Musings From A Bookmammal

Saturday 9–I’ve Gotta Feeling/The Black Eyed Peas

13 Comments

Click to play along!

Click to play along!

(Before we begin, I’d just like to say that I LOVE this week’s song! OK–now back to our regularly scheduled programming . . .)

1) What would make tonight a good, good night? It’s snowing right now (again!) and it’s supposed to continue all day and into the evening, so I’m looking forward to a good, good night of staying home and off the roads. I don’t have anything special planned–I’ll probably watch something on TV and read.

2) In the song, he sings that he’s got money and wants to “spend it up.” How much cash is in your wallet right now? Wait a minute while I go check—I’ve got $73 and some change.

 3) The lyrics include “mazel tov,” which means good luck or congratulations. What other Hebrew/Yiddish phrases do you know? I’ve been known to say OY VEY on occasion.

4) The colorfully named Black Eyed Peas include Fergie (born Stacey Ferguson) and will.i.am (William Adams) and Taboo (Jaime Gomez). If you could choose a stage name, what would it be? I have absolutely no idea on this one—moving on . . .

5) This song was crazy popular in Canada, debuting at #2 on the charts. Have you ever visited our neighbor to the north? No–I’ve never been to a foreign land.

6) When’s the last time you laughed really hard? I’m very lucky to work with several people who share my admittedly odd sense of humor—I usually have a good laugh with them several times a day. I’ve had jobs in the past where that wasn’t the case, so I don’t take it for granted!

7) Who received the last text you sent? I’m old school–I don’t text.

8) Which sounds like more fun — skiing or skating? I’ll pick skating. I used to LOVE to ice skate–in fact, my parents used to put an ice rink in our backyard every winter. The neighborhood kids and I spent hours out there. That being said, I do enjoy watching the ski-jumping events during the Olympics. Actually, I enjoy watching just about ALL of the events during the Olympics–I can’t wait until the Winter Games begin next weekend!

9) Thinking of sports, are you looking forward to The Super Bowl? I’ll probably watch at least part of it, but I’m not counting down the hours or anything. I’m not in a Super Bowl pool this year, so that also takes some of the fun out of it. I do like to watch the Puppy Bowl on Animal Planet off and on during Super Bowl day–there is nothing that cures the winter blues like watching a bunch of puppies frolicking around!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

13 thoughts on “Saturday 9–I’ve Gotta Feeling/The Black Eyed Peas

  1. OOH! The Puppy Bowl! Good choice!

  2. I usually go to a party, and we buy squares. They give away tshirts and all sorts of stuff, I usually come away with a lot more than I came with. There’s a family in town that has a skating rink in their front yard every winter for their son to play hockey. They put lights up around it and everything – it’s very cool!

  3. I’m not terribly excited about the Super Bowl, either. I do like the ads (usually).

    I love this song, too! And I should have added that the fourth member of the Peas goes by the name Apple.

  4. i have never heard of the puppy bowl! they just frolic? how do they win? that sounds so cute.

    you’re lucky to work with people that share your sense of humor. it’s kinda hard when they don’t, as it is where i work. it’s just uncomfortable all around as you don’t know if it’s a joke or real or what.

    • On Puppy Bowl they have about ten different types of little puppies in this mini football field with a bunch of dog toys–they just play with each other–there is also a referee who cleans up any “messes”–they do slow-mo cams and everything–it’s adorable! Everybody wins!

  5. Your idea of a good night sounds like mine – watching TV and reading.

  6. oh the puppy bowl! That sounds very cute. Better than any mancave bowl game.

Leave a Reply

