the mood for when it’s time to pick another book!

How about you? Have you read any of these? What did you think about them? What have you been reading lately? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

17 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday–2/12/14

  1. Thank you for your review of Sisterland, this is on my TBR but I was a little doubtful whether I would enjoy it or not, now I think I will. What a shame the narrator was a bit boring but great news that the story kept you gripped. Have a great reading week!

    • I’m very glad that Sisterland wasn’t the first audiobook I chose to listen to–but this is one of those books that, the more I think about it, the more I liked it! It would be a great book club book–lots to discuss in this one.

  2. I haven’t read any of these, but Sisterland and The Worst Hard Time sound fabulous. I read only nonfiction for years. It wasn’t until I got into blogging that I started reading fiction again.

    You can see what I’m reading lately at http://thebookconnectionccm.blogspot.com/2014/02/wwwwednesdays-february-12.html

    • I’ve just started The Worst Hard Time, but it’s so interesting already. I really don’t know much about this period/series of events in American history, so I’m finding it all very intriguing–and the author uses a very appealing narrative style.

  3. I’ve heard such wonderful things about The Worst Hard Time. A professor of mine recommended it to me not too long ago.
    Happy Reading!

    You can see what I am reading this week over at my blog– http://amandasnoseinabook.wordpress.com/2014/02/12/what-im-reading-writing-wednesday-2/

    • I am really enjoying listening to The Worst Hard Time so far–in fact, the first thing I did when I got to work today was go online and look at some maps of the places I was hearing about on my ride in this morning!

  4. I will eventually be reading Sisterland. I wasn’t particularly looking forward to it. Thanks for sharing your thoughts! Not dreading it now! 😉 Enjoy your books this week!

    • Yes–don’t let the psychic stuff put you off, if that’s part of why you’re hesitating. It’s a big part of the plot, but definitely not the ONLY important plot point.

  5. Oh, I’m so glad you enjoyed Sisterland. I really liked it for all the reasons you mentioned. My book group had quite a discussion about it, too. 🙂

  6. I need to find your two current reads for my husband, he only reads the non-fiction and those sound fascinating! Happy Wednesday 🙂
    http://lostinsidethecovers.wordpress.com/2014/02/12/www-wednesday-212/

  7. Sisterland looks like something I could get into! Thanks for recommending it!

  8. Wow, what an interesting selection! I have Sisterland on my pile and The Worst Hard Time looks intriguing. Enjoy! Here’s my link http://wp.me/p32hC2-zf

  9. I didn’t know there was another Sittenfeld out there, just waiting to be added to my TBR pile! Love her!

    • American Wife is one of my favorite novels of the past several years. I thought Prep was fine–not great. I’d put Sisterland between the two–closer to the top than the bottom!

Leave a Reply

