Musings From A Bookmammal

Six Word Saturday

19 Comments

Click here to play along!

Click here to play along!

An unexpected act of neighborly kindness

kindnessMy across-the-street neighbor—we have a “wave to each other and shout greetings across the street” kind of relationship—went out of her way to do something very kind for me this week.  I was floored when I found out about it, and am very grateful to know that someone in my neighborhood has my back and will watch out for me. When you live alone, as I do, that’s important. I have a little bagful of small gifts for her baby that I’m going to take over today as a thank you.

As for this weekend, the weatherman says we’ll be getting a combination of rain, ice, and snow through Monday. Luckily most of my holiday shopping is done—I’m staying in and will be cooking something wonderful, reading, wrapping gifts, and napping after a very busy week!

What about you? What’s on your agenda for the weekend? Please share!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

19 thoughts on “Six Word Saturday

  1. We have the same forecast. A few small errands this morning, then I’m obligated to enslave myself to My Beloved Sandra as we prepare for the influx of her family late tomorrow & early Monday. I think we’re having 12 or 14 for Christmas dinner. Oy.

  2. have a nice Saturday; Happy Holidays

    much love…

  3. Our forecast is the same. Aren’t neighbors wonderful!

  4. It’s so nice to have good neighbors and sadly it’s becoming a rarity so I happy to hear that you have a good one. 🙂
    We got enough snow to keep us holed up on the mountain for the weekend and I don’t mind one bit, except now it means that we’ll have to go into town on Monday when the roads are passable and I’m not looking forward to those crowds of last minute shoppers..
    Today I’ll be sewing and reading.
    Enjoy your weekend!
    Stopping by from ‘Six Word Saturday.’

  5. I have good neighbours. I live in a cottage in S.Devon, UK. It is a wonderful comfort to know they are all for you. I thought your post very touching. We have a rainstorm today, Saturday, so we got the chores done and will read emails for an hour and spend the rest of the day reading, David Nokes on Jane Austen and Zadie Smth for my readers’ group. Tomorrow we drive to Plymouth to spend time with the family.

    Clare

  6. Definitely winding down, or conserving energy- whichever way you want to put it 🙂
    Glad for your small kindness- the true spirit of Christmas. Are you with family for Christmas day? Hope it goes well for you.

  7. our neighbors are the best! Glad to hear yours is also! Merry Christmas!

  8. The weather on my phone showed flurries, but it was raining when I took out the dog this morning. 😦 I would rather have snow, this close to Christmas. I am trying to do my usual catch-up this weekend, and hope to put up the Christmas tree.

  9. its always wonderful when something like that happens, its like oatmeal for the soul–it warms you, all the way through. have a good christmas –and ron., I hear ya, we’re braced to be part of the gang of 17 at Rod’s cousin’s house. only once a year, and they are good folks. So its not all bad–

  10. It’s nice when people surprise you with kindness. Merry Christmas!

  11. Good neighbors are a real blessing. Glad your neighbor keeps an eye out for your place. Hope you get some nice weather for the Hols, Sweetie.

  12. It’s those random acts of kindness that are the sweetest of all. Enjoy your Christmas.

  13. Pingback: Six word Saturday: moving on? | Zimmerbitch: age is just a (biggish) number

Leave a Reply

