Musings From A Bookmammal

Six Word Saturday

10 Comments

Click here to play along!

Click here to play along!

Getting organized for the new year!

Every year at about this time I go into full-on organizing mode. I like to start the new year with good intentions, and that involves cleaning out the old and tidying what’s left. So that’s what’s on my agenda over the next several days–on my list is my linen closet, kitchen cabinets, desk, clothes closet, and bookcases. I’ll be weeding out what I no longer need or use (a couple of local organizations will get donations, and I’ll be making a trip to my nearby used bookstore), and I’ll be organizing what’s left. Doing all of this to peppy music helps–so does spreading it out over several days–and I usually get a nice surprise or two when I uncover something that I forgot I had. I’m always in such a better emotional place when my surroundings are organized—it doesn’t always stay  neat for long, but I sure enjoy it while it lasts!

How about you? What’s on your agenda for the remainder of the year? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

10 thoughts on “Six Word Saturday

  1. My son’s wardrobe is jam packed, with no space for the new and I keep threatening to empty it out in a heap! He hates to part with stuff, even though it’s never worn. It’s going to happen, one day this week! 😦
    Otherwise, I’m rather enjoying the lull, and getting out walking whenever I can. Best wishes for 2014 🙂

  2. I’m hoping to put away the Christmas stuff today and go shopping for a new bed ensemble. I agree with you, I like to start the year with a clean, organized slate. I’m super lucky if it lasts a whole week! 🙂

  3. I would like to be ambitious as you…but if I get our living room back in order, I will be satisfied. 😉

  4. The weather has warmed up a bit so we may get out for a walk. Being healthy is on our agenda for next year.

  5. Well, my husband’s relatives are arriving today and will be here for five days. So, I will be taking care of them. Looking forward to it: they are fun!

  6. I’d really like to be doing that sort of cleaning out too, but it will have to wait until after my mum has gone home in a few days, so until then I will be entertaining her.

  7. Spring tends to bring out my organizational side. This year though the fall has felt overly chaotic, because of the ill health of two of our pets. For that reason, I made a TO DO list yesterday for the few short days left before January. Number one item on my list is for my husband and I to sort through our photos from the past year. After that, we need to create a family highlights newsletter. As for my own stuff, the revision of my novel isn’t going to get finished, but I should be able to catch up on a backlog of correspondence. Beyond that, we’d like to pick out a new cat to bring home and just enjoy some family relaxation time.

Leave a Reply

