Musings From A Bookmammal

Saturday Nine–Happy Holidays!

9 Comments

Click to play along!

Click to play along!

1. When Sam Winters was a little girl, she loved giving her annual wish list to Santa. If you could ask Santa for anything at all, right now, what would it be? It may sound sappy, but all I really want is continued good health for myself and my loved ones, and continued financial independence for myself. Truly, everything else is a bonus at this point in my life.

2. Are you currently on the Naughty or Nice list? How did you get there? I’ve had my moments in both categories this year . . .

3. Are you traveling this Christmas? If so, are you going by car, plane or train? I’ll be traveling about ten miles by car to my parent’s house.

4. Did you buy yourself a gift this year? I buy myself gifts throughout the year! If you’re not going to spoil yourself a bit, who else will?!?!

5. What’s your favorite holiday-themed movie or TV special? Have you seen it yet this year? Love, Actually is my favorite holiday film—I just watched it AGAIN about a week ago. When I was a kid, I used to love watching the King Family Christmas specials–does anyone else remember those???

6. Which do you prefer: candy canes or gingerbread? Do my mom’s ginger crème cookies count? I’ll pick those!

7. Close your eyes and tell us the first carol that comes to mind. John Lennon’s “So This Is Christmas”—it’s the last holiday song I heard on my car radio yesterday.

8. What’s your favorite winter beverage? Hot cocoa–made with milk–with a dash of peppermint

9. What will you remember most about 2013? Well, I happily turned 50 this year. I also adopted the quote “When was the last thing time you did something for the first time?” this past year—and consequently I did a lot of memorable things for the first time! I’m resolving to continue on in 2014.

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

9 thoughts on “Saturday Nine–Happy Holidays!

  1. Ooh! I like that quote. I’m glad it got you to do more memorable things this year–I’ve got to adopt that for myself.

    I just saw Love Actually for the first time last month, thanks to Netflix. (I know, and I call myself a Hugh Grant fan!) I can see that movie coming into the rotation now 🙂

  2. I love your quote. And Happy 50th – I’m glad yours has been a good year. Us children of 1963 must stick together. 🙂 I hope you have a terrific holiday.

  3. 10 miles + no clean up works for me. Enjoy yourself!

  4. I remember the King Family specials! When I was a little girl, I thought those King Cousins were so glamorous.

    • I wonder whatever happened to the King Family? My parents took me to see one of their live shows in Chicago when I was in grade school. Since I’m an only child, I remember being fascinated by such a HUGE family–and everyone could sing!!

  5. Happy Belated Birthday! And welcome to the club : ) I love the quote and I think that I’ll adopt it also for the coming year, doing more things for the first time sounds perfect. Happy to be following along on your life’s adventures. I’m going to have to add Love Actually to my list of things to watch for the first time. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve watch White Christmas from my childhood on. “Sisters, sisters…”
    Happy Holidays to you and yours!

    • I think White Christmas is one of those movies that I’ve never seen all the way through in one sitting, but I’m sure I’ve seen the whole thing in bits and pieces over the years!

  6. Doing more new things is a great thing to do!

  7. Interesting answers, especially number nine. It’s a great answer. Have a wonderful Holiday!

Leave a Reply

