Musings From A Bookmammal

Sunday Stealing–The I Amuse Myself Meme

16 Comments

Click here to play along!

Click here to play along!

01. What is something that you have lost recently?: Right now I can’t find the USB cable to my kindle.

02. Do you own any self-help books?:  This is just about the only type of book that I DON’T own!

03. Do you live near the sea or ocean?:  No–but I used to live very close to the mighty Mississippi river!

04. Have you ever spent ages making/writing something on your computer when it suddenly crashed and you lost it all?: Sure—hasn’t everyone gone through that? I now obsessively back up everything.

05. Do you enjoy food shopping?: If I’m shopping for ingredients to make something special, then I enjoy it. I also really like going to Trader Joe’s and buying new things to try. Regular, mundane grocery shopping is just something on my to-do list that needs to get crossed off.

06. What are you having for lunch?: Leftover Mexican chicken and rice casserole from last night.

07. Are you one of those people who can sleep through anything?: I’m a pretty light sleeper, unless I’m sick—then I’m dead to the world.

08. Do you like love letters?: Of course! It’s just not the same today with emails and texts and instant communication. There is NOTHING like seeing a letter from that special someone in the mailbox.

09. Have you ever received or written one?: Yes to both!

10. How far does your nearest relative live?: My parents live about 10 miles away

11. Do you like velvet?:  Not especially.

12. What kind of art do you like?: I like realistic watercolors and pen/ink drawings. I collect prints of people reading.

13. If you went to London, where would you go first?: Probably to see Big Ben or Buckingham Palace—then I’d want to browse through as many used bookstores as I could find.

14. If you had to pick one friend who is the most interesting, who would you pick?:  I work with someone who has made a series of choices in her life that I find fascinating. I don’t necessarily agree with all of her choices, but I admire her for making them. Her life is very different from my mine, and I find that very interesting.

15. Can you think of the meanest thing you have ever done/said to someone?:  I called  someone out on their extremely unprofessional behavior at a department meeting at work once. It would have been nicer  to do it when there weren’t other people around, but I was feeling very fed up with her and I really let her have it. In retrospect I suppose it was mean, but at the time I just couldn’t hold it back anymore.

16. What magazines do you read?: I subscribe to Smithsonian, Vanity Fair, Yoga Journal, and Time. I read my mom’s copies of Real Simple when she’s through with them.

17. What/who has been on your mind today?: The weather-it’s freezing outside and we’ll probably get some snow tonight.

18. Would you be interested in ghost-hunting?: Nope—but I have a friend who regularly goes on ghost hunting trips. I enjoy hearing her excitement when she talks about them, even though I’m a total skeptic about that sort of thing.

Author: bookmammal

I love books, reading, writing, cooking, eating, reading while eating, and sharing thoughts about all of the above–plus a bit more! I usually post about topics relating to books and literacy during the week, and then participate in a variety of non-bookish memes on the weekend. Please feel free to join in! Some random things about me– –I have multiple bookshelves in every room of my home except the bathroom. They’re all filled to bursting. They help to make my house my home. –I have two cats who I love dearly, but who I definitely do NOT dress in human clothing. Ever. –I’ve never had a cavity. –I make a mean spaghetti sauce. –I’m a newcomer to yoga and I love it. –My day is not complete without a little chocolate.

16 thoughts on “Sunday Stealing–The I Amuse Myself Meme

  1. I love the idea of collecting prints of people reading. Especially as books begin to disappear. Not a lot of romance in collecting prints of people holding tablets, is there?

  2. People reading – what a great thing to collect. Lovely. Books are great, aren’t they? I am glad I grew up in a world where they were abundant. In a generation or two, they may be nothing more than a memory.

    • I saw a cartoon the other day that makes me hopeful about books in the future–it was a broom talking to a book, and the broom says “Hey, they invented the vacuum cleaner, and I’m still here!”
      (Doesn’t quite translate-but you get the idea!)

  3. I’m a skeptic too about the ghost hunts. As a Christian, I don’t believe our souls wander around in a state of unrest after death. I believe there are things we can’t explain, but God isn’t out to scare us so that leaves the other side as the source of hauntings. No thank you to that! Besides, on the shows they are always like “DID YOU HEAR THAT?!” and I’m sitting there like “No.” lol

    Sketches of people reading….very cool thing to collect. I can only think of a few prints/paintings/sketches of people reading. Do you have many?

    • There’s actually quite a lot of art dealing with people reading! I have five prints now, and am always looking for more. I don’t know if you’re a “Pinterest Person”, but I have a board that’s just artwork of people reading. Here’s the link if you’d like to take a peek!

  4. Never thought about bookstores in London – great idea! I’ll admit, I’m a junkie about my books and have started reading on my iPad. I’m part of the problem. I miss snail mail.

  5. I am a Christian as well and I totally believe there are spirits all over this earth. I don’t think they are intended to scare us. They are just wandering….

    Smidgens, Snippets, & Bits

    • I’m a skeptic about a lot of things! I guess I don’t discount the whole ghost/spirit thing–I think there’s a lot of things that can’t be easily explained–I just don’t automatically think that unexplained phenomena are ghosts. (If that makes any sense!)

  6. i like the used book stores in london answer as well! and it would be even better if hugh grant was working there, too. 🙂 no, but that’s an interesting answer. i think that would be so interesting, to find used book stores anywhere you go, to see what the people there read or are interested in. i really like that idea!

  7. lunch sounds good and i hope you find your USB cable!

  8. Oh, Real Simple, I forgot how much I enjoy that magazine and website.

  9. I’m so not ready for the early winter weather or the weight gain that comes with it

Leave a Reply

