Musings From A Bookmammal

Six Word Saturday

10 Comments

Click here to play along!

Click here to play along!

A perfect evening with Love, Actually.

Picture1The other night I got home from work tired, cold, and hungry. We’d gotten our first significant snowfall that day and my commute both ways was twice as long as usual. I came home, heated up some dinner, turned on the TV—and found that the movie Love, Actually was just starting. So my evening was set—for the next three hours I did absolutely nothing but watch one of my very favorite films, which also happens to be a Christmas movie.

I love so many things about this film. I love all the interconnected storylines and characters whose shared relationships don’t all really become clear until the very end. The little boy who plays Liam Neeson’s stepson is adorable, but not annoyingly so. The soundtrack is awesome. Billy Bob Thornton makes a deliciously creepy cameo appearance. I love the fact that there are several interracial relationships in the movie, but they aren’t called out in any way as big statements—they’re just pairings between people who happen to be of different races, which is, I feel, how it should be. Laura Linney is heartbreakingly wonderful. Emma Thompson is her usual fabulous self–there’s one scene where she is simply standing alone in her bedroom and, in doing so, says more than most actors can say in a whole page of dialogue. And there are a few scenes that still make me cry, no matter how many times I’ve seen them. Does the movie go off the rails a bit in some parts? Sure. But I’m willing to forgive it because the rest of the movie is so great.

So, all in all, I had an excellent end to a tiring day—which seems to get harder to come by during the hectic holiday season. I hope you’ll be able to find the time to do some things you thoroughly enjoy–either alone, or with family and friends–during this busy time of year!

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

10 thoughts on “Six Word Saturday

  1. Glad you were able to wind down with your favorite movie especially after a trying day!

  2. Sounds like an unexpectedly lovely evening. 🙂 It’s one of my favourite films too.

  3. Haven’t seen it for a long while. Great Christmas viewing. Have a lovely one 🙂

  4. I think I might need to find this movie on Netflix. Have a good weekend.

  5. I haven’t seen that movie yet. I will look for and watch it now! Happy Saturday!

  6. Because our Christmas plans have changed from a quiet dinner for 5 at The Belvedere to dinner for 14 in our dining room, My Beloved Sandra is test-running a couple new potential Christmas dinner entrees. While all that’s going on, she’s working her way through her favorite holiday movies. Already viewed: White Christmas and The Polar Express. On tap: Christmas in Connecticut and Elf.

    I’m hiding out.

  7. What a great end to a tiring day, I’m not a big movie watcher but I do like that one….

Leave a Reply

