Musings From A Bookmammal

Sunday Stealing–The “Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost” Meme

7 Comments

Click here to play along!

Click here to play along!

  1. Put your music player of choice on shuffle and list the first song. OK–here goes–it’s Closer To You by Seals & Croft. I’ve got a lot of 70s stuff on my iPod.
  2. If you could spend a week anywhere in the world, where would it be and why? Would you take anyone with you? I’d like to spend a week in Washington DC. We went there on a family vacation when I was twelve, and I know I didn’t appreciate it back then. I’d love to spend the week wandering around and going to the Smithsonian, Library of Congress, the Capitol, etc.
  3. What is your preferred writing implement? (eg. Blue pen, pencil, green pen) Blue pen or a really sharp #2 pencil.
  4. When did you go on your first trip alone (without your parents)? I went to Florida by myself to visit a friend from college when I was in my early 20s—that was the first trip I took where I was traveling completely by myself.
  5. Do you have connections to any celebrities (even minor)? List them. None.
  6. Name 3 items you could pick up from where you are. Box of tissues, my checkbook, my cat Miss Maggie.
  7. How would you describe your sense of humor? Off-beat and odd. Sometimes the smallest things will get me going.
  8. Do you ever play board games or other non-computer games? Got any favorites? I used to LOVE playing board games—we’d have Monopoly games going that went on for days.
  9. A musical artist you love that isn’t well known. I really like Vonda Shepard—she was all the rage when she did the soundtrack songs for the TV show Ally McBeal. I don’t know what she’s doing now, but I love her voice and I’m always happy when it comes up on my iPod.
  10. A musical artist you love that is well known. I love James Taylor.
  11. What is your desktop background currently? It’s the complete drawing of the image that’s on my blog header, and it also has the quote “Every book you’ve ever read is a combination of the same 26 letters.” Think about it . . .
  12. Last person you talked to, and through what you talked to them. The last time I spoke to someone was the clerk at the grocery on Friday night. It snowed all day yesterday and I didn’t leave the house, and also didn’t talk to anyone by phone.
  13. What do you carry your money in? My wallet, which is so old that it won’t stay closed anymore. I need to get a new one, but I love this one and I’m afraid I won’t find another one like it.
  14. What timekeeping devices are in the room you are currently in? A small gold clock on my bookcase, the digital clock on my radio, and the clock on my laptop.
  15. What kind of headphones do you use? The earbuds that came with my iPod.
  16. What musical artists have you seen perform live? I’m going to date myself here . . . James Taylor, Kenny Loggins, Genesis, The Go-Gos, Kenny G, Al Jareau—all in my college years or in my 20s. I haven’t been to a concert in ages.
  17. How often do you clear your browser history? Whenever I think about it–maybe a couple times a month.
  18. What’s the best job you’ve ever had? I am incredibly fortunate to have it right now! I work in marketing for an educational publishing company. My job combines two things that I’m passionate about—books and literacy. I really like most of the people I work with on a day-to-day basis, and I get along very well with my boss.
  19. What’s the worst job you’ve ever had? One of my teaching jobs only lasted for 2 months because it was such a horrible environment that I had to leave in order to keep myself emotionally, mentally, and physically healthy. That was a really bad time in my life and I’m often able to comfort myself in tough situations today by remembering that, whatever I’m going through, it’s not as bad as having to go to that job every day. Leaving that job was one of the hardest decisions I’ve ever had to make, but I’ve never regretted it.
  20. What magazines do you read, if any? I subscribe to Smithsonian, Vanity Fair, Time, Yoga Journal, and Horn Book. I used to get the New Yorker but I stopped a couple of years ago because I felt like I couldn’t keep up with it. I miss it– I may need to try it again.
Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

7 thoughts on “Sunday Stealing–The “Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost” Meme

  1. Going back to Washington D.C. is on my bucket list. I was there in the late 70’s with my Civil Air Patrol squadron and we didn’t get to see that much….quick trip and only certain sites were of related interest. I went back once in my 30s but was chaperoning a group of teens to an event on the Mall and had to stay put with them the whole day. Someday I will see all that I want to see.

  2. Oh, going to Washington would be fun–especially during cherry blossom time. I haven’t been in about a decade. I’m due!

  3. I have a Vonda Shepherd CD at work. Thanks for reminding me of the lady. I’ll dig it out and listen to it tomorrow!

  4. I wore out that Seals and Croft album. Those were the days…

  5. Oh! I love Vonda Shepherd’s voice, too. I only knew her through Ally McBeal, and just this past summer, when I started watching that on Netflix, I started to hunt out Vonda Shepherd songs on iTunes. I think I will listen to those songs after this!

    And I love that quote about all books being combinations of just 26 letters. I wish I could combine those letters into something worthy enough to be a book!

  6. I would like to go to DC as well, and I am in Virginia so have no excuse not to drive up there, except that I don’t do crowds or traffic very well. I wish I could find some kind of good job in the publishing industry. Jealous!

  7. LOL. You think YOU’ve dated yourself with concerts. Check my list: http://www.funnytheworld.com/2014/Feb/09.htm

Leave a Reply

