Musings From A Bookmammal

Book Blogger Hop–What’s Your Blogging Style?

12 Comments

book blogger hop

This weekly meme is hosted over at Ramblings of a Coffee Addicted Writer, and you can join the fun by clicking on the icon above! Each week a new bookish question is posted. This week’s question is:

 Are you a book blogger purist? Do you only have book related posts or do you review/post on anything/everything that catches your eye?

I view my blog as primarily book-related, so I stick to bookish posts during the week. I don’t post formal book reviews, but instead I write about topics related to books, reading, and literacy. I’ll often include some mini-reviews of what I’m reading, but I don’t consider myself in any way to be primarily a book reviewer. I often use weekly bookish memes as prompts, but I’ll do some stand-alone posts as well. I like to post pretty regularly, but I don’t do a post if I don’t feel like I have something to say—if I’m just not feeling inspired by one of my regular memes on a particular day, I’ll skip it.

On the weekends I branch out and participate in a few non-bookish memes that are a lot of fun. I don’t think I’ve ever done a weekend post that wasn’t connected to one of my weekend memes. If I have something bookish to say on a weekend, I’ll wait until Monday to post it–and vice versa.

How about you? Do you consider yourself a one-topic blogger, or do you include a mix of subjects in your posts? Do you try to follow any particular structure or schedule when posting? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

12 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop–What’s Your Blogging Style?

  1. I am not a book blogging purist at all. I blog about books and purses (and fitness and rants) But books take up about 80% of my blogging time.

  2. What a great way to organize. I like your method.

    I am a purist. The only non-booky thing on my blog would be Saturday Snapshot.

    Have a great weekend.

    Happy Hopping!!

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Blog Hop Answer

  3. You’re very organized, I just post about whatever when ever I feel like it. I do post mainly about books too but I do jump off and join the randomness train from time to time to keep me sane. LOL

  4. I love your blog and you know so much about books but I equally enjoy your non-bookish posts. I started my blog to hold my reviews in one place and principally that is how it will stay so I don’t tend to go off topic very often.

    • Thank you so much! (blushing) 🙂
      I do enjoy participating in the off topic memes/posts, as I’ve met a lot of really great bloggers in doing so–and they show that I do have a FEW other interests besides books!

  5. I’m quite a new book blogger but intend to be a purist – I do have other blogs related to my other interests. I actually have 5 cats (not sure why my children call me crazy cat lady though 🙂 I thought that title can only be given once you have 20+ cats.) And I can’t agree more – I detest pictures of cats in human clothing. NOT cute!

  6. I’m not a book reviewer either and I don’t consider myself a purist at all. It’s cool that you have your posting schedule so organized. I’m trying to organize myself and start some new series on my blog.

Leave a Reply

