Musings From A Bookmammal

Better Late Than Never, Right?????

26 Comments

computer__booksI’m going to start this by saying something up front: I am ALWAYS late to the technological/online party. I’m the only person on the planet who isn’t on Facebook. I don’t tweet. I don’t text. If someone asks me for my cell number I tell them not to bother because my phone is only turned on when I have to make a call–and I’d have to look up the number anyway.

However, I’ll also say that once I’m convinced to try a new gadget or to do something online, I usually love it. I dragged my feet for years before I got an eReader—now, although real books will always take first place in my heart, I do really enjoy the freedom of my kindle. I didn’t get an iPod until about two years ago—now I can’t imagine being without my new iPod Touch—I LOVE that thing! And I never, ever thought I’d be a blogger—yet here I am with a blog that’s only 4 months old, yet has given me so much enjoyment and introduced me to so many interesting people–and books!

I say all that to lead up to this—I just set up a Goodreads account yesterday.

Actually, I took a stab at it back in 2011, but I just never kept up with adding or rating books. Up until now, my TBR list has been an actual pen-and-paper list—most listed in a notebook, but also on stray pieces of paper—in my purse, in my car, on my desk, etc.  (I know. . .  I know . . . don’t judge!) I’ve never kept track of how many books I read in a year, or kept track of what I’ve liked—except in my head. Having this blog, however, has prompted me to want to be more organized about what I read and what I want to read.

So—I decided to start from scratch. I purged out the titles I’d entered back when I first opened my Goodreads account, and I’m adding only the books that are currently active on my TBR list. I’ll start adding titles I’ve completed with the first book I finish in 2014.

Here’s what I’d like to know from my fellow book-loving blogger friends (who I KNOW won’t judge me for being ever so late to this party!):

  • What do you like about Goodreads? What don’t you like?
  • Do you review every book you finish, or do you just use the star ratings?
  • How many different bookshelves do you have? What categories?
  • Any tricks or tips for me? Please share!

EDITED ON 1/4/14 TO ADD–I am loving the scan feature on Goodreads! I used to take notes when I was at the bookstore–this afternoon I scanned away and added several new titles to my TBR list. (Yes–I did buy a book or two as well!)

Happy New Year’s Eve to you–wherever you are in the world! See you in 2014!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

26 thoughts on “Better Late Than Never, Right?????

  1. I used to use goodreads but I found that the ratings/reviews people posted didn’t usually coincide with what I liked, so I’d try a really highly rated book and end up not enjoying it. I think it’s a good site to interact with readers, though. I’ve since deleted my goodreads and started using librarything which is more useful for tracking what books you own and have read.

    • Thanks for your input! I did have a librarything account for awhile, but I haven’t updated it in ages. I guess at this point I’m more interested in tracking what I want to read–and what I actually do read–rather than keeping track of the books I own.

  2. I use goodreads for tracking what I’ve read and post a review for each one (usually a shorter version than my blog review) if I’m honest although I put TBR’s on sometimes I am far more likely to put them on an amazon wish list so I can track price drops. I’ve just started entering the giveaways (under explore) and have won one so far…. 🙂

    • I was keeping my TBR list on Amazon for awhile, but since I tend to buy more used books than new ones, that didn’t quite work out for me.

      Hmmm . . . giveaways. . . I’ll need to check that out! 🙂

  3. I use Goodreads, but my usage is all over the place so I don’t know how useful I can be. Mostly, I use it to keep track of all the books I read each year. I always include a star rating, but am really half-assed about adding a written review. I love hoping on there to see what my friends are reading though and I belong to book group on there some vlogger friends started over on Youtube. Goodreads is also useful for finding relevant book quotes.

    • That’s how I see myself using Goodreads at this point–I just want an easier way to keep track of what I’ve read and what I’ve liked. I can see myself using the star ratings, but not so much reviewing titles. Thanks for your input!

  4. I know I don’t use Goodreads to its full potential. I use it mostly to track my reading goal. I only ever use the star review, I don’t take the time to write one on my blog and on Goodreads. You’ve inspired me to look into the shelves and other features! 🙂

  5. I like the Goodreads system, for the most part. I only give real reviews (as opposed to star ratings) on books that I want to remember my thoughts on – the ones that are particularly important to me. Beyond that, I generally use it as a catalogue of what I’ve read over time. I like looking back over the years and seeing how my tastes and reading habits have changed. Good luck with it, and have fun! 🙂

    • Yes–this is pretty much how I see myself using Goodreads.
      I’m jealous of people who are able to post their year-end “best of” reading lists–I love reading them but right now I would have no idea how to even begin such a post–but hopefully I’ll be able to do so at this time next year!

      • Having the list on Goodreads is really helpful. I enjoy reading other people’s lists, but one of my former professors just posted his year in books on Facebook – 123 books! Can you imagine?! That’s a whole lot of reading.

      • The “Best of 2014” reads is something I might have to try this year! I’ve been pretty good about tracking my books on Goodreads simply because I’m caught up with most of my favorite authors, and I think it’s a great way to get suggestions based on what I’ve already read/what’s on my TBR shelf. I give everything a star rating (and I explain in my About Me section how I use the stars, because some people think a 3 is a bad review, but I think it’s average!) and I’ll write a review for books I really liked or hated, or if I have specific feedback for other readers or the author. If there’s a book I’m on the fence about, I like to read the reviews and see what other people think. Not all the reviews are very helpful, and I try to take them with a grain of salt because people’s tastes vary so widely. I’ve also been entering their giveaways whenever I have a chance to look through them, I think it’s a great way to discover new authors and take some chances on books that I might not want to pay $15-25 for.

  6. I use it to keep track of my TBR and my read. Sometimes I won’t remember a title but something will sound familiar so I can go back to be sure I read it. Unless something really moves me I only do star ratings. I just set my reading goal for the year with their Reading Challenge, too.

    • This is pretty much how I see myself using it.
      I set my Reading Challenge today, too. I’ve never kept track of how many books I read, so it’ll be interesting to see an accurate tally each month!

  7. I am a recent Goodreads user too. I use Goodreads to set up & keep track of my reading goal. Also, it helps in discovering new books. For rating a book, I use both the star rating as well as write a gist of my review & further link it to my blog for the full post. And yes, the Goodreads giveaway is a thing which you might love. I had won a few books through it.
    Go ahead & enjoy Goodreads! 😀
    Happy New Year!

  8. I stopped actively using Goodreads a while back because I got lazy and stopped adding my books; I never actually reviewed the books I read or made other categories or shelves outside of the default ones, but I liked using the star ratings so that I can profile-match with other users to find new books that I might enjoy instead of relying on overall average Goodreads ratings. I also liked checking up on authors’ Goodreads pages and reading their updates or blog posts, and I definitely liked being able to see my book stats. (But now I just use Goodreads to export book information.)

    I hope you enjoy using Goodreads! Your plan of keeping your TBR list updated is a great idea, and I hope I get the motivation at some point to purge and start afresh too!

    • Thanks for your input! I definitely don’t want to make using Goodreads overly complicated, because I know if I do I won’t keep up with it. I think it’ll be really interesting to look at my stats throughout the year.

  9. Pingback: Weekly Paper (12) | Paper Breathers

  10. I have had both a goodreads and a shelfari account for some time but rarely spend any time there. I use them to post book reviews and start some type of a book list. I find that the readers on either of these sites are very young and I have nothing in common with the books they are reading. I will try library thing and see if that works out better for me.

    • I can see where you’d feel that way if you’re mainly using the sites for interacting with other readers or for recommendations. So far I’m mainly using it as a central spot to keep track of my TBRs and what I’ve read–it’s working for me so far!

  11. I too like the scan system, makes it nice and easy to add the books as you go along. I don’t always write a review sometimes just add the book to my list or add some stars. At the moment i’m keeping it up to date every now and again but I’m sure I’ll go through lapses.

    • I LOVE the scanning feature!
      So far I just use the star ratings–I don’t write formal reviews on Goodreads or here on my blog–but I think stars will be a good at-a-glance ranking system at the end of the year.

Leave a Reply

