Musings From A Bookmammal

Friday Finds

2 Comments

fridayfinds5

FRIDAY FINDS is a weekly meme hosted by MizB to share the books you ‘found’ and added to your To Be Read (TBR) list this week… whether you found them online, or in a bookstore, or in the library — wherever! (they don’t necessarily need to be books you purchased) Click the icon above to join in!

I’m limiting myself to the new books that have actually entered my home–-bought new, bought used, and/or borrowed from the library. I’m not listing books that I simply added to by TBR list–that could take days! This week it’s three books from the library and four new book purchases–partly due to the gift of a very generous gift card from my boss this week! I actually have no idea which of these books I’m going to tackle first–none are exactly traditional holiday reads–but perhaps you can help me with that! Ready? Here we go!

Picture1

The Silent Wife by A.S.A. Harrison

This has been on my TBR list ever since I read some reviews comparing it to Gone Girl, which I loved. It’s also a book told from alternating points of view—a narrative technique that I usually really enjoy. From the blurb on the cover, it’s about “ . . . a marriage in the throes of dissolution, a couple headed for catastrophe, concessions that can’t be made, and promises that won’t be kept.”

He’s Gone by Deb Caletti

I didn’t know anything about this book until I saw it at the bookstore. I picked it up because of the cover, and bought it because of the blurb: “The Sunday morning starts like any other, aside from the slight hangover. Dani Keller wakes up on her Seattle houseboat, a headache building behind her eyes from the wine she drank at a party the night before. But on this particular Sunday morning, she’s surprised to see that her husband, Ian, is not home. As the hours pass. . . irritation shifts to worry, worry slides almost imperceptibly into panic. And then, like a relentless blackness, the terrible realization hits Dani: He’s gone. . .  as the days pass, Dani will plumb the depths of her conscience, turning over and revealing the darkest of her secrets in order to discover the hard truth about herself, her husband, and their lives together.”

Tell The Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunte

I feel like I’m the last person around who hasn’t read this yet—I keep reading what other bloggers say about it,  it shows up on “Favorite Fiction” lists pretty regularly, and it was on several “Best Books” lists when it came out last year.

The Best American Essays: 2013 edited by Cheryl Strayed

I buy this book every December and regularly discover some great writers who become favorites. I’m hoping that the same thing happens this year!

The Woman Upstairs by Claire Messud

This is another book that I’ve just never gotten around to reading. It’s also shown up on a lot of year-end lists, so I’m going to give it a try.

This Is The Story Of A Happy Marriage by Ann Patchett

Ann Patchett’s novels are kind of hit-and-miss for me, but I loved her memoir Truth & Beauty about her friendship with Lucy Grealy. I’ve been anxiously waiting for this new collection of essays dealing with the art of writing, friendship, animals, her experiences of opening her own bookstore, and much more. My name finally got to the top of the library hold list for this book and I was thrilled!

Night Film by Marisha Pessl

I think this novel is going to scare me to death–it’s a 500+ page thriller that sounds creepy and compelling at the same time. To over-simplify the plot, it’s about the death of the daughter of a reclusive cult-horror-film director. The traditional narrative is broken up by sections of screenshots from websites and other documents–a technique I find very interesting. I’m intrigued by this book’s format, but I think it’s one that’s going to make me want to sleep with the lights on.

So–what do you think? Which book should I read first? Have you read any of these?  Please share!

[This will most likely be my last bookish post until after the holidays. I hope you are able to enjoy celebrating in whatever way that you choose!]

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

2 thoughts on “Friday Finds

  1. Hmm, I haven’t heard of any of these before. Night Film sounds really unique and intriguing, and if The Silent Wife is like Gone Girl, then it must be at least somewhat good 🙂 Great finds! Happy reading.

Leave a Reply

