Musings From A Bookmammal

Friday Finds

1 Comment

fridayfinds5

FRIDAY FINDS is a weekly meme hosted by MizB to share the books you ‘found’ and added to your TBR list this week (they don’t necessarily need to be books you purchased)… whether you found them online,  in a bookstore,  in the library — wherever! Click the icon above to join in!

I’m limiting myself to the new books that have actually entered my home–-bought new, bought used, and/or borrowed from the library. I’m not listing books that I simply added to by TBR list–that could take days! This week it’s seven books from the library–no books purchased this week, which is unusual for me. These books are pretty varied in topic, so I should be prepared for whatever reading mood I’m in for awhile! Ready? Here we go!

Picture1

The Vow by Jessica Martinez–a YA novel about two high school kids–Annie and Mo– who are best friends, and then decide to marry in order to keep Mo from being forced to return to his native country of Jordan. I’ve been in a YA mood ever since I read Eleanor & Park and Fangirl this past Fall, so I’m hoping to enjoy this new-to-me author.

1963: The Year Of The Revolution by Robin Morgan and Ariel Leve– an oral history of how music, art, and fashion had an impact on society–particularly British and American society–during this pivotal year in history. I LOVE reading oral histories, I enjoy learning about the arts, I was born in 1963–what’s not to like about this book?!?

The Burning Air by Erin Kelly–a thriller highly recommended by my blogging buddy over at cleopatralovesbooks. It’s about an upper-class family gathering together after their mother’s death, and the years of secrets that come to the surface with the appearance of a “stranger” who is convinced that their mother was a murderer, and who is plotting revenge. I’m really looking forward to diving into this one!

Lost Girls: An Unsolved American Mystery by Robert Kolker–a true crime account of a series of unsolved murders  on Long Island. I started this a few days ago, and so far it seems well written but it certainly isn’t a light read.

The Boys In The Boat: Nine Americans And Their Epic Quest For Gold At The 1936 Berlin Olympics by Daniel James Brown–I’ve read about this book on several blogs lately (forgive me–I don’t remember whose!) and it’s gotten glowing reviews from everyone. I really enjoy reading about sports (as long as I don’t actually have to DO them), and I’m excited about the upcoming Olympics–I think I’m really going to like this book!

Lookaway, Lookaway by Wilton Barnhardt–a novel about modern life in the old South of Charlotte, North Carolina. Apparently there is scandal and mishap involved!

The System: The Glory And Scandal Of Big-Time College Football by Jeff Benedict and Armen Keteyian–another nonfiction book on sports. Again, I’m a big reader of nonfiction sports books, and now that  football season is just about over, I’ll have to settle for this inside look at the realities of the college football business.

How about you? Have you read any of these? If so, what did you think? What books got added to your TBR list this week? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

One thought on “Friday Finds

  1. Thank you for my mention 🙂 I am so pleased you got The Burning Air, I do hope you enjoy it as much as I did! Lost Girls looks good too (I bet you are surprised that was the one that caught my eye!) 😉

Leave a Reply

