Musings From A Bookmammal

WWW Wednesday

16 Comments

Click to play along!

Click to play along!

To join this weekly meme hosted by MizB, just answer these three questions:

WHAT DID YOU RECENTLY FINISH READING?

tell the wolves i'm homeI started Tell The Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt at least twice during the past year, but I never got beyond the first couple of chapters. For some reason I just couldn’t get into the story.  But this novel continues to show up on “Best Of . . .” lists, so last week I decided to give it another try. I have no idea what made the difference, but this time  I couldn’t put it down.

Tell The Wolves I’m Home is a novel set during 1987. The main character is a 14-year old girl who, along with the rest of her family, is dealing with the recent death of her uncle from AIDS. She forms a secret friendship with her late uncle’s lover and, in doing so, learns to process her feelings of grief, while also starting to come to terms with her changing relationships with her parents and older sister.

This is really a beautiful book, and I can’t believe it took me so long to realize it. It captures the essence of the mid-to-late 1980s very well—and it vividly brings back the fear and ignorance that surrounded us during those early, frightening years of the AIDS crisis. It paints a great picture of those teen years when you’re trying to figure out where you fit in, or if you even want to fit in. It’s also a very moving story of working through loss.

The only thing that stops me from giving this book the highest possible recommendation is that there are a few scenes that struck me as a bit implausible—but I’m willing to forgive those because the rest of the book is so wonderful. I’m so glad that I gave this novel one more try!

WHAT ARE YOU CURRENTLY READING?

burning airI started reading The Burning Air by Erin Kelly a couple of days ago and am really enjoying it so far. It’s a psychological thriller about three grown children, their families, and their father–all reuniting after the death of their mother. When a stranger enters the mix, secrets are revealed, revenge is plotted, and I don’t know what horrible thing is going to happen, but I know something’s coming. I’m only about ¼ of the way through, but so far it’s a well-written, very compelling  thriller.

WHAT DO YOU THINK YOU’LL READ NEXT?

As usual, I have absolutely no idea! I don’t know what I’ll be in the mood for, but I’m picking up a pile of books from the library tomorrow, so I’m sure that something will catch my interest.

What about you? Have you read either of these books? If so, what did you think? What are you reading this week? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

16 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday

  1. Tell the Wolves I’m Home looks good, I’ve been meaning to pick it up for a while but I’ve seen some pretty bad reviews which has put me off! Glad you enjoyed it in the end. I posted here: http://lipsyy.wordpress.com/2014/01/15/www-wednesday-15012014/. I also have a poll running if you fancy choosing a book for me! http://lipsyy.wordpress.com/2014/01/15/reread-challenge-vote-now/
    🙂

    • I’m just not sure why I couldn’t get into it before now–I guess it’s true that books have a habit of “choosing you” when it’s the right time to read them!

  2. Both sound like great books. I graduated from high school in 1986, so I remember the panic over AIDS and how it was spread back then. Love the cover art on the wolves book.

    Enjoy your day.

    http://thebookconnectionccm.blogspot.com/2014/01/wwwwednesdays-january-15th.html

  3. I recently finished reading WONDER by R. J. Palacio. This insightful book stars a ten-year-old boy who has a major facial deformity. With great bravery, Auggie will be starting school for the first time. An amazing read for anyone aged 8 & up. (I write for kids, so I often read this genre).

    I’m currently between books, but will be picking out new ones when I go to work today (at a library!).

    I’ve read and enjoyed Tell The Wolves I’m Home—nice review!

    • I’ve read “Wonder” and really enjoyed it–I hope it’s being included in classroom libraries everywhere, as I think it could serve as a great conversation starter about friendship, tolerance, empathy, etc.
      How great to work at a library–you get to see all the new books coming in!

  4. Erin Kelly is brilliant. I need to read The Burning Air. 🙂

  5. Tell the Wolves is on my TBR. I should move it up. Gah! I’ve got such a TBR! People need to stop writing so I can catch up. 😉

  6. So glad you are enjoying The Burning Air, it only gets better the further in you get!

  7. Wow, great books! I keep meaning to read Tell The Wolves I’m Home. Thanks for visiting me earlier. 🙂

  8. Still working on The Book Thief – good story but he has, to my mind, a weird writing style. Also I only read fiction when I get into bed so 3 or 4 pages and then I fall asleep.

Leave a Reply

